Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champagne for Guinevere
This gorgeous fairytale is the perfect book to pick up when you've had a bad day at work, and you feel a cold coming on (as I did). Guinevere Pettigrew's adventures with Miss LaFosse make sparkling reading. Miss Pettigrew is sent to the wrong address by her employment agency (she works as a nanny). Instead of a household of fractious children, she finds a glamourous young...
Published on 21 April 2001 by Lynette Baines

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An English reader would have been a better choice
I'm sorry Persephone, but why get Frances McDormand to read this wonderful book? OK, OK I know she was in the movie. But this is a charming English period piece and transplanting it insofar as one can (last time I checked Onslow Gardens was still in London)to America removes one piece of its delicious charm. And it is not as if we are short in this country of able...
Published on 28 Mar 2010 by bookelephant


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champagne for Guinevere, 21 April 2001
By 
Lynette Baines (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (Paperback)
This gorgeous fairytale is the perfect book to pick up when you've had a bad day at work, and you feel a cold coming on (as I did). Guinevere Pettigrew's adventures with Miss LaFosse make sparkling reading. Miss Pettigrew is sent to the wrong address by her employment agency (she works as a nanny). Instead of a household of fractious children, she finds a glamourous young woman of slightly dubious morals, with a number of pressing problems, from cocaine in the bathroom to a jealous lover. Miss Pettigrew solves everything, using nothing more forceful than common sense and an ability to distinguish between right and wrong. This beautifully produced edition of the novel (first published in 1938) is enhanced by Persephone's excellent choice of endpapers and the original line drawings throughout the text. You won't be disappointed by this magical story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinders you shall go to the ball!, 13 Feb 2004
By 
Elaine Simpson-long (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (Paperback)
If there is anyone who can put this book down once they have started reading it, I shall be surprised. It is a true Cinderella story of a down trodden spinster who is facing a frightening old age with no family and living by her own meagre earnings. Then one day a fairy godmother in the unlikely guise of Miss DeFoss, a nightclub singer, appears when Miss Pettigrew knocks on her door is mistaken for somebody else. The day transforms her life. This book is funny, witty, enchanting and totally captivating and illustrated by sharp black and white drawings. Persephone continues to surprise and delight with their continuing discovery of wondrous works like this. Read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Fashioned Charm, 31 Oct 2008
By 
Suzanne Hussein "Suzanne" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a charming, entertaining book written in 1938. The story of Miss Pettigrew a working class lady who goes along from her job agency to an interview for a job as a governess. Due to a mix up and no-one actually questioning her as to why she is on the door step of the glamorous Miss La Fosse, Miss Pettigrew gets totally swept away into the life for one day and night of the beautiful Miss La Fosse (a woman ahead of her time) Dubious, unsuitable man friends, cocaine, lovely frocks and night clubs all feature. In some ways it is quite sad that Miss Pettigrew has never experienced any excitement,love or attraction to the opposite sex in her life that the lovely Miss La Fosse takes for granted. But she is given a chance to taste this rather decadent, art deco lifestyle. Miss Pettigrew brings her wisdom and experience of employers with her and uses this to great affect when dealing with Miss La Fosse's friends. I loved this book and it was a relief to read something frothy,frivolous and with a happy ending. The book is filled with the original illustrations which sets the scene & gets you totally caught up in the story. Highly recommended to cheer you up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiant Read, 14 May 2007
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (Paperback)
This book is a fairy tale story of a woman who by accident discovers that all the things she has been told in her life are good and proper are also the things that have stopped her from really living.

Miss Pettigrew arrives at Delysia La Fosse's flat a timid larvae and over the course of the day becomes a beautiful butterfly as the acceptance and trust placed in her by Miss La Fosse and her friends allows Miss Pettigrew to be herself for the first time in her life.

This book is a truely wonderful read, it is full of warmth and delight, I read it in one sitting and will return to it any time I feel the need for a little magic in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dowdy meets Socialite, 26 Oct 2005
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (Paperback)
What a fantastic, truly charming story. It is an excellent mood lifter and the sort of feel good book that makes you want to throw caution to the wind and have a wild night out on the town. Due to an error at her job agency, Miss Pettigrew, a middle-aged spinster looking for work as a governess finds herself early one morning at Miss LaFosse's house - a young, gorgeous socialite. Her life is changed irrevocably when Miss P steps across the threshold and becomes caught in the dramatic, eventful maelstrom that is Miss LaFosse's life. Amazingly relevant by 21st century standards (one of Miss LaFosse's many lovers uses that most notorious of class A drugs), Winifred Watson does not fail to surprise or delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, uplifting - I read it all in one sitting!, 25 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day (Paperback)
What a wonderful book. Even from unwrapping it, the cover is absolutely right, it is a book I shall enjoy looking at! The actual text is fascinating, even down to the preface. I literally could not put it down as within the first chapter I became enthralled by the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely novel, 18 Jun 2008
I thought this was a lovely novel. Miss Pettigrew's character and history is painted in a series of beautifully written vignettes over the course of one day. On the most superficial level it's a great fairytale, with delightful contemporary detail - the froth of the lace on the negligee, the sharpness of the finely crafted moustache. But under the surface there is great characterisation, a poignant reflection of the position of women in 30s society, and some lessons in a new morality which doesn't judge people for what they are (eg married or not married), but for their actions. Definitely on my read-again list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, heart warming book, 22 April 2009
By 
GA (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
This is a gorgeous read. I was slightly put off to begin with by the slightly mannered and melodramatic style, but I stuck with it and am so glad I did. Just as many of the other reviewers have said, a wonderful, heart-warming, funny story about life falling into place for a sweet, likeable heroine. The line drawings are charming too - Noel Streatfeild for grown-ups. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turn the phone off!, 4 April 2009
I finished the book in one day, and loved it.

Poor Miss Pettigrew, so timid and hungry to begin, and so transformed by the end. She sees and hears things that she would never have imagined, "this is living". Miss P. takes it all in, and grows with each experience.

It is a modern day Cinderella book, as other reviews have said. Yet the glimpses of her sad life, and what it was like in the 30s to be unmarried, living in bedsits, at being at the whims of ignorant, snobby, no class employers, make it a sometimes darker book.

This was a "recommended" book, and it is worth every penny. The illustrations are great, and the typeface is easy on the eye.

I am now going to buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A day that lives forever, 8 Mar 2009
I bought the book because I liked the cover. Well, the cover was good but the book was so much better. This is a highly original tale - not many novels cover just 24 hours. And yet, in that 24 hours, we see more action than you would credit. In addition, we get a splendid portrait of a certain aspect of 1930's society, great character development, plenty of story lines, and a sense of accompanying Miss Pettigrew in person. Very clever, great fun, and definitely uplifting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day
Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson (Paperback - 2 Nov 2000)
13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews