Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but room for improvement
This is a very good rail atlas showing all lines on mainland Britain, also distinguishes tracks with overhead line equipment, third rail and diesel only.
The main improvements I would like to see would be whether a line is freight only or both freight and passenger, and also some references as to where the lines are ie: In Scotland it's great to see whether a line is...
Published 24 months ago by Pokey

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather a curate's egg....
Like the curate's egg, this railway atlas is good in parts.

The idea behind this publication, to put the national rail network into its geographic context, is good. It clearly shows the inter-relation between one route and another. Other strong points are that electrified lines (overhead or 3rd rail) are clearly marked. Mileages of stations and other locations...
Published 18 months ago by Peter Kazmierczak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but room for improvement, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
This is a very good rail atlas showing all lines on mainland Britain, also distinguishes tracks with overhead line equipment, third rail and diesel only.
The main improvements I would like to see would be whether a line is freight only or both freight and passenger, and also some references as to where the lines are ie: In Scotland it's great to see whether a line is single or double but a few postcodes of the stations would be even more helpful. Also a complete map would be an advantage, even as an insert, so you could see at a glance where places are in relation to each other.
On the whole though, a well researched and fairly accurate description of todays railways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Asset for the Rail Enthusiast., 15 Feb 2013
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
The Track Atlas of Mainland Britain is based on industry sources and puts today's national rail network into its geographic context. 139 detailed diagrams provide a National Rail Network Map showing the extent of the operating network and its infrastructure. The maps shows track level detail in a schematic format set over geographic centre lines.

Passenger and freight routes are shown together with their track formations including connections, crossovers and primary sidings. All stations appear with most signal boxes, junctions and tunnels including their names and railway mileages; most level crossings are included together with information describing their type. Complex areas are shown as larger scale insets.

Also included are 44 heritage lines including several narrow gauge lines.

The pages are set out like a road atlas in that depending where the route leaves the page you are directed to another page. Different types of rail (non-electrified, overhead electrified, 3rd and 4th rails etc) are shown in different colours, and the number of lines is shown too.

This atlas provides an invaluable resource to industrial users and enthusiasts interested in the location and relationship between the railways routes of Britain. It is an ideal companion to any train journey if you wish to keep track of your rails or, for example, if you see a diverging line from the one you're travelling on and wonder where it goes.

I ordered what was described as a `paperback' book on the Amazon UK page but it turns out that it's actually hardback (a bonus in my eyes). The book arrived quickly but with some vary minor damage to the front cover, but this is not a showstopper and I see no reason to return it.

There are some things it does not show; track names (Up Main, Down Fast etc) and platform numbers except for larger stations. If you are looking for something like this book with more information such as the track names and platform numbers on all stations as well as carriage capacity of each platform, plus other information then way not consider the area Qual Track Maps such as Southern and TfL: Bk. 5 (Railway Track Diagrams)

All in all, an invaluable book for any person interested in the rail network.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather a curate's egg...., 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
Like the curate's egg, this railway atlas is good in parts.

The idea behind this publication, to put the national rail network into its geographic context, is good. It clearly shows the inter-relation between one route and another. Other strong points are that electrified lines (overhead or 3rd rail) are clearly marked. Mileages of stations and other locations is very good, especially with regard to the detail of individual level crossings.

The actual maps could be more clearly drawn and lack any form of artistry. Trap and catch points are often omitted; even the cover picture of the layout at the north end of Sheffield Midland doesn't quite tally with the layout of the station drawn in the book! So one is left wary of overall accuracy.

Everyone has spotted the "howler" of the juxtaposition of the River Dart and the line to Kingswear. Other serious omissions are light railways/tramways which I find curious seeing their growing importance and often directly taking over former heavy railway routes. Also why no mention of some of the main engineering features the railways built? No sign here of those great viaducts at Ribblehead, Crimple or Harringworth.

So all in all quite a disappointing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hope I don't find too many errors!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
Just bought this book (the hardback 2nd edition) but unfortunately on the first page I opened I spotted a glaring error which has now made me dubious as to whether the other information is correct?

The incorrect info I noticed is on page 4 section D2, Kingswear is shown on the wrong side of the river Dart, perhaps I am just being picky and others will think this is irrelevant. I can understand that it must be difficult to make room for all the info but in this case Kingswear station is shown some distance away from the river and Greenway tunnel is also shown in the wrong place and again on the wrong side of the river.

I have other rail atlases such as the baker guide and Ian Allan ones and they clearly show Kingswear in the right place. In my view it is important to show Kingswear correctly as on the west of the river dart stood Dartmouth station which never had any track, passengers had to travel across the ferry from Kingswear to get to Dartmouth, looking at page 4 they are both on the west side of the river Dart!

I never owned the 1st edition so I am unaware if it was the same but surely this should have been corrected in edition 2!

**Addition**

Since writing this review I have had contact with the publisher, they have explained that the section of track I mention above was not in the 1st edition as it is a preserved line so my comment about this being corrected is not relevant, they have also explained that the background map is not intended to be geographically accurate which I do understand so I have changed my rating to 5 stars as I do think this is an excellent book.

However I am still think it's a bit odd that it shows the Kingswear line actually crossing the river to Dartmouth on the west bank by some mystical bridge!

None the less it is still a very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trackatlas of Mainland Britain (2012), 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
Excellent detail. One or two minor errors and some colours difficult to distinguish in certain light. That said, still a wonderful reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trackatlas of Mainland Britain, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
The second edition of a guide aimed at the serious enthusiast market, and now being seen increasingly frequently in the hands of travellers on main line charters. Not as fully detailed, for example in relation to distances and milepost locations, as at least one of its competitors - but a useful, well-bound, and portable guide for the discerning traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Railman, 14 Jun 2013
By 
cairns (Haddington) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
A very good reference tool. There are some small mistakes but overall a brilliant piece of work. The maps are easy to follow and as well as the Network Rail system, including sidings, heritage lines are included. The various types of route are colour coded and most parts of the infrastructure, stations etc. are included. The pages are set out in sections and any insets are gone into in more detail on later pages. There is a strong case to be made for an App.to enable field work to be carried out more easily. A very good buy for anyone interested in railways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 14 May 2013
By 
Glen Hopkins (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
Described on the front cover as "Track atlas of Mainland Britain", I purchased the book expecting to show all railway lines on the British mainland. Whilst the track diagrams are more comprehensive than the OPC Rail Atlas Great Britain & Ireland, what it fails to show are rail lines unique to private operators. Whilst the tramways of Manchester, Sheffield, Birmingham and other cities may be regarded as "non Rail" the exclusion of Tyne & Wear and London underground lines in inexcusable (Although the former Oldham loop - including the planned diversion through Oldham town centre is shown for some reason!)

It is disappointing that "Joint lines" just peter out with an arrow where the joint running ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRACK Atlas, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
As a reference book it was ideal. It was a present for my Husband as well, he saw a review of the book and it was on his Christmas wish list. He was very pleased to receive it as a gift, and then spent a day noting the errors in some of the track diagrams and has contacted the publishers about them. Even I noticed the error in the route to Kingswear, South Devon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prefer this to the Rail Atlas, 18 Feb 2013
By 
David D. Farron (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRACKatlas of Mainland Britain: A Comprehensive Geographic Atlas Showing the Rail Network of Great Britain (Hardcover)
Very useful tool for using to know where to stand if you are photo or Video Train Movements. Would be nice as a phone app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews