Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sausages you'll ever taste :-)
This is an absolutely superb book, but I wouldn't have expected anything less from Jane Grigson. The background to the recipes makes it a joy to read, and the recipes are easy to follow and invariably delicious. Some of the recipes use ingredients which require an understanding butcher, but most are readily available - and when you've tried some of them (such as the...
Published on 14 Mar 2005 by N. Holt

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the squeak
Grigson writes in same vein as Elizabeth David; anecdotal, intimate, discursive. She starts off by taking us into the charcutier's shop to select a picnic; what a delightful idea, and one that gets us immediately in the right frame of mind to approach the subject, but a little heady for the beginner. We are plunged straight away into discussing the right kinds of bread...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Peasant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sausages you'll ever taste :-), 14 Mar 2005
By 
N. Holt "Nick" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely superb book, but I wouldn't have expected anything less from Jane Grigson. The background to the recipes makes it a joy to read, and the recipes are easy to follow and invariably delicious. Some of the recipes use ingredients which require an understanding butcher, but most are readily available - and when you've tried some of them (such as the magnificent saucisse de campagne and boudin noir), you'll never want to see the insipid supermarket versions again. The perfect introduction to French charcuterie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time cookery classic !, 19 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
This is a book for anyone who has stood drooling at the spécialités du terroir in a French charcutier's window. How to do absolutely anything with every bit of a pig. All the tricks of the trade are here. A book of great erudition written in a clear and entertaining style by one of the really great cookery writers. Every true foodie needs a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for home curing & charcuterie, 24 Nov 2007
By 
P. Stephens "paul" (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
As smallholders we are always trying to maximise the use of our pigs when they meet with their fate. The River Cottage books helped at the start, but there is plenty more to be done - and with fantastic results. Grigson's book is informative (although you do have to read around each of the recipes, because they do not follow the conventional self-contained instructions. The reading around is not a hardship, and you will invariably find other hints/tips/wyas of processing the animal that distract you from your orignal thoughts).

There are recipes here for using all the pig - and, once you get over our pre-conceived ideas about what is edible, you will find a wide range of flavours opening up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything but the squeak, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
Grigson writes in same vein as Elizabeth David; anecdotal, intimate, discursive. She starts off by taking us into the charcutier's shop to select a picnic; what a delightful idea, and one that gets us immediately in the right frame of mind to approach the subject, but a little heady for the beginner. We are plunged straight away into discussing the right kinds of bread and wine, the selection of picnic stoves, the cuts of pork, and the translation of weights and measures.

From this we move to "Charcuterie Equipment", taking us from buying in the shop to creating at home. While some of the equipment can be improvised easily, other items are likely to be expensive and the days of picking them up on junk stalls at rural markets for a few pence are long gone.

Now equipped, and braced by a section on spices, herbs and sauces, we are plunged into the world of nose-to-tail eating. Many of the recipes, such as those for pates and sausages, are suitable for the ordinary enterprising cook, although at first reading they appear daunting. Others are for the more adventurous, happy to source the ingredients. If you are the Fearnley-Whittingstall type who is killing their own pig, no problem; but in rural areas buying half a pig isn't too tricky. If you don't keep pigs, much of the offal, ironically, will be more easily sourced in the conservative North than in the affluent South of the UK.

Curing your own bacon and ham is usually considered a specialist job, and personally I am a bit daunted by the prospect of attempting something so redolent of the risks of food poisoning. It would also be difficult, even for the smallholder, to get some of the ingredients (5 pints of blood?) unless the chap slaughtering your pig is very co-operative; butchers will often hang onto some of the offal unless you specifically ask for it. On the other hand, the reassurance of those who have commented on this review makes me keener to give it a go.

When this book was written (1967), charcuterie wasn't really available to the ordinary shopper, and day trips to France on the Eurostar mere pipe dreams. On the other hand, local pork butchers and small slaughterhouses were still routine. Even so, I wonder how many cooks actually attempted many of the recipes in those days. While it is charmingly written and very thought-provoking, it is no longer the only practical book for the ordinary cook. Up-to-date, well illustrated alternatives are available; however friends have had problems with the recipes in some. It would seem that this book still earns its place on the shelf, ahead of some of its flashier modern counterparts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and useful., 4 Oct 2010
By 
Peter B "Brammy" (Paderborn, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
I am a Jane Grigson fan and I bought the book to complement my book on Charcuterie by Michael Ruhlman and Brian Rolycyn. It would be especially useful if living or holidaying in France, as Ms Grigson explains what all those interesting looking things are, that are on sale in every town. But it was first published in 1967 and it shows. It is not as well organised as the other book; the index could be better; weights and measures are in imperial, rather than metric; it still lists saltpetre as a curing ingredient, whereas today it has largely been replaced by sodium nitrite or 'pink salt'; some instructions are slightly confusing; and it has not been well edited. Nevertheless, the book contains a lot of interesting and valuable information and I would recommend it for anybody interested in charcuterie in the home, and the recipes that are included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could be, 4 Jan 2008
By 
Ivan Marples (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
This book is well informed and an excellent source of traditional French charcuterie recipes. However it only gets three stars for the following reasons. Firstly this edition suffers from sloppy editing. Some recipes and passages of text appear to have words and sentences missing which render those sections useless.

Secondly things have moved on in the use of salpetre and cure mixtures that are better covered in e.g. "Charcuterie: The Craft of Salting, Smoking and Curing", particularly because we now recognise health implications in their use.

This book is good for reference but there are better books (see above) for the uninitiated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 19 April 2014
By 
Michael Eaton "the Walrus" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
A very informative book and a good read too, despite Jane Grigson patronizing the reader a little she is till one of my favourite cookery writers, OK this was one of her first books and thus her style got better later but it is still up to the level expected.....what would you expect from someone who puts Elizabeth David where she so rightly belongs - at the head of the table. Jane I'm sure would be on her right hand side! If you want to know about the French style of dealing with pork and sausages this IS the book to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous food writing!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
This book has been a wonderful introduction to the curious art of French charcuterie! I strongly recommend it to anyone fascinated by good food, it's origin and those who produce it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pork for all., 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery (Hardcover)
Excellent for students of this subject. Would not know where to get most of the ingredients though! Choice is not available in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Grigson for the foodies, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have this as a traditional book and on my Kindle.
A joy! A writer who covers the topic in great depth but never bores. If you have wondered how the French have such wonderful pork products this will let you know and prompt you to try some for yourself.
A celebration of the pig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery
Charcuterie and French Pork Cookery by Jane Grigson (Hardcover - 31 Oct 2001)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews