Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Entry Level Lexicography for North Atlantic Seafood, 28 Dec 2005
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Paperback)
My 1979 edition of North Atlantic Seafood came from a remainders table at Dillons, in the mid-80's. Since, as an amateur but enthusiastic seafood cook, I have worn out the binding on my hardback volume. The author's clear and concise description of the wide variety of North Atlantic seafood, and particularly comprehensive coverage of shellfish, is a gift to the culinary world. Through Mr. Davidson's descriptions, it is possible to find interesting varieties of product for the better, more sophisticated recipes of specialist chefs. Buy Davidson for his lexicography. Others' works for recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best buy on North Atlantic Seafood, 29 Nov 2003
By 
Nicholas Symes (DK-1360 Copenhagen K Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Paperback)
Being a professional within North Atlantic Seafood I know there are miles between books on this specific topic. One would have guessed that a lack of quantity will mean a lack of quality. That is not the case with Alan Davidson's book. It is the most thorough piece of work on North Atlantic Seafood ever made. Alan Davidson knows that North Atlantic Seafood is not only fish, but surely also crustaceans, and he has even included sea-urchin. But Alan Davidson forgot the snow crab (as one of the largest export items from Greenland). And like it or not: the Greenlanders, the Faro Islanders, the Icelanders and the Norwegians do hunt and eat sea mammals. So I will save the fifth star to the next edition which hopefully will include these 'minor details'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars North Atlantic Seafood, 4 Nov 2010
By 
J. Glackin "Hibernia united" (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a book - just what I always needed. It allows me to identify every fish I could ever land in Ireland and gives me their culinary usages. This came in very handy when I caught a 1.5LB rockling and hey presto Mr Davidson (another native of the fair Isle) had a full description of it and ways to cook it. It is also an invaluable handbook if you go to where the fishermen land their fish/fish markets and see the baskets of odd fish. I will never be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Satisfied, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly as advertised, in perfect condition, I recommend it strongly to anyone wishing to know something about North Atlantic Seafood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten stars, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic reference book for fish species. I am not into the cooking side of things but it had some great ideas for fish I did not even know you could eat. Very comprehensive and well laid out. I would recommend it to anyone.
Only one small complaint, I wanted to give it 10 stars :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars north atlantic sea food, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Hardcover)
being a chef and keen sea fisherman was eager to get . every type of fish/ shellfish from atlantic listed and recipes given.a fantastic musthave classic book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Paperback)
This book is a really good reference book for the kitchen shelf. I love it's companion, Mediterranean Seafood and bought both together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Paperback)
An essential book for anyone interested in fish and seafood. Especially strong for understanding which fish can be found (bought) in which country under what name. Also a delight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All at sea, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Brian Mason (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Paperback)
This is a replacement for our original copy which is now held together with two elastic bands. It is in a larger format which makes it easier to use. It is a splendid book and, like his Mediterranean one, contains information you just don't get anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 4 April 2010
By 
Poddy (Cardiff, Wales & Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: North Atlantic Seafood (Paperback)
I spotted this book in a food-loving friend's house and rushed to get one myself. This is the ideal cookbook. It is an authoritative reference on its subject and has authentic recipes from around the Atlantic seaboard. The fish names in multiple European and North American languages will make shopping and cooking while abroad easier and are fascinating in their own right. The text is learned but wears the learning lightly and with great good humour. In fact, the quality of the writing is such that I am considering buying his books on Lao and South East Asian fish even though I am unlikely ever to cook or eat the fish described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North Atlantic Seafood
North Atlantic Seafood by Alan Davidson (Paperback - 1 Feb 2003)
Used & New from: £6.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews