Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 years with Elizabeth David
30 years ago, while I was still a student, I bought "Mediterranean Food" in a Penguin paperback edition. It became one of my basic cookbooks, and has been used frequently until the present. The paperback has become worn, with interesting food-stains here and there. The possibility of getting it in a hard-back edition, together with two other early classics, was therefore...
Published on 14 Feb 2009 by Tore Braend

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth David Classics
I bought this book for my husband, as he is a keen cook. A friend who had just used it to cook a partridge recipe recommended it. It is full of classic/French recipes and is suitable for people who love to cook such food but who can cope without colour or picture illustrations. This book is for people who like to browse and read cookery books; who are not afraid of...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Jenny R


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 years with Elizabeth David, 14 Feb 2009
By 
Tore Braend (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
30 years ago, while I was still a student, I bought "Mediterranean Food" in a Penguin paperback edition. It became one of my basic cookbooks, and has been used frequently until the present. The paperback has become worn, with interesting food-stains here and there. The possibility of getting it in a hard-back edition, together with two other early classics, was therefore irresistible. The other two books incorporated in this edition have been equally inspiring. Sometimes, I read it for inspiration and not because I am planning a meal. But at other times I start with one or two ingredients. Quite often, I find a dish in David's book, which I then try out. David put great emphasis on using seasonal ingredients. Making use of the season's vegetables is no longer necessary from an economic or practical point of view. But from an environmental view it still makes sense, if it means that you can buy local produce that has not been transported across half the globe. And it is also an interesting challenge for a hobby-cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the tv chefs secret weapon, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
elizabeth david comes from another era. In the post war period food was for eating, there was no celebrity cooking, however the drought of rationing had been lifted,and she helped those who were interested discover fabulous ingredients from the meditteranean. This book along with An omlette and a glass of Wine will give anyone who wants to cook competently and honestly, a great grounding in good food, fairly easy techniques, the use of fresh ingredients and spectacular results,with amusing anecdotes to accompany the receipes, I wouldn't be without her in my kitchen, and having used everyone from Micheal Smith and The Galloping gourmet to jamie oliver, gorden ramsey and paul rankin, I still find myself cooking with elizabeth at least once a week. This is a wonderful version of her work I thoroughly recommend it and please remember you have to eat everyday to be healthy, so you might as well do it well and have some fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cookbook I own., 28 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
I first owned Elizabeth David's volume of three books thirty years ago. It went missing ages ago - it is such a good book I am not surprised it mysteriously disappeared. Happily, I now own the book again and I am reacquainting myself with the recipes of the dishes I used to cook.

The book is more or less just as I remember it. Happily the publishers left it in the original, very readable format.

The recipes use fresh ingredients, no long lists of them either, and are mostly simple to prepare. At the front of each chapter are amusing and interesting observations combined with a practical introduction to the dishes.

This is a book that when I dip into it I am still enjoying an hour later, until hunger reminds me what I actually picked it up for. It is a book that I return to time and time again for inspiration, to cook from and just to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 3 Jan 2009
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
this is the best cookery book i have ever read, having been brought up on ready meals and fish and chips cooking was not something i excelled at. this book has turned me into a good home cook. one person even said that i had "a real skill in the kitchen". it is in fact not my ability but that of Elizabeth David. oh and my french friend who gave this book to me as a gift.Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth David Classics, 9 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband, as he is a keen cook. A friend who had just used it to cook a partridge recipe recommended it. It is full of classic/French recipes and is suitable for people who love to cook such food but who can cope without colour or picture illustrations. This book is for people who like to browse and read cookery books; who are not afraid of unusual terms and ingredients and enjoy the sections of advice such as "..Devote all the time and resources at your disposal to the building up of a fine kitchen. It will be, as it should be, the most comforting and comfortable room in the house". Using this recipe book should add to the enhancement of any kitchen, or rather, what comes out of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic every serious cook should have., 12 Dec 2001
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
I am very fortunate to own one or two original books by this most famous of cooks.
Elizbeth David was the Delia of her day, and her recipes reflect an in-depth knowledge of food.
As a historian, she writes from her own research.
Elizabeth David's Classics first appeared in 1950 when almost every essential ingredient of good cooking was either rationed or unobtainable; to cook the simplest of meals required devotion and ingenuity.
Revised only a few years later, after rationing, and on the brink of a new renaissance of cookery in Britain, Elizabeth David's book of Mediterranean Food, French Country Cooking, and Summer Cooking was a best seller.
Ingredients such as Calamata olives, Tahina paste, Olive oil, stuffed vine leaves, and other Mediterranean delicacies made their way into the Delicatessens of Soho and Tottenham Court Road, much as Chorizo Sausage was in every branch of Sainsbury's after Delia Smith introduced it in her now famous "Basque Chicken" recipe.
Written a half centaury ago, this book was ahead of its time, we have only now begun to discover the exotic flavours of oil, saffron, olives, garlic, wild marjoram and basil, pungent pimentos, aubergines, figs and limes.
Top Chefs use Elizabeth David's work as their bible, their inspiration, and their teacher, she was unique among woman, and her work will live on in history.
In 1976 Elizabeth David was awarded the O.B.E. in 1977 she was made a chevalier of the French Ordre du Merite Agricole and in 1979 an honorary doctor of the University of Essex. In 1986 she was awarded a C.B.E.
Elizabeth died in 1992.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good cookery writing, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
well written Elisabeth David, even if tastes and availability of ingredients somewhat dated
much better than modern TV cooks - lady can cook and write
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cookery book, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
Wonderful book. Emotive and fantastic recipes. It reads like a travel book as well as cookery book. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, very good price!, 27 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
Brilliant to read as a book without even cooking the recipes, makes me want to try her other books. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a classic, 10 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking" (Hardcover)
Purchased this triple set for a friend, having used these books as a bible for the past 40 years. They are classical and also can be read like a novel!. ED has so many good classic receipes, all decent kitchen bookshelves should have a copy of at least one of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elizabeth David Classics: "Mediterranean Food", "French Country Cooking" and "Summer Cooking"
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews