Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Chris Gibson
So, I received a review copy of Battle Flight a few weeks ago and have been reading it. Just finished today. An excellent book. So...

First impressions - very nice production. Good work.

Its been done as a companion volume to Chris's earlier work, Vulcan's Hammer: V-Force Aircraft and Weapons Projects Since 1945 which is a must-have purchase. Nice...
Published 21 months ago by Overscan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but....
Early chapters are especially interesting but as the book goes on it seems to loose pace and there is what I thought to be a quick brush over of the air defence plans that lead to the infamous Tornado F-3 and a very simplistic dismissive of the F-15 & F-14's suitability for the requirement. A good book, but the latter chapters seemed almost rushed and lacked depth in my...
Published 8 months ago by J. Hayden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Chris Gibson, 6 Dec 2012
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
So, I received a review copy of Battle Flight a few weeks ago and have been reading it. Just finished today. An excellent book. So...

First impressions - very nice production. Good work.

Its been done as a companion volume to Chris's earlier work, Vulcan's Hammer: V-Force Aircraft and Weapons Projects Since 1945 which is a must-have purchase. Nice quality paper, great design, and high quality reproduction of artwork.

The book chapters are broadly thematic rather than chronological. This makes sense, because it covers an awful lot of different topics under the broad heading of Air Defence - AA, SAMs, radars, fighters, AWACS, tankers and more,

Chris has done an excellent job of unearthing new material for this book not previously covered in the British Secret Projects series. His focus is wider and emcompasses some truly wacky concepts as well as the saner ones, all put into context by the well-written text.

Positives? Pretty much everything. Well written, interesting text complimented by well-drawn artwork by Chris and Adrian Mann, whose work just gets better. Lots of projects I'd not seen before, and more interesting details on some familiar ones. Sections on radar technologies, etc, are well done, goving enough information for context without drowning you in technical detail.

I wholeheartedly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battle Flight, 8 April 2014
By 
D. C. Paintin "David" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
An excellent book documenting a wide range of defence projects put forward during the cold war period,most of which never got passed the drawing board. A good companion to the Cold War book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read for the enthusiast, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Celia A. Temple (Whitley Bay, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
this is a very well set out and full of facts a good read and a very good reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality book with great insight; not just a list of projects & figures..., 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
Excellent book written in surprisingly personable style with real insight into the military and political considerations that shaped and influenced UK's Cold War air defenses.
Stands alone but also excellent companion piece for the UK secret projects series and Vulcan's Hammer.
Some plane nuts may be put off by the breath of the subjects covered (radar, AAA, SAM's, ABM defenses etc) apart from the classic fighter/ interceptor aircraft (projected and/or proceeded with) also covered; I think it greatly adds to the book.
Strong recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality publication, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
Overall a very well produced book. Memorable for the stunning artwork speculating on sketch ideas and designs: anti-aircraft artillery firing at incoming Russian bombers, a Vulcan armed with Sea Darts on (presumably) a very long range operation.

One of those books that you can both read from cover to cover or by chapter or just pick it up and read a caption.
My only frustration is that with such superb images of things that never were, why not have tried to write just a little bit more about the imaginery event that is being portrayed?

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOR THOSE INTERESTED IN COLD WAR AVATION, 30 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
A very detailed look at our various air defence projects from 1945 through to 1991. For those interested in the subject it covers the various radar, missile, and aircraft projects (both those that came into being, and those that did not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
a fascinating history of emergent technologies, some overtaken by developments in other fields. A must for anyone with an interest in post-war UK military aviation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok but...., 10 Dec 2013
By 
J. Hayden (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
Early chapters are especially interesting but as the book goes on it seems to loose pace and there is what I thought to be a quick brush over of the air defence plans that lead to the infamous Tornado F-3 and a very simplistic dismissive of the F-15 & F-14's suitability for the requirement. A good book, but the latter chapters seemed almost rushed and lacked depth in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY interesting -highly recommended, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Dennis Michael Reiser Savage (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
Full of facts and projects that never got off the ground.
Bought as a reference for modelling - as a 'Cold War'child - I found it very interesting and not as dry as some references I have bought.
Highly recommended
Just imagine Vulcan Air battleships!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raf air defence., 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 (Hardcover)
I found this to be a realy compelling read from the point of a model maker, the pictures are to an excellent standard giving anyone who is into aircraft of that era an insight into what the aircraft on a day to day basis. Secondly because of my age I was not totaly aware of what defences we had and what was going on in that era, we all know about ww2 but this era is still cloaked in mystery and intrigue as its still going on now. Well worth reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945
Battle Flight: RAF Air Defence Projects and Weapons Since 1945 by Chris Gibson (Hardcover - 31 Oct 2012)
29.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews