Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gem which refutes the myth of bland English cooking., 9 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
This overlooked gem from Elizabeth David illustrates how English cooking has drawn on a rich and diverse heritage from early times through to its colonial hey-day. It demonstrates how English cooks were innovative and flexible in adapting their style to the wealth of other influences. In particular it refutes the idea that English cooking is bland and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Old Friend, 26 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
I bought this book the minute it was released in paperback, and I have referred to it time and time again. It is more history and reference than recipes, but the recipes are good, and I have made a number of them. Once made, they tend to get repeated! As a reference book, it is great help in muti-ethnic eating and food shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spices, 9 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
I first read this short book 10 years ago. I still have the copy I purchased then, and use it regularly. You find out where the spices come from and what to do with them. You are also given clear instruction on the cooking of rice. The receipt for Pilau rice is to die for. Cinnamon Ice Cream, though it sounds odd does very well as dessert for an Indian style meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She taught me how to cook, 13 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
If I was asked, what cookery book would you take on a desert island? -- it would be this one! My paperback copy, now a good 30 years old, is yellow and falling to pieces, but I wouldn't part with it. Every recipe is a revelation, not just good cooking, but cooking to die for! I really must get one of these hardbacks, before someone throws my old and tatty copy in the bin! You'll never watch another tv cook programme, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the Kitchen, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
William S. Bailey "wsbbailey" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
I do not always like Elizabeth David's writings, a little too personal, but there is no doubt that she had a great amount of experience in continental cooking, and had a great influence on cookery writing in this country. There is a great deal of information available in this book which is hard to find anywhere else - and I have just counted 70+ cookery books on a nearby shelf without getting up. Worth reading even if you do not intend to cook today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth David cookery books, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
My husband, the chef has been looking for her books for a while, finally I found them on amazon. He said Elizabeth's writing is factual and witty and thoroughly enjoyed the read. The books are vital knowledge for anyone who wishes to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
As always Elizabeth David, educates, entertains and informs. This volume is a perfect example of her well researched history of our favourite flavourings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spices, Salt and Aromatics - Elizabeth David, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
I'm an Elizabeth David fan, this book follows the others in that it is informative and leaves you wanting to try to cook in her style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen (Hardcover)
Another beauty from Elizabeth David. They are all so easy to read and gain knowledge from. Like a visit from a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 30 Nov. 2014
By 
Anthony Williams (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gets overlooked, but it is one of David's great contributions to the kitchen bookshelf, and a reminder that herbs and spices were in use here for centuries before she herself discovered the herb-scented hills of the Mediterranean. It's worth a proper read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen
Spices, Salt and Aromatics in the English Kitchen by Elizabeth David (Hardcover - 31 Oct. 2000)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews