Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maw does it again !
This was on show at the Good Food Show last week beside the original - Maw Broon's Cookbook. Same kind of nostalgic appeal - days oot ! Cookin' the catch o' the day, some really basic stuff too. Recipes not as old as the first cookbook perhaps, but real Broons humour and great memorabilia tucked in to the pages - a 'must-have' if you got Maw Broon's Cookbook. Compared...
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by John Sprott

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horace writes poetry!
I gave this book five stars, but the Amazon thing only recorded two for some reason. Anyway, this book has recipes that date to 1940, and use more fresh ingredients than the original Maw Broon Cookbook. I wouldn't say it is 'better' or 'worse' - it is just a very different cookbook, so complements the first one. I use the first one a lot to cook from, as well as just to...
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by Jane Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maw does it again !, 9 Nov 2008
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
This was on show at the Good Food Show last week beside the original - Maw Broon's Cookbook. Same kind of nostalgic appeal - days oot ! Cookin' the catch o' the day, some really basic stuff too. Recipes not as old as the first cookbook perhaps, but real Broons humour and great memorabilia tucked in to the pages - a 'must-have' if you got Maw Broon's Cookbook. Compared with other cookbooks on the go this year, this is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get yer brolly Maw, I fancy a day oot!, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
Ok, the weather outside may be frightful but this hasn't stopped me daydreaming about days out in the country after flicking through this lovely book. This is the sequel to Maw's cookbook (what other gems are lurking at the back of the big press at Glebe Street?) and shows us how the Broons live when they are in the country at the But an' Ben. By the way, where exactly is Auchentogle? A funny, charming, nostalgic cookbook, which is even more jam-packed with jokes, strips, cuttings and good old fashioned recipes that will stick to your ribs, than the first one. Of course the other family members make their cheeky contributions: Granpaw adds his wine making tips (don't fancy the turnip much), Hen relates the rules of conkers, and the Twins recommend fresh Frog Soup, served live in pond water. Do you remember making sugarelly water, home made ginger beer, and a poke of sugar and a rhubarb stalk! If you do you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horace writes poetry!, 9 Nov 2008
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
I gave this book five stars, but the Amazon thing only recorded two for some reason. Anyway, this book has recipes that date to 1940, and use more fresh ingredients than the original Maw Broon Cookbook. I wouldn't say it is 'better' or 'worse' - it is just a very different cookbook, so complements the first one. I use the first one a lot to cook from, as well as just to read, as it is funny and entertaining, and also looks like the cookbooks my mum had from her mother. The design of the second one is equally as strong as the first cookbook, and But an' Ben has poetry from Horace, which is inspirationally funny! But an' Ben has recipes for picnics and barbeques, as well as home made ginger beer. While I might not make ginger beer, it really reminded me of when I used to make it as a kid, with my brother, and the corks exploded off the bottles in the night in our cellar. Very funny. This cookbook is more seasonal, and has the scope to let you use more organic, local produce, than the first one. There is a recipe for perch, which is rather weird, as no one really eats perch anymore - because you can't buy it (fishermen still catch it of course), apart from in the US, but you can substitute salmon or trout for perch. The new cookbook has recipes for whisky marmalade and jams, as well as good soups and some game. It is a worthwhile addition to any collection of cookbooks - I currently have over 200 cookbooks and But an' Ben is a strong addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maw Broon does it again, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Mcleod "Denise" (Glasgow, Scoland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
This is a great book if you like reading the Broons. I love the way the book looks like its been left on a kitchen work top while being used. The mug rings and drips just add to how nice this book is. I have used a couple of the recipes. I also bought this book as a gift for a new home owner and they loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEMORIES, 9 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
Excellent. Brings back all the memories of my Granny's cooking. Some of the receipes I had forgotten but now having a go at trying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
A bit of fun and a good gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This 7-Up Cake is delicious and the pineapple topping just makes it even better! You could use any frosting you like on this ca, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
This 7-Up Cake is delicious and the pineapple topping just makes it even better! You could use any frosting you like on this cake but my family enjoys the pineapple along with the lemon flavor.
1 lemon cake mix (I used Duncan Hines 16.5 ounce Lemon Supreme Signature Cake Mix)
1 (3.4 ounce) Jello Instant Lemon Pudding
4 eggs
1 1/4 cups 7-up or any lemon lime drink
3/4 cup vegetable oil
Combine all ingredients and mix well with mixer. Spray 2 (8 inch) cake pans and divide batter. Bake in preheated 325 degree oven for 35-40 minutes testing for doneness as ovens vary. Let cool and frost with your favorite frosting or the pineapple filling recipe below. Enjoy!
Pineapple Filling for 7-Up Cake
1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple, undrained
1 stick butter or margarine or 8 tablespoons or 1/2 cup
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups coconut
Mix pineapple, butter, sugar, eggs and flour together. Cook on medium heat until thickens. (I bring this to a low boil, turn down and cook about five minutes stirring often). Remove and add coconut. Let cool and spread between cooled cake layers and on top of cake.
Note: This cake should be refrigerated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maw Broons cook book, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
Excellent service as usual. Arrived promptly and well packaged. I would highly recommend Amazon.co.uk to anyone who does not want to pay full price at a shop for the same product.
Many thanks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
I bought this for a friend for a Christmas pressy. first impressions good. like the look and have taken some recipes out for myself would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cook book, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land (Hardcover)
I tried to buy this book in high street shops but none available. The book is everything I was looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maw Broon's But An' Ben Cookbook: A Cookbook for Every Season, Using All the Goodness of the Land
8.56
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews