Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important and reasoned read.
I bought this having read an extract in the Guardian.
It is a report commissioned by the Gulbenkian Foundation and is a much-needed contribution to the debate about how we as a society are over-estimating all sorts of risks to our children and the potential that we may be harming them and their healthy development as consequence.
It is well-written,...
Published on 16 Jan 2009 by P. Holden

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read.
Interesting read about children growing up in a range of societies, are we to protective of our children? I don't know!
Published 15 months ago by Laura Jenkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important and reasoned read., 16 Jan 2009
By 
P. Holden (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
I bought this having read an extract in the Guardian.
It is a report commissioned by the Gulbenkian Foundation and is a much-needed contribution to the debate about how we as a society are over-estimating all sorts of risks to our children and the potential that we may be harming them and their healthy development as consequence.
It is well-written, well-researched and I would recommend it to parents, to child-care professionals and (especially) to teachers. Police officers, youth workers and similar - anyone interested in children's healthy development, in fact - would find it valuable.
It is only short and is very readable. I was so impresssed I circulated it to colleagues in my workplace - who were equally struck by its common-sense meassages.
PH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brimming with commonsense, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Helen Simpson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
A well written, well researched and extremely readable book.

The author includes interesting statistics to support arguments and theories. Some of the subjects covered are; playground safety, children's attitudes to risk in childhood, bullying (and what constitutes it), Internet threats, 'stranger danger' and anti-social behaviour. I found the intolerance to children just being children in public places astounding (but sadly believable). Another interesting theory discussed is whether people/children respond to safety measures by taking greater risks.

Recommended to anyone who is studying, works with, or is a parent to children...of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really important read for everyone working with children, 27 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
a really good book, you can dip in and out of it - and it's packed with information and examples. Its good for backing up policies and ethos if you are trying to convince people that children must have a chance to climb trees, build dens and use tools etc. It sits alongside books such as "Toxic Childhood" as a set of important eassays on why we need to recognise the damage done to children by adults trying to remove risk from their play (and indeed every aspect of their lives). There's a few good photographs too which back up the text. Read it too alongside books such as "Last Child in the Woods" - we need to ensure that childrens lives are rich and full of possibilities...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
This book is a must for all those working with children and puts in perspective the need for risk in children's lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
Excellent book, nicely presented and easy to understand!
Very helpful when doing a child and childhood essay!
Would recommend to other students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
i would say anyone working with children should read this book - parents too. it is easy to read, no nonsense and a refreshing view on childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
Really interesting, bought for dissertation and found it inspiring and very useful. prompted lots of thought but also lots of answers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society (Paperback)
Interesting read about children growing up in a range of societies, are we to protective of our children? I don't know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabf12a20)

This product

No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society
No Fear: Growing Up in a Risk Averse Society by Tim Gill (Paperback - 29 Oct 2007)
5.66
Usually dispatched within 1 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews