Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
I share the previous reviewer's views. This is a much needed book for those of us who like rhubarb and are confronted with a massive crop from the allotment (and buy it imported I am slightly embarrassed to say for the rest of the year). Nine chapters ( 144 pages) with headings such as Rhubarb and Meat, Rhubarb Soups, Puddings, Jams and Chutneys give a sense of the...
Published on 20 Jan. 2010 by Wil Andersen

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed.
As a huge rhubarb fan I was really looking forward to discovering new ways of using it, however, the savoury dishes in the book just don't transcribe into tasty meals. As alluring as the idea of 'Rhubarbia' is I'm afraid I'll be relegating my experiments to the sweet dishes again.
Published on 16 Jun. 2010 by kiki


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 20 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) (Paperback)
I share the previous reviewer's views. This is a much needed book for those of us who like rhubarb and are confronted with a massive crop from the allotment (and buy it imported I am slightly embarrassed to say for the rest of the year). Nine chapters ( 144 pages) with headings such as Rhubarb and Meat, Rhubarb Soups, Puddings, Jams and Chutneys give a sense of the structure. Also a very interesting first section on the history of rhubarb in Britain. All presented in a very personal and appealing way.

No illustrations but a nice piece of book production from Prospect Press - stiff card covers with flaps and the text appealingly presented. Typeset by Tom Jaine I see. In The English Kitchen series - which I was previously unaware of and will now research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book celebrates the delights of rhubarb, 20 Aug. 2009
By 
K. Fraser (Shetland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) (Paperback)
A book on rhubarb was much-needed and this fills the gap beautifully. It explores the history of this delicious and under-appreciated vegetable (the author is a historian) but it also presents some great recipes, clearly described and wildly varied. It is small, beautifully packaged, and the green and pink colouring is lovely - it's therefore an excellent book for a present too. Although part of the 'English Kitchen' series, it is heavily influenced by the author's summer home in the Shetland Isles. Rhubarb is particulary appreciated here, as it is an indestructible plant which stands up to the wild weather. I very much recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rhubarb Bible!, 29 April 2012
By 
Mrs. H. V. Minor "Halimeda Hilary" (Guildford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) (Paperback)
This little book contains all that you ever wished to know about rhubarb - and then some! For most of us, rhubarb is confined to rhubarb crumble, rhubarb fool and stewed rhubarb with custard and I'm willing to bet that the majority of us don't ever eat rhubarb in savoury dishes. This book will open your eyes to rhubarb with meat, fish (particularly good with strongly flavoured, oily fish as the tartness of the rhubarb will cut through the oiliness of the fish), on its own as a vegetable (Spinach with Rhubarb and Dill, anyone?) and then the rest - cakes, ices, jams, chutneys and drinks. I'm going to try out "Chicken and Rhubarb" (pg 45) in which chicken is enlivened (and doesn't chicken sometimes need enlivening?) with rhubarb, fresh grated ginger, lemon or lime and onions - yum! And, if you happen to live in The Faeroes or in Iceland, you can enjoy "Roast Puffin and Rhubarb Jam" - I shall never look at puffins in the same way again . . . Do buy this book, all you foodies out there. It's an essential part of your foodie education :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhubarbaria, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) (Paperback)
I love this book. There's a fascinating variety of recipes but even better lots, and lots, of information. History, stories, and provenance for the recipes which are as interesting as the recipes themselves all add up to something really special as well as useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your standard recipe book, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
red0209 (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) (Paperback)
I was trying to search out some interesting rhubarb recipes without much success, either online or referring to books I own already. This is apart from the ubiquitous crumble and pie recipes, which usually see the rhubarb combined with other fruits and laden with sugar. I came across this book and due to the positive reviews decided to give it a try. It's a small, concise book of only 144 pages, measuring about 19cm x 14cm, and does not feature any images. The pages are not glossy and most of the opening 35 pages are devoted to the history of rhubarb, its cultivation and culinary uses (the author is a historian). If you were trying to produce a best-selling cookbook, this is precisely how not to do it, but if all you're interested in is rhubarb it works perfectly. There are the expected sweetened pies and crumbles, but the wide variety of savoury dishes are well worth trying. I was reluctant to serve rhubarb with fish but the handful of recipes here show that it is more than palatable used in this way. The attention to detail throughout the book is extremely impressive.

When I was ordering this book, I didn't quite know what I was getting because there are no real clues about what is inside. The contents page looks like this:

Acknowledgements 7
Preface 9
Rhubarb in Britain 12
A Note on the Recipes 36

Rhubarb and Meat 37
Rhubarb and Fish 47
Rhubarb as a Vegetable 51
Rhubarb Soups 58
Puddings 67
Rhubarb Cakes 98
Rhubarb Ices 109
Jams and Chutneys 115
Rhubarb Drinks 132

Bibliography 137
Index of Recipes 142

The full list of recipes:

Ribasiyya
Khoresht-e-Rivas
Shetland Lamb Khoresh
Qorma-e-Rahwash
Country Thatched Pie
Loin of Pork with Rhubarb
Fillet of Pork with a Rhubarb Stuffing
Chicken and Rhubarb
Roast Puffin and Rhubarb Jam

Baked Mackerel with a Spiced Rhubarb Sauce
Mackerel with Rhubarb
Plaice with Orange and Rhubarb Sauce
Bacon and Scallop Kebabs
Rhubarb Sauce

Easterman Giants
Sabzi Rahwash, Spinach with Rhubarb and Dill
Rhubarb and Potatoes
Fruit Moos
Rhubarb Mint Salad
Rhubarb and Lentil Dip

Stephana Malcolm's Spring Fruit Soup
Spring Soup
Meg Dods' Spring Fruit Soup
Spinach and Rhubarb Soup
Parsnip, Rhubarb and Ginger Soup
Rhubarb, Chickpea and Mint Soup
Chilled Rhubarb, Ginger and Elderflower Soup
Cold Rhubarb Soup
Hungarian Sweet Rhubarb Soup Rebarbaria Leves

Rhubarb Pie
Rhubarb Tart
Boiled Rhubarb Pudding
Rhubarb and Almond Tart
Lattice Fruit Tart
Rhubarb, Orange and Almond Crumble Pie
Cox's Orange and Rhubarb Compote
Rhubarb and Angelica
Rhubarb and Banana Compote
Rhubarb Compote with Red Wine
Rote Grütze
Rhubarb Charlotte
Rhubarb and Gingerbread Sponge
Amy's Crumb Pie
Rhubarb Crumble
Rhubarb Clafoutis
Rhubarb Russe
Ruby Fruit Salad
Rhubarb Cranachan
Rhubarb Meringue
Nancy's Rhubarb and Yoghurt Fool
Burnt Rhubarb and Orange Cream
Cairgein with Rhubarb
Rhubarb Jelly (plain)
Rhubarb Jelly (very clear)
Rhubarb Ginger Crunch
Rhubarb Fool (1, 2 and 3)
Rhubarb Flummery
Rhubarb Mousse
'That Rhubarb Dessert'

Moist Almond Rhubarb Cake with Walnuts and Orange
Hjónabandssæla
Randalín or Vínaterta
Russian Rhubarb Cake
Rhubarb and Banana Cake
Rhubarb Gingerbread
Rhubarb, Almond and Lemon Cake
American Rhubarb Bread
Date and Rhubarb Squares
Rhubarb Muffins
Wholemeal Rhubarb Buns

Sorbet de Rhubarbe de Nantes
Rhubarb Ice Cream
Gooseberry Ice Cream
Rhubarb and Strawberry Ice Cream
Rhubarb and Strawberry Sorbet
Rhubarb and Ginger Ice Cream

Rhubarb and Ginger Jam
Rhubarb Jam
Rhubarb and Strawberry Jam (1 and 2)
Rhubarb, Apple and Passion Fruit Jam
Apricot and Rhubarb Jam
Blackcurrant and Rhubarb Jam
Nana's Rhubarb and Banana Jam
Carrot and Rhubarb Jam
Grapefruit and Rhubarb Jam
Rhubarb and Gooseberry Jam
Rhubarb, Lemon and Geranium Preserve
Rhubarb Marmalade
Rhubarb Jam in Three Different Ways
Rhubarb and Fig Jam
Rhubarb, Orange and Almond Jam
Rhubarb and Pineapple Conserve
Rhubarb Conserve with Dates and Raisins
Walnut, Raisin and Rhubarb Jam
Rhubarb Jelly
Rhubarb Chutney
Spiced Rhubarb

Rhubarb Wine (2 versions)
Rhubarb Vodka
Rhubarb and Apple Drink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed., 16 Jun. 2010
By 
kiki (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) (Paperback)
As a huge rhubarb fan I was really looking forward to discovering new ways of using it, however, the savoury dishes in the book just don't transcribe into tasty meals. As alluring as the idea of 'Rhubarbia' is I'm afraid I'll be relegating my experiments to the sweet dishes again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen)
Rhubarbaria: Recipes for Rhubarb (English Kitchen) by Mary Prior (Paperback - 1 Dec. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews