Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent
I can only echo the other reviewer on this book; this amazing book has really got me into the Arabic language.

Fantastically easy to digest, a great range of useful words, and the flash cards are, as promised, very helpful.

Highly recommended to anyone; I eagerly await more releases from this author!
Published on 17 Jan 2007 by Mr. GK Sethia

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do you have 20-20 vision and nimble fingers?
This book is good if you are using other materials to learn Arabic with at the same time as it really only teaches you vocabulary. I would choose another option, such as the "Mastering Arabic" series, if you want a book that will teach you Arabic more comprehensively.

There is a lot of vocabulary in this book but the flash cards only have English on one side...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Square Bear


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent, 17 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. GK Sethia (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can only echo the other reviewer on this book; this amazing book has really got me into the Arabic language.

Fantastically easy to digest, a great range of useful words, and the flash cards are, as promised, very helpful.

Highly recommended to anyone; I eagerly await more releases from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards) (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book to compliment ones study of the Arabic language! The book is split into different sections with the most common words in those areas (Food, House & Home, Shopping, Characters & Feelings etc.)...common verbs are also provided. The flash cards at the back can be cut out to help learn the words. There are also "useful phrases" in each section in the theme of the section which help the learner express common phrases as well as see how the grammar is used. At the end of each section, there are useful and delightful back-to-toddler exercises that help one to pick up the language. At under ten pounds, this book is a real must have for all people learning the language. Just remembered, this book also comes with a brilliant CD with all the words and useful phrases pronounced correctly.

This book gets 5 out of 5 stars definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do you have 20-20 vision and nimble fingers?, 14 Nov 2008
This book is good if you are using other materials to learn Arabic with at the same time as it really only teaches you vocabulary. I would choose another option, such as the "Mastering Arabic" series, if you want a book that will teach you Arabic more comprehensively.

There is a lot of vocabulary in this book but the flash cards only have English on one side and Arabic on the other when other products, such as "101 Word Audio Pack: Arabic" also have transliteration on the Arabic side of the flash card. The "101" book has large flash cards that are clear and can be torn out of the back of the book. The flash cards in this book are tiny so you need to be careful with them and you have to painstakingly cut them out. I like to carry a bundle of flash cards with me everywhere I go and I find these tricky to hang on to when I'm negotiating public transport because they are so small. They are printed on thick grey paper which is not the clearest to read from.

The speaker on the audio recording reels off the vocabulary list with little opportunity for the learner to practice. I found the exercises in the book were not that great as I have seen better exercises in other books.

The learner should have a basic understanding of Arabic in order to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource., 15 Oct 2006
Written by a consummate professional, this book is the best vocabulary primer I have come across for this, the trickiest of languages. The promised bilingual flashcards exceed every expectation and both the choice of vocabulary and its presentation throughout the book are always appropriate and helpful. With its natty green cover and charming dedication, this work should find its way inside every serious student's bookstrap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Potentially great book marred slightly by limited scope, 28 Oct 2008
This review is from: Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards) (Paperback)
This is a very handy book for anyone wishing to get started on basic Modern Standard Arabic. The book can be used by complete beginners, since, though it includes Arabic script, it also includes romanisation of all the vocabulary items. There is also a fantastic CD which includes every word in the book pronounced in clear Arabic, with a slight pause for you to repeat.

This is all very good, but this book could have been made truly great by simply extending its scope. Instead of concentrating on a larger and more diverse range of words, the author has wasted space with crosswords and flashcards (none of which I have used). Also, given the limitations that the book imposes on itself, I disagree with some of the vocabulary included. For example, we are given the Arabic word for mumps, but not for dog.

Despite these minor faults, however, I have made considerable use of this book and highly recommend it. It's just a shame that the scope of the book is not as broad as it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good for kindles, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This may be good for hard-copy book users but is much diminished for the kindle user. It depends heavily upon hard-copy goods (like crossword puzzles) that don't work in a kindle form. If someone knows how I can use these, and they look interesting, please let me know.
I downloaded the book to my PC, hoping to print out the exercises which really require paper and pen to do. There is no way to print the pages for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Lessons, 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards) (Paperback)
Love this book. Have already got the Mastering Arabic and this is the "test" part of it. Easy to follow and if it was a bit smaller I would pop it into my handbag and do the exercises in any spare time. Fun to do and not difficult for me as a beginner. Hope they do a "second level" one.... (in a smaller version!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for extending vocabulary, 23 Oct 2008
By 
MS-R "MS-R" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent book for expanding your vocabulary in conjunction with a course or more structured book. It covers the words found in many common settings and subjects. A superb book that I cannot recommend too highly for those looking to get a broader understanding of the language and build a useful every-day vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Clare W (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards) (Paperback)
I found this book useful, good for those wanting to use it for holidays etc or for learners of arabic who want to widen their vocabulary to discuss different conversational topics..so it does what it says on the cover! A background knowledge to basic arabic will help you get the most out of this book, particularly pronouns and different tenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reccomend For beginners!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards) (Paperback)
This is extreeeeemly helpful for Arabic beginners, I recommend!!!!!!!! It has Arabic along side with English translation, basic themes, like employment, family, greetings are covered! Very very helpful, again I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards)
Build Your Arabic Vocabulary (Book CD & Flashcards) by Haroon Shirwani (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews