Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent alternative history of British cinema!
From its brilliant eye-catching cover to its multitude of rare photographs and fascinating interviews 'Keeping the British End Up' is the alternative history of British cinema we've been patiently waiting for. Sheridan's superb book delves into the bluer side of film-making, explaining how sex movies took their place in British society from 'Nudist Paradise' in 1958 to...
Published on 19 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected
I was expecting more from this book, going by the title but it failed to deliver not all films covered.
I would like to have seen more about the characters in each film like a cast list, and also was it available on DVD.
I would not recommend it.
Published 1 day ago by MR BARRY ROBERT WEBB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent alternative history of British cinema!, 19 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Keeping the British End Up: Four Decades of Saucy Cinema (Paperback)
From its brilliant eye-catching cover to its multitude of rare photographs and fascinating interviews 'Keeping the British End Up' is the alternative history of British cinema we've been patiently waiting for. Sheridan's superb book delves into the bluer side of film-making, explaining how sex movies took their place in British society from 'Nudist Paradise' in 1958 to later hits like 'Confessions of a Window Cleaner' (1974), 'Come Play with Me' (1977) and 'Emmanuelle in Soho' (1981) as well as tonnes of more obscure titles. Anyone heard of 1973's 'Snow White and the Seven Perverts'? Well. it's here! He documents the highs and lows of the industry and has somehow managed to squeeze engaging interviews out of the usually reluctant stars and directors of the era. I especially liked the comprehensive glossary of starlets at the end of the book. Fiona Richmond, Mary Millington, Suzy Mandel and the stunning Sue Longhurst (who incidentally writes the foreword to the book) are all there. Utterly engrossing and un-put-downable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brits Say Yes Please to Smut!, 19 Jun 2003
This review is from: Keeping the British End Up: Four Decades of Saucy Cinema (Paperback)
Sheridan knows his native smut.
This well written, beautifully presented and extensively researched guide to all things mucky, represents a secret cultural history of a time many mainstream cinema critics would rather forget.
The attractive cover is worth the price of admission alone.
Nice work Mr Sheridan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book goes straight to the top, 3 May 2012
By 
orvuus (Birmingham, AL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... of my favorite cinema review titles, that is! I am from the US, and don't often buy UK books, simply because the increased postage rate makes it an expensive proposition. However from the other reviews here I gathered that it was what I was looking for, and I was not disappointed. Growing up in the US in the late 1960's and '70's, some of my favorite films and TV programs were from the UK, for the simple reason that they offered the best look at women!
The odd thing was one could usually see more violence in US films and TV, but for quite some time one could not see hints of sex or even undress! The films reviewed here are almost all "saucy," and not the more explicit "hardcore" films that came along later. Quite frankly most of these films are not very amusing, as comedies, but can be interesting visually at least. This book is well-illustrated with various photos and poster reproductions that can help one to decide whether a particular title if worth viewing today, now that so many of these films have made their way to DVD. The author does a great job of summing up the film, and includes a bit about the production and actors involved, as well as an overview of the social evolution of "naughty" films in the UK. The author also points out correctly that in the UK at least somewhat equal opportunity was given to male nudity (leading to lots of unfortunate views of Robin Askwith, for example!), whereas in the US even the male backside was rarely shown!

A very entertaining and well-done book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doing rude things......., 19 July 2008
By 
S. P. Ridley (Nottingham,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a fantastic read.Well put together listings of films by year ending with a few pages on the 80's straight to video productions.It's an invaluable resource into 70's british sex cinema which you'll read from cover to cover and still come back to for reference again and again when you spot an all to infrequent new dvd release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC offering from Simon Sheridan, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Alan Frehley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FANTASTIC offering from Simon Sheridan who has produced a real labour of love on a subject that is often overlooked.
Never less than brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant work., 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be the work of a true fa as it covers everything that a reader would require. The text is written in a very informative manner without being "preachy", the pics and advertising material is top notch and the lay out is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to x rated cinema!, 22 Jun 2011
Mr Sheridan clearly knows his stuff and his enthusiasm and passion for this forgotten era of porn are evident. Each section of the book maintains a balanced and honest account allowing the reader to get a genuine feel for the subject and the colour pictures further the text and bring the book to life!

A reference book for all those wishing to know about the smutty age of cinema.

More please....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Definitive Guide to Saucy Cinema, 20 Jun 2011
I just received this delightful fourth edition of 'Keeping the British End Up' and what can i say, Mr Sheridan knows his onions! This exhaustively researched and constantly entertaining read has got pride of place on my coffee table and I seem to delve in and out of it constantly. It's beautifully laid out and it even has an extensive colour picture section. This is as good an account of this era of British film-making as you'll find. Thank's for Keeping the British End up Mr Sheridan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stirring stuff!!, 28 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Keeping the British End Up: Four Decades of Saucy Cinema (Paperback)
Simon Sheridan has done a fabulous job of compiling an irreplaceable archive of British sex film facts, figures, pictures, and reviews, as well as interviews with the genre's handymen and women. A wonderfully readable account of four decades of bare faced cheek that made me laugh out loud. Undoubtedly, the definitive guide to Britons doing rude things at the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saucier 2011 fourth edition, 24 May 2011
Just taken delivery of the fourth edition of Keeping the British End Up and I love the bumper new colour pages and the additional film reviews and biographies. Lovingly researched and designed. Author clearly knows and cares about the ins and outs of the subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9f9b5dc)

This product

Keeping the British End Up: Four Decades of Saucy Cinema
Keeping the British End Up: Four Decades of Saucy Cinema by Simon Sheridan (Paperback - 18 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: 9.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews