Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book with captivating and inspirational narrative
References may have been made in the past to Andy Rouse being an old-ham, but to me he is more of a fine cheese. I say this not as any defamatory reference to his personal hygiene, but more that having followed his work since his penchant to lying down in front on angry Rhino, he still continues to excel and raise-the-bar year-on-year.

The first thing that...
Published on 14 Jun 2008 by Chris Windram

versus
4 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Title says it all.
Mr Rouse has so much opportunity, but results are not great.
Published on 23 July 2008 by Mr. Adrian Mann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book with captivating and inspirational narrative, 14 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
References may have been made in the past to Andy Rouse being an old-ham, but to me he is more of a fine cheese. I say this not as any defamatory reference to his personal hygiene, but more that having followed his work since his penchant to lying down in front on angry Rhino, he still continues to excel and raise-the-bar year-on-year.

The first thing that strikes you about "Concepts of Nature" is how beautifully it is printed and bound. It is clear that this book has been put together with great care and a proper understanding of how to present photographs. It is sturdy, glossy and the colour reproduction is first class.

The second thing that strikes you is what an amazing natural ability Andy must have, and how lucky he must have been to get some of these pictures. This is where first impressions can be misleading...

As well as containing amazing photographs, Andy's books have always been a thoroughly good read. However, in "Concepts of Nature", something has happened, and it's almost like Andy has found another gear. The narrative, as well as being as amusing and captivating as previous books, has a new level of emotion about it. Andy's passion for his 'work' shines through, and is both inspirational and motivational. Virtually every photograph has accompanying background narrative giving the image context and further depth. It also becomes very clear, very quickly that although luck may sometimes play a factor, it is intense planning and dedication that has helped Andy achieve these amazing results.

Being a bit of a geek, I am always keen to know some of the technical information behind a picture. I was delighted to discover a five page geek section in the book providing the photographic and setup info for many of the key shots in the book.

Presumably now well into his fifties, the old-dog Rouse still continues to learn new tricks and find new ways of making his awesome wildlife photographs stand-out from the crowd. Personally I cannot wait to see what he does next. My only regret is that I didn't get to see him whopped by the Capercaillie!

This book is a beautiful piece, and I would highly recommend it to animal lovers, photographers and human-beings alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Mr. Rouse, 30 Aug 2008
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
I have read all of Andy Rouse's books and have just finished reading Concepts of Nature. I've even been on holiday with the guy and I can confirm that he is as nutty as a fruitcake. However, this is my unbiased review.

Firstly, strange title for the book. Not quite sure what it means but the cover photo of the great grey owl is stunning. I agree with the first reviewer when he said Andy's work has moved up to another level. There is quite a lot of landscape work in this book which is a first for Andy. The shots are world class and prove that Mr. Rouse isn't just a one trick pony. As a long time follower of his work I also agree that he adapts and changes his style constantly with fresh approaches. There are some sensational shots in this book and owners of some of his other books will be pleased to know that the majority of the images in this book haven't been published before.

The text is written in his usual witty style which is always welcome. There's plenty of advice for the avid wildlife photographer but not much for total beginners. However, this is not a "how to" book, it is a showcase of his work along with some photographic advice and a few of his own personal experiences and ideas thrown in. A nice easy read.

The print quality is superb with good sized pages to show off the photographs. A few spelling mistakes and misprints but I'm just a nitpicker! Highly recommended overall.

If you are looking for a book with great advice for the beginner combined with a good selection of Andy's work try looking at the Lonely Planet book written by Andy, simply called "Wildlife Phtogoraphy". If you need to now more about the fieldcraft side of wildlife photography, you must read Andy's first book called "Photographing Animals In The Wild". It is still his best book in my opinion and gives some superb advice on creating hides and stalking your subjects etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars - no question!, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Andrew W (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book on several levels: If you want to find out what a wildlife photographer's working life is like; for practical information about how to take photographs of animals and birds; for greater understanding of the role of light in wildlife photography, as in all types of photography; and for inspiration on developing your own personal photography (as the author says, not by directly copying him, but by understanding the way he has developed his own photography).

As well as that - and by no means last - it is full of absolutely beautiful photos of wild animals, showing fascinating behaviour.

I preferred this book over Andy Rouse's "living landscapes", which while also good I didn't feel it contained as much practical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WORLD CLASS PHOTOGRAPHY, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
Superb photography throughout, with interesting dialogue about the photos & circumstances from Andy himself. I'm still reading as its a pick-up anytime & read for me, rather than a study book, it's quite simply inspirational, a level of skill to be admired & to aspire to, thank you Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true work of art, 19 Mar 2009
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
As a semi-professional photographer mainly interested in the underwater realm, I seldom look at topside wildlife photography books, but when I do I simply want the best. This volume by mr Andy Rouse is exactly that - the absolute best. One is left in jaw-dropping admiration when looking at his spectacular work - a humbling collection of extraordinary wildlife portraits which leave the viewer in awe and sharply show an unmistakable personal touch, truly the artist's eye and vision. Printed to a very high standard on high-quality paper and accompanied by movingly personal texts and captions, mr Rouse's images are a gift to all lovers of nature and beauty. As an ideal companion to this exceptional work, I'd also like to recommend to all wildlife and nature photography lovers another fascinating (albeit less well-known) tome, A Diver's Guide to the Art of Underwater Photography: Creative Techniques and Camera Systems for Digital and Film, which offers an equally mesmerizing insight into the other, less appreciated side of the mirror - the marine underwater environment. The natural world is truly full of wonders and I am grateful to all committed artists like mr Rouse for offering us the opportunity to enjoy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book by a great photographer, and it's dirt cheap., 8 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
The book delivers what it says on the cover - a Photographer's Journey. Andy makes great observations on where he was when he started professional photography, and where he was when the book was published, illustrated with world-class professional photographs. Let anyone who says they're poor or disappointing get some therapy or take a photo class.

I found the book extremely useful in comparisons with my own photographic journey and it has given me many insights and ideas. There's no pretentiousness or aloofness from Andy - you can hear him speak at any number of venues across the UK for very little money, he is excellent value at all times. In this book he gives up even more of his secrets and motivations and I thank him unreservedly for sharing them with us.

Great book - should be required reading for all wannabe professionals, not only those interested in wildlife photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey (Hardcover)
Title says it all.
Mr Rouse has so much opportunity, but results are not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey
Concepts of Nature: A Wildlife Photographer's Journey by Andy Rouse (Hardcover - 25 May 2008)
21.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews