Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking and mouthwatering
This is one of the first cookbooks about middle eastern cookery (or any cuisine) that combined interesting and informative points about history and culture to give a real flavour of the middle east. The recipes are easy to follow, work really well and use ingredients easily available in the UK. Those adapted from recipes with meat into vegetarian recipes, are delicious...
Published on 1 Nov 2007 by S. Alai

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult cookbook to use
I'm a little surprised with all the 5 stars for this book, because despite the fact that ingredients lists and the methods are easy to follow, this book is quite hard to use. The choice of fonts and colouring of text, actually makes it quite hard to read and it's almost impossible to flick through it to quickly find that recipe you were looking for. There is also no...
Published on 8 April 2011 by HJ Haugland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 6 Aug 2008
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
How brilliant that grub street republished this book.
I was given it a present.
Full of fantastic, authentic recipes and background info on the cuisine & culture - a refreshing cookery book.
great for veggies and non veggies alike...
All the recipes are really well written, easy to follow and moreover utterly delicious....I am a fan and cant wait for the next book to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exotic Vegetarian staples, 15 Nov 2010
As a relatively recent convert, thanks to Diana Henry, to Middle Eastern flavours, I bought this book to complement my growing library. It is a wonderful compendium of the use of local foods. The only reason that I am not giving it five stars is that it is virtually impossible to make anything on the lighter side, but all perfect winter fare or for those who spend hours working in olive groves..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
I have made various recipes from this book and have found them to be in most cases delicious and easy to make. Many of the recipes are quite simple food, which is inexpensive and the sort of thing that can be incorporated into day-to-day eating as well as being made for a special occasion.

One of the huge plus-points of this book is that lots of the recipes include only a few basic ingredients (vegetables, eggs, rice, cheese, olive oil, lemon juice, nuts etc.), which you are likely to have in already. There are a some specialist ingredients included (e.g. sumac, pomegranite juice, matzo meal etc.), but these have not been difficult to find and also occur in several recipes throughout the book so they can be reused for other things.

My only criticism is that the author hasn't stated how many portions each of the recipes make, but I have found that in general most recipes produce enough for 4-6 people, depending on how many dishes and what accompaniments you are making (and how hungry people are).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 4 May 2009
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
I never know what to do with vegetables this book has given me loads of ideas and the recipes are delicious. Would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vegetarian dishes from the middle east, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Colley (norwich uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
this is a comprehensive and fascinating book of recipes and tales very informative a joy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the spirit of MIddle Eastern cookery, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Goat Feeder (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
Having been a regular visitor to Jordan over the past few years I often wondered how I could recreate some of the wonderful vegetarian dishes of the region. The author captures the true spirit of Middle Eastern cookery whilst at the same time providing recipes which are clear and easy to follow. A nice touch which sets this book apart are the stories that accompany each dish. All in all if you want an interesting and easy introduction to Middle Eastern cookery this is THE book for you! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a veritable feast..., 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
as a lover of middle eastern food and a veggie, it's lovely to find such a lovely book. Easy to follow with interesting details. I've only just started using it, but so far delicious. My only slight quibble is that there are no photos and after all we eat with our eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 20 April 2009
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
This is a book that every cook should have in their collection! Its a classic! The author takes time to set the scene, informing us as to how and why some ingrediants made their way to the middle east. Along with interesting stories and sayings, these authentic recipes are brilliantly described and leave you wanting more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read & Gorgeous food, 1 July 2008
By 
M. Loubo (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
As a vegie for the past 15 years, I was delighted to come across this marvellous tome. It provided such a rich insight in to a often forgotten regions delicacies. Every recipe is a magic gateway to culinary bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An introduction to a tradition, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East (Hardcover)
Every one of the 12 cookbooks Arto der Haroutunian wrote became a classic; his thoughtful, erudite writing helped to explain to westerners the subtlety, complexity and diversity of Middle Eastern and North African cooking.
In Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East he collected together a treasury of recipes. The cooking of vegetables is treated with reverence in the in the lands that make up the rich and varied tapestry of the Middle East. The people depend on the grains and pulses, nuts, vegetables and fruits of the region for their daily food. Here are warm and spicy stuffed vegetables, cool and fragrant soups, delicate preserves, pilafs, breads, pickles, relishes and pastries.
Arto der Haroutunian was born in Aleppo, Syria in 1940 and grew up in the Levant, but came to England with his parents as a child and remained here for most of his life. He studied architecture at Manchester University and established a career designing restaurants, clubs and hotels. In 1970, in partnership with his brother, he opened the first Armenian restaurant in Manchester which eventually became a successful chain of six restaurants and two hotels. Given his passion for cooking it was a natural progression that he should then begin to write cookery books as they combined his love of food with his great interest in the history and culture of the region. It was his belief that the rich culinary tradition of the Middle East is the main source of many of our Western cuisines and his books were intended as an introduction to that tradition. All the many cookbooks written by Der Haroutunian have now been out of print for many years and second hand copies fetch hundreds of pounds.
Until the back list went back into publication....Yippeee..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East
Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East by Arto Der Haroutunian (Hardcover - 5 Jun 2008)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews