Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2011
This booklet is worth far more than the nominal amount that it charged for it. Written by one of the most respected Islamic scholars in the UK, whom I personally had the honour of praying behind on a few occasions. He explains a very important topic in a very accessible and easy to follow manner whilst retaining the scholarly approach that he is known for, giving us every confidence that what is said in the pamphlet is the product of much research and reflection.

If you want an introduction to the madhabs (the four established schools of jurisprudence) that the majority of Muslims adhere to, then this is a perfect booklet for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
This is a very short but valuable introduction to explaining the development and canonisation of the four madhhabs. Though it is only fifteen pages, thirty including the detailed notes (which should not be overlooked) it does a good job explaining how the four madhhabs should be perceived and the threat of abandoning them, for example, "If one's child is seriously ill, does one look for oneself in the medical textbooks for the proper diagnosis and cure, or should one go to a trained medical practitioner?" I highly recommend reading it. This is a valuable work in understanding that the best way to follow the Qur'ān and Sunna for the laymen is by following the great mujtahids and leaving ijtihad in the continuation of developing fiqh to the qualified scholars. It truly is a case of quality over quantity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2014
This is a very good introduction to the traditional schools of Sunni Islam and how they developed. Its paticually useful in that it answers some of the questions that have become common these days and also some of the criticisms of the Islamic schools of thought by both modernists and fundamentalists. I especially like the answer to the common slander that scholars followed these schools because they were after lucrative jobs, that's clearly blown out of the water when its pointed out some of the leading scholars were men of independent means or men who actually had other trades.

Well worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
This is a brilliant piece of writing and it has cleared up any doubts I have had about Madhabs. I recommend anyone that follows a Madhab and those who dont also to read this so they may understand. This book is honestly worth so much more than its price and for the knowledge I have gained by reading this I would persuade anyone to buy this book. IT will only make your life as a Muslim easier and clearer in a world full of fitnah and fasaad
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
Impressively succinct. Will take no longer than an hour to read. I read it in response to the confusion I had on the topic, and found matters cleared quickly. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2010
Easy to follow, brilliant overview with a healthy amount of footnotes for further reading. May Allah be pleased with both the seller and Shaykh Abdal Hakim Murad for a timeless explanation of different fiqh.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
This is an excellent book(let), which covers exactly what the title states. In my honest opinion this is a fundemental read for Muslims (those who both follow and do not follow a school of thought) and an informative read for anyone else interested in understanding this area of Islam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
its a quick summary of the madhabs incase nobody has ever explained them to you, very short and to the point
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
The best short work I have read on why it is necessary to follow the madhabs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Short concise but paked with information about the maDHABS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)