Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly FAB!
If you look at my other review (for the target maths year 3) you'll see that many of the downsides have been corrected (compared with the previous version).

However, my only major downside that I feel is left, is that there is still the word year emblazoned on the front - which it makes it much harder to drop down/up a book for differenitation beyond the level...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Peri

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of errors!
Very disappointed! Full of errors whuch made marking taken even longer! I don't expect to pay an additional £5 - after the initial cost of the text book - for to be inaccurate. Personally, I'd recommend that you calculate the answers yourself as it's quicker!
Published 13 months ago by Ms. Natalie Marie Carson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly FAB!, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Peri (Region 2 area) - See all my reviews
If you look at my other review (for the target maths year 3) you'll see that many of the downsides have been corrected (compared with the previous version).

However, my only major downside that I feel is left, is that there is still the word year emblazoned on the front - which it makes it much harder to drop down/up a book for differenitation beyond the level offered by the book. I have children working between L1-2 and level 5, so although my top end are mostly covered, my bottom end are sadly stuck by the levels being too hard for them.
On the other hand, working last term with a G+T (very able) child, the year 2 equiv would have still been too easy for him!
This is a problem as it doesn't photocopy clearly (which is a problem when you want to give a group a copy they can write on...
Some of the pages sadly don't give examples of the answers e.g. when asked to decode clocks and write it in a) words, b) 12 hour and c) 24 hour. some of the children were able to be confused by the layout as there was no example of how to answer it.

NB
The answer books are simple answers only. They have no additional detail. They are black and white and do not include a copy of the page for reference. Which makes it harder to translate what the children have done at times.
NNB
If you want to buy in bulk using your school/maths/class budget - contact elmwood publishing for a 15% (if buying 30 books) discount - sadly not something amazon are geared up for yet. I know - I looked.
NNNB
I would 5 star it and tell EVERYONE they MUST have it, if they sorted out the from to the word 'stage' or 'book' or just simply the 'number'. But the more people that contact the publishers and tell them this, the more likely they are to change it.

Sadly there is no such thing as a 'standard' class anymore.
However this set/series of book does try to change that.
Oh and the target maths 5 does have some of the bits in here, and some showing revision and some the same, some also are very different (easier for the children to follow), some bits are new. As I looked to see what matched D1
Anyway, only with the letts numeracy books (good for ma1 +2, and although older are still good) this IS in my essential box. Any questions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for new framework, 27 Nov. 2008
Maths on Target is a complete revision of 'Target Maths'. It contains a whole year's work following the objectives in the new Primary Framework for Maths. Each page has the relevant objective at the top and then three banks of questions - A, B and C - which are differentiated (Set A to support the less able, set B for the 'average' and set C to challenge the higher achievers). It is a simple 'no frills' layout, written very clearly. I would recommend it to all Y3 teachers, especially good for mixed ability maths teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths on target Year 5, 6 Jan. 2009
An excellent text book for children. Have used Target Maths in school and now this is even better as it makes the new framework simplicity itself.Plus all the work is differentiated, a gift for teachers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book! Highly recommended., 30 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maths on Target (Yr 5) - this is a truly excellent resource for homework, class consolidation and assessment. The book is extremely well set out following the term-by-term, block-by-block layout of the Primary Framework for Mathematics. Every objective is covered across a full academic year with clear illustrative examples provided as well as differentiated activities for LA, MA and HA groups. Each unit is supported by learning intentions expressed as 'I can' statements. I am really pleased with this purchase - it couldn't be any easier to follow and will save me heaps of preparation time. A big thank you to the author and publisher for producing something that is a real asset to teaching practice. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need Answers?, 31 Mar. 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Maths on Target: Year 6 (Paperback)
'ANSWER BOOK YEAR 6' is not included in 'TARGET MATHS YEAR 6', but can be purchased as ISBN 1902214285.

'ANSWER BOOK YEAR 5' is not included in 'TARGET MATHS YEAR 5', but can be purchased as ISBN 1902214277.

'ANSWER BOOK YEAR 4' is not included in 'TARGET MATHS YEAR 4', but can be purchased as ISBN 1902214269.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maths, 7 Aug. 2011
Great book recommended by our teacher. You can pick little bits and do different pages. It is good for doing maths in different ways and uses number work and senarios. They don't get bored of doing the same thing as the mix on each page means it is not monotonous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Differentiated Dream, 27 Oct. 2010
We are in Special Measures and our HMI rottweiler inspecter wants DIFFERENTIATION, and in this book every section has the same intro, then exercises at 3 levels. Brilliant. As a year 4 teacher, I realise maths should be as practical and hands on as possible, but this book is a great spring board into creating activities, as well as quick differentiated starters and plenaries, if you just used a handful of questions at the 3 levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths on Target yr 4, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
V. Beaumont "Mrs B" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is SUPERB!! It replaces the earlier version of Target Maths. I bought both books because I didn't know this. Target Maths has clear information on every topic but it is not set out in ABCDE blocks. Maths on Target is clearly set out in ABCDE1,2 and 3. It is brilliant. It is clearly differentiated in A, B & C groups and these are very suitable. I teach a higher level group of children and find the B and C sections are great. In fact the C section is good, because I find it a little more challenging than some other books. I wish I had bought this book before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Labour saving tasks, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Jude (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well laid out with unit and term ordered tasks to meet each of the learning objectives. There are also assessment tasks for each of the units. The work is set at three different levels with good working examples to model to the class. My only gripe is having to pay so much for the answer booklet (12.99) as there are no answers in this book.
That said it is only Year 3 so quite manageable but that may not be the case as you progress to the higher year group books. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is clear and shows all the answers in a good format but just a shame that the text is so small and that it doesn't show you the questions just that answers. However I can see how this will save a lot of time, although it's annoying that it has to be bought separate from the Maths on Target book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maths on Target: Year 6
Maths on Target: Year 6 by Stephen Pearce (Paperback - 10 Jun. 2008)
£7.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews