Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last- excellent wood fired cookbook
I recently attended the Manna from Devon cooking school, and found it a useful and very enjoyable way to improve my cooking. Their bread and brownies are some of the best Ive ever tried. At last Dave & Holly have put their experience into a book, which I pre-ordered and arrived recently. The photography is excellent, and the range and variety of recipes very helpful. Its...
Published on 18 May 2012 by LB

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's another cookbook
It's OK, but, giving recipes with a specific temperature i.e. 180c for use in a wood burning oven I find a bit strange, because my wood burning oven doesn't have a thermostat that will regulate it to that temperature for a set time. I find one log doesn't burn the same as the last the next.
Good recipe ideas, but, I will stick to "when its browns it done, when...
Published 10 months ago by Paul Lancaster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last- excellent wood fired cookbook, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
I recently attended the Manna from Devon cooking school, and found it a useful and very enjoyable way to improve my cooking. Their bread and brownies are some of the best Ive ever tried. At last Dave & Holly have put their experience into a book, which I pre-ordered and arrived recently. The photography is excellent, and the range and variety of recipes very helpful. Its about time a really good book on wood fired oven cooking arrived. Next step, build our own oven so we can try to produce everything in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipe book for woodburner oven users, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
A very comprehensive book for beginner or serious wood burning oven users. I liked the clear guidance on how to manage a woodburner and when to cook each dish as the oven goes through the stages of fireing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
Very well illustrated and easy to follow recipes. Mouth watering - can't wait to be able to start cooking outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book !, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book recently at the Dartington Food Fair, directly from Holly and David, who were promoting their excellent Manna From Devon cookery classes and giving hands-on pizza making demonstrations. My 8 year old daughter had a wonderful time with david making and baking her own pizza, in their brilliant portable wood-fired oven, while I browsed this book asking Holly questions and enjoying her contagious enthusiasm for what she does. The book is beautifully well written, full of enticing recipes and gorgeous photos covering a wide range of meals from pizzas to meat, bread and even cakes - it is a great read, but what I am really looking forward to is baking my way through it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plant pot loaf, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
it Was bought as a present but had a quick sneaky look good recipes especially the plant pot loaf x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic. I built my own wood burning oven (I wrote my own kindle book about the build process which is titled How To Make A Pizza Oven) but I was unsure of how to cook in it so this book was just what I was looking for. It has wonderful photos and very detailed explanations for all of the recipes. There is a good section in the book that explains how to control the heat of the oven which has been useful. If you have a wood burning oven then this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a comprehensive book, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
The book is just what I wanted. Excellent recipes, lots of colour plates and advice for the use of a wood fired oven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delicious dishes, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
really well informed advice and lovely looking food, cannot wait to get started, but it is my husband who will cook because I have MS and am likely to burn everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational cook book, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
My husband dropped a big hint for his birthday, as we have a wood fired pizza oven outdoors. It is perfect, simple with great photos. Looking forward to using it soon. Prompt service from seller - would buy from again. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook (Hardcover)
For my Dad for Xmas as he just invested in a wood fire oven. Really good ideas and I hope he likes it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook
Wood-Fired Oven Cookbook by David Jones (Hardcover - 27 April 2012)
9.99
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews