Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2011
An excellent book. A concept that had been very, very vague in the back of the mind suddenly becomes reality. The maps are wonderful. Suddenly you can see where it all was, and how it all was, thousands of years ago. It redimensions Europe. Since I bought my copy I have bought 3 more for my family.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The rising sea level at the end of the last Ice Age drowned 'Doggerland', a vast area of lowland between UK and Europe bigger than mainland UK. At one stage, you could have hiked from the Pennines to within sight of Scandinavia, glimpsing it across a channel like the Straits of Dover...

This wonderful book gives a first pass at the recent findings. Although there is a lot of info, it is accessible to a 'Time Team' / 'Meet the Ancestors' audience.

I've read it once, in a hurry, but know I must read it over and over again in the months to come.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Today, sea levels are at the forefront of social and scientific discussions
the World-over!

The landscape: Doggerland of Europe's North Sea was slowly submerged several
millennia ago. A known fact...

The scholarship of this book is invaluable.

Makes one think of the past, present and future of the planet: Earth.

Highly recommended!

Dag Stomberg
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
The book is a very readable account about the way in which researchers have approached the archeology of Doggerland over the years and a fascinating pulling together of the available information to describe both the geography and the possible life experienced by the inhabitants.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
This is an excellent book and challenges the belief that when the bed of the North Sea was dry land, that it was more than a bridge between mainland Europe and the adjoining British section. The book is well illustrated and well written. Doggerland was a rich and bountiful area and as the book said it's loss must have been devastating for it's inhabitants.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
A first class product which brings to life the area which was flooded by increasing sea levels and a tsunami. Also it further increases our belief that we are all of one stock. A terrific amount of research has gone into the production of this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Very detailed and may be a little 'high-brow' for some expecting more speculative information on this lost land off our shoreline but the authors shied away from anything which could not be proven by science so probably more for the academic than the common man. An interesting book and it shows what a rise in sea level will bring so I'm turning my electric lights off, blowing up my rubber ring and keeping my wellies to hand. Just in case the Americans don't get the message on global warming.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
interesting book at a reasonable price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)