Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast, 31 Oct 2009
By 
S. Shailer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
The photographs are just breathtaking - they are given pride of place with glorious full pages and double page spreads. The text gives just the right amount of information to support the photographs. A beautiful beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Compilation, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. WH Bowman "hubow" (N.Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for a Scotsman, but did have a good look through it before giving it to him. The photography is stunning and the pictures fascinating. I couldn't put it down until I'd seen every page. The commentary was pitched at just the right level - not so much as to make you skip any of it, but enough to keep you interested. An excellent book, and not only for a Scot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Incite, 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
This well written superbly illustrated book is a credit not ony to the Authors but also to the skills of the pilots & photographers working in extremely remote areas of the British isles - It was a really interesting incite into the purpose & use of photographic recording of our landscape for future generations to capture a sense of history from our ever evolving landscape - well done RCAHMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
What a marvelous book of high quality photographs. Almost every single photo is immediately and consistently striking. The colour, the scale, the detail - these are remarkable images. Many of these places I didn't even know existed - and in my own native land! I've always known Scotland was a beautiful country, but these pics have truly enhanced that knowledge. Friends I've shown the book to have been equally impressed. Here's hoping this team come out with more books of a similar kind - soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my Dad for his birthday. On recieving the gift my Dad was absolutely thrilled and spent the rest of the night engrossed in it, you can spend ages looking at all the little details in the building and land. The photographs are stunning, a real treat to look at. It now sits on the coffee table at my parents house and never fails to spark some conversation from guests who can't resist taking a peek at it.
It's one of those books which are lovely to dip into when the mood takes you, I've certainly found myself picking it up time and time again...infact wish i'd purchased an extra copy for myself.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
This is a second purchase, both times for gifts. A superb collection of aerial photography and a really interesting book. Would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 13 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
Love this book and the opportunities it offers to see Scottish cities and scenery from the sky. Wonderful coffee table volume and a great Amazon price. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Rememberance, 16 July 2010
By 
Alan A. Morrison "Alzonie" (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
Having taken a Self-Guided tour with my Daughter and a friend for two weeks through Scotland and the Outer Hebrides during the last two weeks of May, 2010,this book will forever keep me reminded of how enjoyable it all was. We saw, first hand, many of the places pictured in this book. It's a "Must Have" for anyone of Scottish descent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Jan Downer (Lanark, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography (Hardcover)
As a (old & current) map collector, avid walker and historic enthousiast, this book, photographs and summary texts, makes you want to visit these places. To go there and find out what they look like on eye level. It also brings 'flesh' to historic texts: a feeling of scale, now and in years gone by.
The broad range of topics and the inclusion of old aerial photgraphs paints a 'holistic' and realistic view of Scotland: Truly Inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a beautiful book, bought as a gift for some French ..., 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a beautiful book, bought as a gift for some French friends. It was a pleasure to see some out-of-the-way places, such as Belnahua where my father worked as a child before the first World War, together with modern scenery such as the Whitelee windfarm. I'd happily buy it again as a gift that's a little quirky, but authoritative and beautifully presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography
Above Scotland: The National Collection of Aerial Photography by James Crawford (Hardcover - 8 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: 14.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews