Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Iranian cookery
This comes across as a cookbook intended for people who are new to Iranian cookery and culture. While generally I liked this book, it could have done with a touch more sharp editing to prune down the writing style. The information about Iranian everyday life sets the dishes nicely into context. Despite the gorgeousness of the cover, there are only a few line drawings...
Published on 29 April 2010 by Border Reiver

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undecided
I'm a bit ambivalent about this book. It's certainly a good introduction to Iranian food, but is lacking a bit in style. Firstly the lack of any photography of recipes is a big minus. Secondly the chummy, matey writing style; this will probably appeal to many, but not to me. Giving recipes names like "Oh my God how many relatives did we invite for dinner? pudding" just...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by E. L. Wisty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Iranian cookery, 29 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
This comes across as a cookbook intended for people who are new to Iranian cookery and culture. While generally I liked this book, it could have done with a touch more sharp editing to prune down the writing style. The information about Iranian everyday life sets the dishes nicely into context. Despite the gorgeousness of the cover, there are only a few line drawings inside and no pictures of typical presentations of finished dishes. The ingredient lists are, annoyingly, printed in red which will cause difficulty to a minority of readers. Some of the ingredients, such as barberries, aloo Bokhara, sour cherries and Iranian roasted chickpea flour, will be impossible to obtain outside London and a few large cities, although there are plenty of dishes which require less exotic ingredients. Mail order for these items is prohibitively expensive. While there are good explanations
There are some fascinating tastes like lettuce braised with sweet mint syrup. Bandari sausages as well as the various vegetable and salad dishes also attract. I could have done with some more information about how Iranians shop. I am assuming the lack of information on baking breads is because everybody goes to a local baker - plenty of clips of this on Youtube. The sweetmeats chapters have some lovely calorific items like syrup-soaked elephant ears (deep fried phyllo) but the desserts section is a touch thin. I would also have liked some more kukoo recipes, which could have merited a chapter on their own. However, her aubergine and walnut egg dish is not to be missed. Also loved her takht e jamshid eggs which suggests alternatives for people unable to get the special Iranian sausage used for this dish and also suggests the use of halloumi for vegetarians. The walnut and pomegranate molasses sauce in another section can be a template for some wonderful flavours.
Overall this book is an excellent introduction for those many people who are new to Iranian food and is jam packed with information making it a fascinating read despite the slightly sloppy writing. Another review mentions some of the other books available to follow on an interest in the food and people of this remarkable country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite cook book, 23 Nov 2008
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
This book is a breath of fresh air. Insights into the Persian culture and psyche are funny because they are true - I can identify with much of what Sally says. Buy this book if you want to try food which is simple, good for you and most importantly tasty! I can't imagine life without food like this anymore. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like having a friend in the kitchen with you, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
I noticed a few people don't like Sally Butcher's style of writing. That's their opinion and they're perfectly entitled to it. Each to their own. I, however, love her chatty, informal style of writing. Its a bit like having a friend in the kitchen with you, chatting away whilst telling you how to make delicious food. And the food in this book is delicious. I often pick it out from my huge bookcase of cookbooks just to have a relaxing read. I appreciate her style of writing is not for everyone but, for me, Sally Butcher and her recipes in Persia in Peckham are just wonderful. I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone ... as long as you like an informal writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undecided, 16 Jan 2010
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
I'm a bit ambivalent about this book. It's certainly a good introduction to Iranian food, but is lacking a bit in style. Firstly the lack of any photography of recipes is a big minus. Secondly the chummy, matey writing style; this will probably appeal to many, but not to me. Giving recipes names like "Oh my God how many relatives did we invite for dinner? pudding" just annoys. Giving rules on how customers should behave in the author's shop "Persepolis" in Peckham is probably meant to be jokey but simply grates; well I don't know how Ms Butcher manages to get through the day, being forced to let the riff-raff actually come into her shop.

I don't regret getting this book, indeed it's a useful addition to my collection of Iranian cookbooks. But if you are new to this food and want an introduction to Iranian cuisine, I suggest instead taking a look at one of:

A Taste of Persia: An Introduction to Persian Cuisine

New Food of Life: Ancient Persian and Modern Iranian Cooking and Ceremonies (more comprehensive book by the same author as the above)

The Legendary Cuisine of Persia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deliciously entertaining, 11 Nov 2007
By 
catman (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
A Lovely, witty and entertaining read full of gorgeous recipes and fascinating facts. The insights into the Persian way of life were as interesting as the foodie facts and could make a book of their own. I am looking forward to stocking my cupboards with some exotic ingredients and trying some (most!) of the recipes. A truly delightful book and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Shirley Dockerill "googoosh" (cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
It's not often a cookbook will make you laugh out loud, but this one does. A very easy introduction to Persian dishes and their psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly authentic. No illustration photos., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
OK but some recipes with little or nothing to do with Persia, like a somalian recipe and a jerk recipe included because the author wanted to include some of the other cuisines of the local area (Peckham).That said, most of the recipes are authentic. Has some interesting info on Iranian culture, customs etc which may or not be what you are looking for in a cookery book. No photos of the food, which I found a bit off-putting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook for Persian dishes, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
I have several Middle Eastern cook books but this and it's twin Veggistan are my favourites, highly recommended read too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best collection, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Ms Emily T Joffe "Emca" (Penzance, Cornwall Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis (Paperback)
Didn't have the range of vegetarian/Persian recipes that I was hoping for.... sadly Ottolenghi is much better - and does a better range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis
Persia in Peckham: Recipes from Persepolis by Sally Butcher (Paperback - 23 Aug 2007)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews