Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Tale crossing two divides
This is the first book that I have read by author Andrew O'Hare and as a result cannot wait for the next. 'Green Eyes' is a beautifully written story of two young men growing up in the troubled, divided UK Territory of Northern Ireland.
The author has the ability to portray to the reader the consequences of unrelenting bigotry in a land that is divided by two faiths...
Published on 5 Jan. 2003 by matthewjacobsuk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better .......
The premise of this book is two boys from Northern Ireland, one Protestant, one Catholic, meet literally because of a chance accident sometime (presumably) in the 1970's or 1980's. They fall in love, experience love, sex, intimacy, and through this process their families become closer and fall apart because of the religious schism and what tragic circumstances this...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. James A. Newton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Tale crossing two divides, 5 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
This is the first book that I have read by author Andrew O'Hare and as a result cannot wait for the next. 'Green Eyes' is a beautifully written story of two young men growing up in the troubled, divided UK Territory of Northern Ireland.
The author has the ability to portray to the reader the consequences of unrelenting bigotry in a land that is divided by two faiths. I found that I really got to know in-depth the two characters of Shaun McKenna and Harry Hannah. Both characters so different in personality, yet so passionate in their love for each other
The book was beautifully, yet sensitively written, resulting in an unexpected climax of tragic hatred. This book left me reeling with tears in my eyes and a true sadness in my heart. A definite must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful yet traumatic book!, 4 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
It is very rare that I come away from a book with such an intense love and hate opinion of what I have just read. Don't get me wrong the book is very well written and I was captivated from the start, the hate aspect concerns the way in which the story develops.
The storey begins by charting the blossoming love between two boys, Shaun and Harry. It does not take long for the relationship to become the focus of both boys' lives and in turn dominate the varying responses from both families. The trials of being Gay and falling in love are hard enough but add the fact that the boys are both from Catholic and Protestant backgrounds produces the real basis of hatred, bigotry and conflict.
The book is very much a Jekyll and Hyde - and I was left feeling cheated that I had been lulled into the beauty of the relationship between Shaun and Harry only for the story to become much darker and brutal. The brutality towards the end maybe a device created by the author and enhanced by the feel good nature of what came before! I am not saying that this is a problem with the book but maybe with the way in which I wanted it to end!
Green Eyes is worth reading..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius!, 3 Jan. 2003
By 
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
Today is the 3rd January 2003. I read the last 150 pages of this book yesterday and I was distraught. I very nearly could not bring myself to read it but I knew I had to otherwise I wouldn't be able to sleep. I have never before been so moved by a novel. I laughed out loud in all sorts of places, especially the flirty banter between Shaun and Harry and in those terrible final chapters, I cried and I can be a tough nut to crack.
Andrew O'Hare has managed to capture perfectly the emotions and trauma of being gay and the rollercoaster of emotions that comes with coming out. I could almost reach out and touch the characters they were so real to me. How much do we all wish Aunt Jean was OUR mum.
Despite my resolution to finish I could still not sleep, the ideas and emotions that the booked explored were formost in my mind and despite thinking that it is the best thing I have read so far, I could not read it again because of how it made me feel. That is the power of this novel. Maybe it's just me but read and you will see that you cannot pull yourself out of this world for very long, it really is sensational.
Despite being a wonderful novel, it brought home to me the realities of the situation in Northern Ireland and just how messed up the country really is. The tragedy of this book is only made more heartbreaking by the fact that things like this do actually happen in the real world.
There is also outstanding sexual detail and a definite sense of loss and hatred.
SO READ IT! Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT, 18 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
I have to say that i was surprised by this book, i brought it on the strength of the reviews on this site and i have to say i was not disappointed.
This book takes you on the journey of Shaun and Harry, two teenage gay guys growing up in Northern Ireland and i have to admit that i was hooked from the very first page reading the entire book in two sittings. I became so involved in this book that on my first sitting i was still reading it until the wee small hours of the morning. This book is both a snapshot of being from different sides of the divide and the difficulties that holds only made worse by also being gay as well!
This book is not the typical type of story you would expect it has so many differnt levels and surprises that you just dont expect. I was so glad that i brought it and feel a richer person for reading it.
This is wonderfully written and flows from start to finish, i've cried and laughed in equal measure whist reading this book and if i had to be really critical the only difficulty was trying to understand some of the speech patterns, but after a while you get use to it.
All i can say buy it, it was/is a fantastic book and you will not be dissapointed with your purchase i promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 2 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
I very much enjoyed this book. The story was good - despite a few rough patches. This is not a "hollywood" happy ending book - it leaves you feeling both happy and sad. However, the ending does seem a bit rushed and a bit unfulfilling - but maybe thats to leave room for a sequel. Unlike some of the other reviewer's, I didn't have a problem with the way the main characters talked to each other - the "banter". As an American living in the UK, I can say the banter is more true to life. To NOT have had the banter would have made the book less realistic. The only real fault I had with the book is the appearant ignorance of the main characters to the world around them. They are in Northern Ireland and one is Catholic and one is Protestant. Yet they seem to be caught completely off gaurd when they get into trouble with the neighbors for associating with each other.
All in all, a very good read. I would definantly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heart rending tale of true love and bigotry, 14 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
When reading this, I was struck by the realism of the main characters. I disagree with other reviewers who critisise the characters total lack of awareness of their surroundings; it only helps to emphasise the love they feel for each other. What Shaun and Harry have is what we all ultimately want: unconditional love. This book had an effect on me by making it easier for me to understand the value of my own surroundings and the people around me. Andrew O'Hare is a credit to the world of authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cried my eyes out, 28 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
This book had me in tears and brought home the reality of life in Northern Ireland for some people. Other reviewers have critcised Andrew O'Hare's writing style but I don't think it is off-putting. I grew to love Shaun and Harry and their supporters.
I hope we see more from O'Hare in the future. This is a gripping, heart-wrenching tale. Well worth the read. ...it is easy to see how hatred can destroy people. Have your tissues at the ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 26 Aug. 2002
By 
Jeff (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
One of the most powerful books I have read, and I read LOTS of gay fiction. This story written through the eyes of Shaun McKenna about him and his beloved "Green Eyes" Harry Hannah will make you laugh, cry, become excited, and above all else will remind you of your youth, even if your youth wasn't as exciting and yet tragic as theirs. Two thumbs up, and 5 stars for this wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book you must read...One you will never forget, 1 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
This book is just about everything... a love story , a thriller, a mystery, a religous statement. Yes it has everything it would be a good read for anybody who is homophobic and a bigot against homosexuels.! The sex scenes are real without being pornographic in anyway...it will teach non gays that we can love and make love just the same as you! The love between the two central characters just oozes out of the book. The ending is sad, so sad I beg you not to cry!!!!
There is a clever twist to the ending which you would never guess?
In the autobiography at the beginning it says that Andrew O'Hare is now working on his next book a science fiction...no way come on Andrew let us have more of the same! Or was it an autoboigraphy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better ......., 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. James A. Newton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green Eyes (Paperback)
The premise of this book is two boys from Northern Ireland, one Protestant, one Catholic, meet literally because of a chance accident sometime (presumably) in the 1970's or 1980's. They fall in love, experience love, sex, intimacy, and through this process their families become closer and fall apart because of the religious schism and what tragic circumstances this ultimately brings.

This book could have been excellent and easily worthy of a 5 star review. Unfortunately reading the book left me frustrated and at times bewildered. The dialogue between the two main characters - Shaun and Harry - is prolonged, tedious and to be fair more like something I'd expect to read in a Mills & Boon novel. This is then interspersed with the sex scenes that go into such graphic detail that I thought would do well as a piece of erotic fiction. Apart from Shaun, the narrator, character development is weak and two dimensional, particularly the women.

It's the final third of this book that `saved' it for me, even though it felt rushed - like the author had realised he had spent too much time on the first two thirds and wanted/needed to get it finished; but nevertheless it kept me engaged and although a challenging read was well worth it.

For me the problem here was not the skills of the author - anyone should be proud of this as a first time novel - but absolutely appalling editorship. It is this that has stopped me giving the book a 5 star review and if it were not for the already mentioned final third of the book I would have given it a 1 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Eyes
Green Eyes by Andrew O'Hare (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2002)
Used & New from: £11.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews