Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, thriller, crime, romance ... and excellent bike touring insights
Alastair's first book was great: ordinary Yorkshire lad toughens up in the crucible of Africa and triumphs. In his second and much better book, Alastair pushes himself even harder and becomes a Nietzschean superman, riding the Road of Bones in Siberia in winter in temperatures of minus 40 degrees. It's quite incredible how tough a man can become and still remain human,...
Published on 23 Jun 2008 by Stephen Lord

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but there are better cycle books
i loved the Authors approach to cheap travel, but i found myself a little frustarated that it was too much about his emotions and not enough about the facts of the ride (just my opinion, other people will disagree). Still a very good read, but i'm not sure i'll rush to read the sequal.
Published 7 months ago by embryo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, thriller, crime, romance ... and excellent bike touring insights, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Stephen Lord (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
Alastair's first book was great: ordinary Yorkshire lad toughens up in the crucible of Africa and triumphs. In his second and much better book, Alastair pushes himself even harder and becomes a Nietzschean superman, riding the Road of Bones in Siberia in winter in temperatures of minus 40 degrees. It's quite incredible how tough a man can become and still remain human, literate and sensitive, as Alastair does.

This book has it all, it's a great travel read, a look into the human soul and how most people, given enough determination, could attempt something like this and grow massively in the process. For bikers, it's something special, as he has some great insights and tips for world bike touring and camping. Of all the world cycling books, this one is most relevant and useful for anyone thinking of or planning an adventure like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best book about a big long bike trip on the market, 7 Aug 2009
By 
John Speakman (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
I have read an awful lot of books about people making big long bike trips, and in my view this one is the best of the lot. It charts the second half of Alasdair Humphreys' round the world cycle trip and is a continuation of his first book, Moods of future joys. In this book he travels by boat from Cape town to Rio, and then by bus to very southern tip of the Americas. From there he cycles up the west coast of south America through to Columbia, where he then hops on a boat for a while, before continuing by bicycle up through the western seaboard of the States and Canada. Another boat trip, Alaska and he reaches the top of the Americas. All that in 161 pages. There is adventure, humour, thrills and spills throughout. Sometimes he cycles alone, sometimes with others, sometimes naked. The momentum never stops. This is so much more than a travelog. But if that wasnt enough he then gets another boat, crosses the icy depths of Siberia, Japan, China, the `stans' and back through Europe. The second half if anything is better than the first. I don't know if he was a writer before he set out, but he certainly was one by the time he got back. This is so much more than a story about a bloke from yorkshire on a bike. It is a journey of self discovery that you can share and learn from. Inspiring and entertaining at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a list of places passed through..., 30 Jun 2008
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
Enjoyed the first book. Good that this follows on (although it stands alone as a book - you don't have to have read the first volume). It is easy to care for the writer, so its nice to find out what happened to him next.

Once again there is expression of emotion, confidence, doubt etc which is so much better than the boring travelogs of some, who mistakenly think just listing places visited is a story. I hope to read more from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 8 Jan 2009
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
I'd say this is a must read book for the simple fact that it goes against the grain - no massive back up, expensive equipment or 'fastest, strongest, quickest' just a brilliant understated story. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first book!, 12 Jan 2009
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
This book continues on from "Moods of Future Joys". I loved both books (read my review for the first book). Also, every person I have borrowed these books to, regardless of whether or not they were outdoorsy, adventurous or sporty themselves, loved them too!

If you want a pair of books to get you motivated to help achieve some of those big goals in your life, I'd thoroughly recommend "Moods of Future Joys" and "Thunder and Sunshine".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True adventure, 27 Dec 2010
By 
BeeKeeper (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
This book, Alistair's second volume of his travels by bicycle around the world, along with the first volume are simply outstanding. If you are serious about travelling the world by bicycle then they are mandatory reading. If you prefer the comfort of your sofa or armchair these books will still stir your imagination and curiosity for the world. They are superbly written and compelling reading. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written, exciting book, 27 Nov 2009
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
A must for every bicycle lover involved in 1 to 100.000 miles trip around the block or around the world.
It's not a "technical" book but a kind of novel about touring alone, meeting other people and lifestyles.
Extremely well written but "friendly": I'm Italian and my English is not so good, but I've been able to understand 95% of the book without a dictionary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring book, 10 Jun 2008
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
I bought Alastair's first book and thought it was very good but this book is even better. I read it once then my Japanese partner took it back to Japan so I bought a second copy for myself and am reading it again. It is by far the best book about a cycling trip that has been written in my view and I've read and enjoyed most of Josie Dew's books and Anne Mustoe's books.
My two sons are about Alastair's age so I have bought them each a copy for their birthdays - I believe they will be inspired by it.
That's 4 copies!!! Well worth buying. I'm looking forward to Alastair's talk next week.
Mike Newton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is impossible, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Simon Blair "charlesq" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thunder and Sunshine (Paperback)
Following on from Part 1 'Moods of Future Joys', Part 2 is even better as we follow Alastair on the long road home from Cape Horn via Colombia, Alaska, Russia, China, Uzbekistan... back to Yorkshire. This is an honest account of an incredibly brave journey and one which most of us can only dream of. You don't have to be a cyclist to appreciate 'Thunder and Sunshine'. There are many lows along the way but Alastair remains committed to the goal he has set himself. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant story., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alistair's story is inspirational. He shows that the world isn't such a bad place that the media make it out to be. Good look for you future expeditions, hopefully on some far flung adventure our paths will cross.

Captain Adam Hugill, The Yorkshire Regiment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thunder and Sunshine
Thunder and Sunshine by Alastair Humphreys (Paperback - 1 Jun 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews