Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an elegant little essay on the historical development of the British trifle, with recipes
This is a charming monograph on that most quintessentially British dessert, trifle, from the erudite culinary publishing house, Prospect Books. The authors start with the first known recipe to appear in print from the Tudor The Good Huswife's Jewell and trace it's development through the ensuing centuries with over ninety authentically written recipes. The trifle's...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by isabel in the kitchen

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No pictures
I was very disappointed when I received this book, it is very small and I was looking forward to lots of recipes, but there is not a single picture. A recipe book without pictures for me is not appealing at all.
Published 16 months ago by Paleochora


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an elegant little essay on the historical development of the British trifle, with recipes, 18 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Trifle (The English Kitchen) (Paperback)
This is a charming monograph on that most quintessentially British dessert, trifle, from the erudite culinary publishing house, Prospect Books. The authors start with the first known recipe to appear in print from the Tudor The Good Huswife's Jewell and trace it's development through the ensuing centuries with over ninety authentically written recipes. The trifle's journey is traced to the New Worlds of Canada, Australia,Mexico etc. and includes close cousins such as Whim-wham, Florence White's The Dean's Cream and Meg Dods' Wassail Bowl and Zuppa Inglese and Tira-Mi-Su.There are a number of electic recipes from diverse places such as Eritrea, Iceland and Germany as well as the recipe Helen Saberi developed for an Afghan trifle, reflecting that country's culinary tastes. There are even a couple of recipes of the very odd savoury trifle, surely a contradiction in terms!

The book is more historical interest than cookbook notwithstanding the plethora of recipes as many of these are repetiitve and some downright strange although many of them do promise delectable results and I especially appreciate the Fast-Track Guide on page 6 listing the most practical and exotic specimens for anyone stuck for where to start. The recipes have been tested by the authors and re-written where necessary in the interests of clarity. Personally, the appeal of this book for me is in reading it rather than trying the recipes and there are plenty of snippets of fascinating esoterica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Trifling Matter!, 1 April 2010
By 
JP Ridgway (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trifle (The English Kitchen) (Paperback)
A truly excellent book. Careful, informative research is matched with delicious, authentic trifles from three centuries. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for trifle enthusiasts, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trifle (The English Kitchen) (Paperback)
I bought this as a gift for a friend who always makes trifle to a 'bring and share' type party. Had a brief look through and it was very interesting, giving the origins of this very British dish and recipes for how it has been made over the centuries. My friend was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delicious, scholarly and witty, 9 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I read this from cover to cover in one sitting. It is an absolute delight. We should all eat more trifle. I'm looking forward to other titles in the English Kitchen series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No pictures, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trifle (The English Kitchen) (Paperback)
I was very disappointed when I received this book, it is very small and I was looking forward to lots of recipes, but there is not a single picture. A recipe book without pictures for me is not appealing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cook book, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trifle (The English Kitchen) (Paperback)
this book does not have any photos in looks like you have just sate down and wrote some recipes would not recommend as it is not inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trifle (The English Kitchen)
Trifle (The English Kitchen) by Alan Davidson (Paperback - 1 Oct 2009)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews