Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burns for the family, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
A. M. Ide "pedant51" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
A great guide to how to organise a family Burns Night.

This was originally given out free with The Sunday Post, and it is a tribute to the power of Scotland's first family that it has become neccessary to reissue the booklet to reach a wider audience.

To those who have already purchased Maw Broon's Cookbook or The But and Ben Cookbook, I say, "Go ahead. You won't be disappointed!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Broons' Burns Night, 12 Mar. 2009
By 
F. Hawkes "book fairy" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book which I have purchased for friends overseas and in England and I keep being asked for more. It takes a Burns Night novice from start to finish to create their own special Burns Night and the recepies are spot on too. It is a fun book as well as being very informative. The very low cost of the book is an added bonus as I would pay twice as much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burns Night Blueprint, 3 April 2009
By 
Richard Law (Pembrokeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
Robert Burns (1759-96) wrote Scottish poetry phonetically, which makes it a challenge for outsiders; Burns night is celebrated on his birthday (25th January), so barely three weeks after the celebration of the New Year by which time Scottish families need a party. The Broons family are quite well known beyond the newspaper cartoon strip for which they were created and serve as a vehicle for explaining Scottish culture to outsiders, such as in Maw Broon's Cookbook: The Broon's Cookbook - for Every Day and Special Days. This book is printed in the style of an old school exercise book filled with scraps, contains some of the cartoon strips as well as the recipes and poems that make Burns night special. The format includes the Selkirk Grace (attributed to Burns), the address to the haggis (which he did write) and quite a few recipes.

By the time you've read it cover-to-cover, you'll have some appreciation of what Burns night means in Scotland, but to really understand it you need it read to you by someone with a Scottish accent. Now there's a thought; a dvd version would help explain it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Burns Night Planning, 26 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
Simply a great book.

Details everything you need to know to host a VERY successful Burns Night.

The lay out is easy to read and humorous. Printing is great, made to look as if recipes, "post it" notes and information have been "ripped" from their original source and put in this guide; a bit like a home made scrap book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burns Night, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
T. Nicholson (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
As well as being an amusing read was full of good tips to ensure a good Burns Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Broons, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for a Scotsman. He enjoyed it very much as not only was it full of amusing items about the cartoon family, which is a Scottish institution, but it was full of authentic Scottish recipes. It was delivered very quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper Burns Night, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Michael Eaton "the Walrus" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
Written in a quirky manner to resemble the usual dog eared notebook that we all keep somewhere in the house to remind us of "how to" carry out family gatherings and festivities this book should appeal to both those looking for "colour" and those actually observing a "Burns Nicht Supper" (Scottish or of Scottish decent?) it is both humouress and informative at the same time. "A braw read" as Pa Broon might say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
Great recipes looks really old and well used great effect I love the recipes and use them all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and informative, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
S. Linnett "Songbird" (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
Lots of recipes and background information, along with the traditional graces and poems. Add in The Broons humour and - great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Scottish fun, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broons' Burns Night (Paperback)
Oh fantastic, a great look at Burns night as celebrated by a "real" Scottish family! Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broons' Burns Night
The Broons' Burns Night by Broon Family (Paperback - 9 Oct. 2008)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews