Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is bound to inspire and delight you.
When you cook with the finest of ingredients and you are no slave to fashion, preferring instead to pick the best each season has to offer, you can cook a feast fit for a king........ or Gordon Ramsey.
Ramsey; together with Roz Denny, and photographer Georgia Glynn Smith, have produced a beautiful book, bursting with expert culinary advice , full of mouthwatering...
Published on 6 July 2001 by denise@thefoodweb.com

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating
I received this book as a gift, and picked out three recipes - a soup, a main course and a dessert. It was simply frustrating to use this book. Yes, the ingredients list is basic, and the cooking process appears simple. However, nothing turned out the way it was supposed to throughout the cooking process. This cost me precious time, in making modifications to the...
Published on 30 April 2010 by Avid Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is bound to inspire and delight you., 6 July 2001
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
When you cook with the finest of ingredients and you are no slave to fashion, preferring instead to pick the best each season has to offer, you can cook a feast fit for a king........ or Gordon Ramsey.
Ramsey; together with Roz Denny, and photographer Georgia Glynn Smith, have produced a beautiful book, bursting with expert culinary advice , full of mouthwatering recipes and stunning photographs.
An easy to cook and easy to read cook book. I could'nt put it down.
I love the moody, almost frantic style of Ramsey, always searching for the next great eating experience, passionate about his art.
A dedicated professional. Ramsey passes on his ideas of flavour combination, colours and textures, and leaves the rest up to you.
The recipes are simple to reproduce. Ramsey's secret: regional and seasonal buying of fresh ingredients. Recipes like "Sea trout with Crushed Fresh Peas", a Summer dish of superb fresh fish with the simplist of accompaniments, a crushed puree of delicous garden peas, bound with a vinaigrette, and enhanced with fresh marjoroum. , So delicous, so inviting, and thats just one recipe from Chef of the year 2000. Brilliant! A chef for all Seasons Denise@thefoodweb.com...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as Alistair Little, 19 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
This book approaches my favourite all time cook book, Keep it Simple by Alistair Little, in that it allows a home cook, with some skills to create dishes far above the ordinary...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is good but, be careful ..., 21 Oct 2003
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
Good recipes. Great inspiration and very nice descriptions of the ingredients. I cannot add anything that was not already said in the previous reviews on this, but be careful. the recipes are most of the time wrong in timings. So far I found that cooking times should be twice as much as indicated in the book. For example, I just completed the orange and lemon tart and the cooking time is (obviously) at least 60 minutes and not 35 as written. Same errors on timing are everywhere on the book. So, if you are a beginner ... be prepared for a lot fo frustation because of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cook book i have ever read!, 14 Sep 2000
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
This book is exelent - not only does ramsay share his michlen starred recipes but he also adapts and makes them possible for the home cook. It has exelent colour pictures to give examples of how he presents them in his resturant and in the back gives you tricks of the trade e.g how to 'fan a fennel'!- The book is divided into seasons and ramsay explains which produce is in season to allow you to purchase it when it is at its cheapest price and the finest quality - its a exelent book and definently a book to have, a small price to pay for a quality book! This book really proves gordon ramsay is a chef for all seasons - and with this you could be too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is easy haute cuisine - well done Gordon!, 16 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
This book is one of the best book gifts I have ever had, and I am working my way through it, delighting and surprising my family and friends. The spring chicken with pak choi is fast, easy, and brilliant. Easy to read and follow - hard to put down! Hats off to Gordon Ramsay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun for a culinary student, 31 May 2013
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
I am currently studying culinary arts and my mother got me this book, as a gift. I love it the descriptions he gives about the foods he uses and why they are in season. It gives me a nice break from practicing "fine" dinning meals that aren't out of my school books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than a cook book, 13 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
Lovely pictures and recipes combined with enough descriptive text to feel that you can sit and read this book as opposed to just looking at pictures. Wish I had time to try more recipes, it has really inspired me to think more seasonally about my food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the practical cookerys this is the ''must have book'', 30 Sep 2000
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
Excellent throughout even A.A.MILNE Will give this 5*s This takes pride and place in my home with the great chefs like Anton Mosimann, Roux Brothers etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 30 April 2010
This review is from: A Chef for All Seasons (Hardcover)
I received this book as a gift, and picked out three recipes - a soup, a main course and a dessert. It was simply frustrating to use this book. Yes, the ingredients list is basic, and the cooking process appears simple. However, nothing turned out the way it was supposed to throughout the cooking process. This cost me precious time, in making modifications to the ingredients, adjusting cooking times and processes etc.

A recipe book should, as a starting point, be reasonably reliable and accurate. This one really turned my kitchen into a living hell. The end result simply did not reflect the effort put into getting these dishes in shape - at best, they all turned out all right, but compared to the amount of effort, a complete waste of time. In other words, there are many other recipes for similar dishes I've come across, which took up half the time and energy, and were double the results in terms of the taste factor.

I have used other recipe books - Delia Smith, Jamie Oliver, Rachel Allen, Nigel Slater, Sue Lawrence, Mai Pham, Fuschsia Dunlop, Madhur Jeffrey etc - and their recipes are more or less spot on. I would dare pick any of their recipes, and use them for the first time to entertain friends, confident that they would not let me down.

This book, however, I would not rush into using again. Too unreliable to the point that the cooking process becomes frustrating rather than pleasurable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Chef for All Seasons
A Chef for All Seasons by Gordon Ramsay (Hardcover - 8 Sep 2000)
25.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews