Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sting is my new hero
From Miss Jane West, Portsmouth, England. What a read, I never knew Sting was so down to earth in the way he kept his communication going with the author. My favourite piece was when Sting was invited along to the races and they all ended up sleeping on the 18th green of a nearby golf course. Sting thought he was going to be staying in a top hotel and ended up in the...
Published on 7 Oct 2002

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Terrible
This must be the worst book I have ever read in my entire life!! It isn't a biography of Sting, its an autobiography of the author!!! Doesn't cover any of Sting's rise to sucess but concentrates mostly on the author's school days with a few references to Sting. DON'T BUY IT!!
Published on 11 Sep 2002 by Miss Claire Guest


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sting is my new hero, 7 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
From Miss Jane West, Portsmouth, England. What a read, I never knew Sting was so down to earth in the way he kept his communication going with the author. My favourite piece was when Sting was invited along to the races and they all ended up sleeping on the 18th green of a nearby golf course. Sting thought he was going to be staying in a top hotel and ended up in the car. And the soft toy factory, what a laugh! When Sting thought he was going to some exotic island to work he was devastated when he found it was at the canary factory and not the Canary Islands, ha, ha!
This is the definitive book on the real Sting. People have forgotten that he started out in life as we all did, he didn't just end up as a Rock God by doing nothing! Here is Sting revealed in an eye-opening way that not many stars can accept. For Sting to agree to this book being written shows he is human after all.
Great how the author is able to reveal all of Sting's little foibles, especially when the young Sting grabbed a handful of what he thought was one of the Beatles' hair at a concert they attended in Newcastle. Jim, the author, kept it from him that the hair was in fact from another nearby adoring fan caught up in the frenzy!
And who would have thought Sting was involved in football hooliganism against Scottish supporters of Glasgow Rangers! Need I say more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must-have' account of Sting's early days at Cuthy's, 6 April 2000
By 
devi.jankowicz@luton.ac.uk (A Geordie Exile in Luton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
Schools are strange institutions, and Cuthy's (St. Cuthbert's Grammar School, Newacstle upon Tyne) was strangest of all, staffed by a motley mixture of Catholic priests and lay staff, and attended by small boys from all over the north-east of England. It says a lot about the strength and nature of tis culture that Jim Berryman's stories of Sting's early days at the school ring exactly true.
Some of them were new to me, some I'd heard before, and only two of those known to me (the day a pupil ran amuk, and the day Wild Bill Hemmie, the chemistry master, blew himself up) weren't there.
If your reaction is that the book sounds inbred, of interest only to ex-Cuthy's pupils; or only to Geordies; or only to Sting fans, you'd be wrong. It's so funny! It's a book for anyone who doesn't mind laughing himself or herself sick.
Find out about the lad, uncertain of the meaning of 'adultery', in the confessional with a deaf priest while a horde of small boys, which grows by the minute, listens in in delight. Discover how Berryman, Sting and the lads tried to make an honest crust by opening a book at the horse-races. Learn how Cassa the headmaster got egg on his face every time he opened his mouth.
Aw, I suppose it still sounds very local. It isn't! You'll just have to buy it to find out. Do it; you'll be delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of the decade, 9 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
I have read well over 100 biographies relating to the music business but this one is the best. I really couldn't believe that James Berryman, the author, managed to get Sting to sleep in a tent at the beginning of his career when he was well known. The tent was on the 18th hole of a golf green nearby to a race course. Sting was accompanying James for a day at the races, the scenes painted by James' words are so real that you can reach out and practically touch them.
You might ask what would Sting want to get out of this friendship with his friend of some 37 years and that is what the book is all about, the exploits of two friends from childhood to adult life.
I found every single chapter to be a story in its own right.
In one of the chapters Sting, as a teenager, even gets to see the Beatles arrive for a concert and in a melee grabs hold of what he believes to be one of the Beatles' hair, pulling out a few strands he's made up in believing he's got a souvenir, that is until Berryman tells him otherwise.
I could go on and on pulling a memorable story from every single chapter that is told with a wit that will have you breaking out into a wry grin. Such a book is rare and to be approved of by Sting shows that all within is truthful and can be taken as gospel unlike some other books I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catholic school educated Sting fans-identify, laugh enjoy, 7 April 2000
By 
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
If you are a Sting fan, Jim Berryman's book will be a delightful look into the life of our favorite musicmaker. You'll become a quick fan of Berryman too - who is terribly funny. As a contemporary of the author and subject, and having received a Catholic school education in NY in the exact same time period, I completely identified with the experiences, feelings and even the antics Jim described in this book, though I believe anyone would relate, regardless. "Insolently indolent" I believe was a term used to describe our friend. I believe the placard I was forced to wear for a week at school around my neck read "Chronic Disturbance". I laughed and laughed more in the earliest chapters. What a compliment to Sting this book is - to have been written by a dear friend. I'm certain that readers will sense they have been given a real look into Sting's life - not as a megastar, but as a guy - a special guy and friend who has walked many of the same paths we all have. Jim Berryman, thanks for a great read. I truly enjoyed your book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read from page one!, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
This book is quite literally the funniest thing I've read for years.
Packed full of childhood stories, it brought back so many memories of my youth. I can't imagine anyone who wouldnt find this book hilarious and at the same time touching. Two mates, one a superstar the other a 'normal' guy, who share a bond of friendship, which has lasted 40 years.
Go get it. NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! A laugh from start to end, 25 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
This is an autobiography with a twist! James Berryman tells of his various tales with Sting as a child and as the superstar he has now become and for me this is the best book I've read in ages. Not only a 'must have' for Sting fans, but for anyone who fancies a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Treat for a Sting Fan, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
This book is a funny, personal and often surprising 'tale' of one of the world's greatest music legends. It is a rare account of the school days of two good friends and is written with feeling and respect. If this was James Berryman's first publication it was bloody good - and I look forward to reading more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh, I nearly slipped a disk I laughed so much!, 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
This is the funniest book I've ever read since reading Forest Gump. Gump wasn't transformed into a very good film but the book was ace. This book, though, goes one step further and is bound to end up a classic if it hits the big screen or even as a UK TV series based on each of the chapters. THe funniest bit for me was the day at the races when they all parked up for the night and Sting ended up dossing in the car and Jim Berryman ended up having to get his leather coat cut off his legs...read the book to find out what I'm on about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all fans of friendship, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant portrayal of boyhood friendship. Being a fan of Stings since the late 70's this book gives a great insight into the musical maestro, and what helped shape him into the man he is today. Brilliantly written and very humorous, Jim Berryman' s biography is probably the best I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth reading . . . . ., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
. . . .If you like Sting very entertaining , funny , and a real insight into his life.
Written by his friend and with Stings approval so what are you waiting for all Sting fans . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Sting in the Tale
A Sting in the Tale by James Berryman (Hardcover - 23 Mar 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews