Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmingly Scottish
This is a delightful little story book, written in the most broad Scottish dialect, using Scottish idioms & vocabulary to make it an unexpectedly amusing read - but it has to be read in a Scots accent!
Something for children & adults, & because the stories are so well know then even non-Scots speakers should understand all the wee quips.
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by J. Pumphrey

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NIce book
This is a nice book but the fairy tales are really long so not suitable for a baby but would be good for an older child (5yrs).
Published 19 months ago by clld


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmingly Scottish, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
This is a delightful little story book, written in the most broad Scottish dialect, using Scottish idioms & vocabulary to make it an unexpectedly amusing read - but it has to be read in a Scots accent!
Something for children & adults, & because the stories are so well know then even non-Scots speakers should understand all the wee quips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional Fairy Tales in Scots Dialect, 5 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. C. Joy Glennie "joyglennie" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book to read to children who are already familar with the traditional version of the fairy tale. It makes them laugh, appreciate their own dialect and the language discussions (opinions, comparing, sequencing, plot, character profiles etc) become animated and very useful. Who would have thought that a class of ten year olds would love listening to fairy tales?

Seriously Silly Stories is another book along this line....with stories such as Snow white and the Seven Aliens and Little Red Riding Wolf to name but two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh till your heid falls awf, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
Fabulous - how fairy tales should be read. We loved it. What was great was not just the scots language- but the idiom, and the humour. Irrverant retellings, downright rude poems! The ehymes work brilliantly in the dialect, and the little ones get it completely, even if not used to the dialect. "Cinderlly Cinderelly, lugs like an umberellae. She so ugly, she so hackit, tek wan look and the mirror crackit" sing the ugly sisters. But the retort comes back " The awffy truth was, that even though she had slatherins of makeup, Hinkyhellydoo still looked like a Cuddy. And the even mair awffy truth was that Bumbledina looked like the same cuddy's backside". What is more, much of the sinister plots and gender bias of the old stories have been given a light makeover- not just "PC bandwagon stuf". Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Scottish parents, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
This book is a must for Scottish parents.
Keep the language alive
It's hilarious too.
It takes a bit of concentration to begin with but it is so worth it.
I read one tale to a group of children and they were so facinated by it they wanted me to read the whole book imediately. I have never seen them sit so still at story time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars present for my friend, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
we saw this book and it is just so good in the scots language. very funny and we couldnt' stop laughing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab and fun!, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
I'm a Londoner but my husband and baby daughter are Scottish and as we prepare to move back to London, I wanted us to keep these links with the 'Fatherland'! This book's a delight not only for our baby who listens avidly, possibly enjoying the rhyming and rhythmn of the words but also for us adults - we've had great fun just enjoying the humorous little twists to the traditional tales! And what fantastic value for money - definitely buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wee book of Fairy Tales in Scots, 10 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
Absolutely fantastic. Being an expat Scot, my pronunciation was a bit off but my granddaughter still got a kick out of it and amazingly could work out what I was trying to say:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good wee book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
Nice book for kids. Love the scots twist on stories. Book not inaccurate when it says wee though. Handy size for being portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
I bought a few books in "scots" for the grandchildren as they are learning Scottish words at school .They think it is brilliant and funny and we were sore laughing but if your not Scottish not sure you would "get it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the real Scots, 7 April 2013
By 
Ms. E. Clark "elana1972" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) (Hardcover)
Got this book for a topic I was doing in the nursery, just a little old for some of the children but I loved it as did some other staff in the school. Love the language and the other wording, would recommend it for other Scots and others if they can understand the language!!! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo)
A Wee Book O Fairy Tales in Scots (Itchy Coo) by James Robertson (Hardcover - 19 Nov 2007)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews