Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically detailed but presented in an understandable way
I must have tried to read numerous articles trying to understand the science behind what happens to fish - I haven't found a better reference text on the sbject.
Not only does it address the basics of what to do for those who wish simply to get on with the job, but it also explains the chemistry and 'why' things happen as they do, for those who want to gain a deeper...
Published on 6 Sep 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old book
This was a out of date book but it still a great help what more can you say, but information still can help you there may be something in it that's not in a up to date book.
Published 6 months ago by nel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technically detailed but presented in an understandable way, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
I must have tried to read numerous articles trying to understand the science behind what happens to fish - I haven't found a better reference text on the sbject.
Not only does it address the basics of what to do for those who wish simply to get on with the job, but it also explains the chemistry and 'why' things happen as they do, for those who want to gain a deeper understanding.
The language is straight forward and easy to read - a must for beginners in fish keeping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 10 July 2004
By 
Ian Bone (Erskine, Renfrewshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
Covers a lot. Very useful. Starts a bit like some school geography lessons about the water cylce....clouds...rain...evaporation etc, but quickly gets into the details of the Nitrogen cylce and everything you need to know with recommended levels of stuff in the water and how to test for it. Loads of pictures and tips. Well worth the cash! (The worst thing about the book is the layout, it opens up like a flip chart style, but this allows for better pictures....)
Gives sample fish for different water setups, ie. acidic, basic, brakish. Does not look at Marine setups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever need to know about aquarium water., 13 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
This is a detailed reference book full of advice about cleaning, maintaining and even starting an aquarium.
This chap really knows his stuff.
There are tips on algae control and how to keep gravel clean.
Illustrations are clear and precise.
I needed reliable information on water changing and chemical control, this book gives me that information in spades.
With this book you can attain a happy and attractive environment for you fish, because they are worth it.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
very good I would advise this product to all my friends from amazon for your next shopping this renowned site
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
Great book for those who want to attempt to get the water conditions spot on, excellent easy to understand readout and great example pictures, a really good book to add to your aquatic collection, this book has saved me a considerable amount of money and potential disasters!!! I am currently looking for other Peter Hiscock books on aquatic fish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good little book, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
Handy little book to have around if you have an aquarium explains why it's important to keep a check on the condition of your water and what it all means and some good tips to sort out any problems you might come across
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Great book which gave me a better understanding of looking ..., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
This is a Great book which gave me a better understanding of looking after the water environment for my axolotyl. Information, explanations, illustrations and diagrams are presented well and easy to understand. It was also used for studying aquatics at college with good results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
Very informative, well laid out an excellent book for a beginner. I am yet to find the elusive book which answers all my questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old book, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Creating and Maintaining Water Quality: How to Provide a Clean and Stable Environment in your Freshwater Aquarium (Tankmaster) (Hardcover)
This was a out of date book but it still a great help what more can you say, but information still can help you there may be something in it that's not in a up to date book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews