Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real life stories of life in 1950's England for the Irish, 20 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
These are absorbing real life stories of Irish immigrants who moved to England mainly in the 1950's and 1960's. Displaced from their homes, coping with the culture shock of the new world and the trials and tribulations that lay before them.
Each story is told in a real and honest way, without resentment of what might of been, just an acceptance of that was the way things were. These are the stories of our fathers and mothers, uncles and aunts, real people still alive today.
This is a part of Irish and English History which has not been spoken about in detail before and I am richer person now for having picked up this book. The admiration I now hold for my own parents, who moved to London in the late 50's only to be one of the lucky few it would appear, to secure work in Ireland in the early sixties and return home to settle. I now see them in a whole new light.
Every Irish person of this new generation accustomed to money, full employment and the riches of the world, would learn a lesson in life from these brave stories of these young people trying to make a life for themselves and the unlucky ones who were left to squaller, often by their own people.
This a well balanced and not over sentimental read, and a real page turner. One of the most enlightening books I have ever read and I just did not want this book to end. Well done Catherine Dunne, and I just hope their is a volume two !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating history of the Irish immigrant experience in London, 22 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
A series of interviews with Irish people who moved to London in the 50s and 60s. I bought it because I wanted to try and understand why people made the trip, my parents both came over to England in the 50s, and much of what is retold in this book echoes the experiences of my parents. Fascinating read, if you are like me, second generation Irish, it does give an insight into why your parents came over, and what faced them in London, when they arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London: green under the surface!, 23 Feb 2005
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
My wife is a Dubliner and has lived in London for fifteen years. This book details the experience especially of those who came before her, mostly during the 1950s and 1960s.
The immediate post-war period (typically the time from total independence, as Eire became the Republic of Ireland in 1949) to the early nineties was a time of great economic and cultural hardship in Ireland. Many thousands emigrated to the UK, the US and Australia to escape the religious and socially-stale state that DeValera had striven to create since partition in 1921.
This then is their story, that of the ordinary men and women who 'took the boat' to Holyhead and settled in the suburbs around the road to the capital, the A5: Cricklewood, Neasden, Wembley, Stonebridge Park etc. London's population is ever-changing and the streets are not paved with gold. The Irish who came faced prejudice and ignorance but this is a story of determination and humble cultural life.
An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Honest Account of life in London in the 50's, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
An interesting and shockingly honest account of how life was for the thousands of Irish Men and Women who were forced to emigrate to London and the suburbs in the 1950's in pursuit of a better life.
The particpants honesty makes this book an interesting and at the same time Heart Wrenching read of how life really was for Irish Emigrants of that time.
Their courage and determination to work hard and achieve despite adversity at times can only be admired .

A must read for all Second Generation Irish !In this world of 'entitlement' and must haves it is all to easy to forget what previous generations endured in order to survive.

Well done ,Catherine Dunne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia, 28 Feb 2008
By 
E. A. Edmonds "annavan" (Middle England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
For any of the thousands who came over from Ireland in the 50's and 60's and settled mainly in North London, this book brings back warm and bittersweet memories; not only of hard work these people took on, but of the loneliness and sadness they had to cope with. For those of us like myself, who are descendants of these wonderful people, we can read and look back with pride on the mark these people made on this Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
The Irish, like all immigrants to this country, put up with decades of severe racism and inequality in our society while working very hard indeed to try and make a living. I am glad someone has documented their struggles. A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far.........., 28 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
Loving this book so far (three chapters in) Im absolutely hooked, so much so I fell up the stairs at work today because I was still reading whilst walking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent way to learn about the history of Irish migration, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Panda (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
Easy to read in the best possible way. Interesting, funny, engaging and touching stories of those who moved to London from Ireland. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
This is one of the most enjoyable, touching, informative and honest books I've read in a very long time. Although written before the economic downturn, the insight of some of the interviewees is typical older generation Irish pragmatism. It's as if these lovely people were sitting right in front of you telling their own lives stories. Read it, you won't want to put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Father Loved it!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London (Paperback)
I bought this for my father who came over from Ireland in the 50s, he found it entertaining, thought provoking and a true reflection of the times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London
An Unconsidered People: The Irish in London by Catherine Dunne (Paperback - 1 Jun 2003)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews