Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of interesting facts and events, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Who? (Paperback)
The author is a genius at unearthing intriguing events that few people know. Here he provides a compendium of varied and surprising personalities, written in an enthusiastic and racy style - an enjoyable and thought-provoking read by a master story-teller. Particularly good on military figures and inventors, and with a passion for jazz and popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars donough does it again, 16 Oct 2013
just as my treasured copy of "bananna skins" is starting to wear thin,Donough O'Brian, (AKA Mr Factoid),comes to my rescue with his new work "WHO". A wonderful collection of facts in praise of the world's unsung pioneering heroes. From the electric guitar's true inventor George Beauchamp ( made from solid aluminium, rather than the more well known solid wooden version"the log"created by the famous Les Paul)to Chaim Weizman the chemist who used conkers to solve the shortage of acetone needed for British ammunition in world war one and was rewarded with a pledge which led to the creation of Israel.Each individual's story elicits the a reaction.."Wow I didn't know that"..or "But I thought it was.." As a visitor to St Mary's hospital Paddington I am now tempted to add the names Howard Florey and Boris Chain to the wall plaque of Alexander Fleming, the creator of penicillin. ( Fleming discovered it only to discard it as unpractical, Florey and Chain it was who were able to manufacture the antibiotic, all three were listed on the Nobel prize but alas it's only Fleming we remember. Many more in this fascinating book, perfect bedside, coffee table or smallest room in the house reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a read, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: Who? (Paperback)
This book is a masterpiece. It is written so well that I found myself interested in things I never thought I would be! Every page is entertaining and fascinating, a Christmas must buy for all the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who? by Donough O'Brien, 11 Oct 2013
This book gives the inside story and the people behind the many famous names we all know well. A truly fascinating read - a book to dip into again and again, and a great gift for Christmas.Who?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who?, 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: Who? (Paperback)
Who? Who would have though you would find so many interesting facts and stories in one book. Usually a pager turner refers to a novel - this is not a novel but it is certainly a real page turner. It genuinely contains many interesting stories for all the family.

So many of us take for granted things like zips, lifts, ATM cash machines, TV remotes even plastic bags. There are interesting facts on medical breakthroughs, planes, cars, sporting events, music etc. It's well researched and recognises a great many unsung heros. Well done Mr O'Brien.

Jacqui A. Picken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fascinating - and would make a perfect present!, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Who? (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book - it is so interesting to learn about so many people who have lived remarkable lives, and have in many cases had a big impact on our lives today. I'd heard of a few of them, but most I hadn't and it is amazing how little recognition some of these people have had for quite amazing achievements. The book is a joy to dip in and out of - it's beautifully illustrated and the author's writing style is very engaging and he really brings his subjects to life. A lot of people will be receiving this from me as Christmas present this year - and I believe it will appeal to all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Who" by Donough O'Brien, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Who? (Paperback)
I was delighted to buy this book and find amongst other medical pioneers my father in law, Harold Ridley. He was certainly one of those who were unlauded until too late, knighted at 92 decades after his creation of the intraocular lenses that saved the sight of many cataract sufferers round the world.

It is a really interesting book and brilliant Christmas present. Full of information about people who have invented things that we all take for granted. Such as the cash machines!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who book, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who? (Paperback)
Have not started reading this yet but sounds very interesting. Heard the author being interviewed on Radio Kent and it certainly sounded different reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who?
Who? by Donough O'Brien (Paperback - 30 Sep 2013)
8.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews