Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and inspiring
This book came as an "editor's choice" from a book club that had sent titles along the lines of The Ultimate Guide to Wedding Photography and Mastering Digital Whatever. I was on the point of sending it back unopened, but the package was damaged, so I had a look anyway...

And I decided to keep it after all. And dipped in deeper and enjoyed it. And liked it...
Published on 24 Feb 2008 by Mr. Stuart Robert Harris

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disapointing
I was really disappointed by this book - these are some of my favourite photographers and most of the photos, including those of the guests, were fantastic - some simply awesome. The text, unfortunately, I found plainly indulgent. Yes, it was nice to know how each photographer saw his creative development, but hey, I really wanted more about the photos - how did they plan...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by Ms. N. S. De Alwis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disapointing, 17 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. N. S. De Alwis (Croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
I was really disappointed by this book - these are some of my favourite photographers and most of the photos, including those of the guests, were fantastic - some simply awesome. The text, unfortunately, I found plainly indulgent. Yes, it was nice to know how each photographer saw his creative development, but hey, I really wanted more about the photos - how did they plan them, what settings, filters, etc. And the text for photos were of such small print that it was simply annoying to read. Sorry guys, I still think you are great photographers, but the book - a wasted opportunity, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars style not how to, 15 Mar 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
Featuring the work of three well-known landscape photographers, Joe Cornish, Charlie Waite and David Ward as well as many others, this book is a visual delight. Subtitled, 'A Landscape Photography Masterclass' for me a masterclass would show you exactly how to do it, yet this book is a showcase of the master's art - a superb thing of itself, but don't expect to go out and take similar photos having read this book. This book suffers from being mis-subtitled for it gives the impression that you will learn the master's art. It is a stunning book with fabulous photography throughout, but the text is about what the photographer feels, his thoughts about the scene not about how he took the photo. The photographers are defining their style, the way the see it. I would still buy this book for it is incredibly good to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and inspiring, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Stuart Robert Harris "Vivir Con Arte" (Norwalk CT 06850) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
This book came as an "editor's choice" from a book club that had sent titles along the lines of The Ultimate Guide to Wedding Photography and Mastering Digital Whatever. I was on the point of sending it back unopened, but the package was damaged, so I had a look anyway...

And I decided to keep it after all. And dipped in deeper and enjoyed it. And liked it so much that I ordered the hard-back version, along with the author's previous book on a special deal.

Although all of the photos are of the highest quality, seeing them all together with commentary and reflections has helped me understand more clearly what I really like and aspire to in photography.

I was going to withhold a star because some of the photos go across the fold. But checking again, it's just a couple and it would be niggardly to award this fine book anything less than five.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the usual standard, 3 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
The idea behind the book is good and some of the photographs are excellent. So why only one star? Unfortunately, in common with many other books on this subject, most of the images are grossly over-saturated. The result is that much colour detail is lost and the images lack subtlety. This is apparent even on the cover shot in which the Cuillin Mountains look good enough to eat; the Cuillins are made of granite - not chocolate. This is very frustrating as many of the images are top quality, notably Cornish's Cir Mhor shot and Gallagher's monochromes.
I would have awarded two stars but for the awful arty claptrap that passes for text. This is not a Masterclass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a coffee table book than something to learn from...., 22 Mar 2012
By 
Mis J. Wheeler (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
I'm afraid I'm only going to echo what others have said about this book. It looks great, the photographs within are truly beautiful and could be a real source of inspiration, but that is really all this book has to offer.... there are no exposure/setting details, no text to say where these pictures were taken, nothing to help me take my photography to a slightly higher level. As I say, a great book for the coffee table, but at £20 (that's what I paid for it) it is really a tad expensive for just the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good overview of conventional landscape work., 2 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
As expected the image quality from all the participants is good- all I missed was the point of it all- no imagination, conventionality after conventionality, lead lines, yucky overuse of grads, over saturation, detail isolated by focus . If you are the sort that likes Light and Land you will love it - If you really want a measure of independence of thought seek elsewhere. Amazingly enough Charlie Waite's best book- Arc and Line might be a good start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring and thought provoking, 21 April 2014
By 
A. Peebles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
some inspiring photographs and questions to get you thinking about your own photography and where to go next. I found it inspiring and thought provoking and will continue to dip back into it for further insight and help
It is also fascinating to read how fellow landscape photographers of their very high standard respond to each other's photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I agree with other purchases comments., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
A nice book, some amazing images, but definitely more about the mood and what the inspiration was rather than how it was taken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Some lovely photographs in this book but was very disappointed in the scripts, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
Some lovely photographs in this book but was very disappointed in the scripts. Hoped would be more educational from the professionals rather than "conversation". Only has camera settings for the non-professional contributors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's one way for the beginner to..., 4 Nov 2014
By 
Steve Law "Sven" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing Vision & Style: A Landscape Photography Masterclass: A Masterclass in Landscape Photography (Light & Land) (Paperback)
See within. Wordy in all the right places. Geeky in parts and some good advice. Recommended by a good photographer, Cornish is a top bloke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews