Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book for improving tactical ability
At my level (around 1200-1300 elo) this is a little marvel! For starters the price is good and it's a quality hardback which is rare for chess books. Unlike the majority of chess manuals this is a doddle to read and doesn't require a photographic memory or multiple chess sets to work through!
The title is a little misleading though. This is basically 50 checkmating...
Published on 4 Jun 2003 by PianoNut

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, good content, shame about presentation on pages
The title was very appealing to myself and my junior school son who couldn't wait to figure out how to beat me having had successes against his school friends. Whilst I used to be a strong club player decades ago and hadn't played for over 20 years I found it very
easy to follow and soon picked up moves again. My son soon picked up on it and we learnt together but...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by Harvey S-P


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book for improving tactical ability, 4 Jun 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
At my level (around 1200-1300 elo) this is a little marvel! For starters the price is good and it's a quality hardback which is rare for chess books. Unlike the majority of chess manuals this is a doddle to read and doesn't require a photographic memory or multiple chess sets to work through!
The title is a little misleading though. This is basically 50 checkmating patterns, 1 per page. I would suggest reading and re-reading this book until those patterns are burned into your memory. You'll be suprised at how often the opportunity to use these checkmate motifs will appear in your games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the young and aspiring chess player, 2 Oct 2010
By 
A. Kirk (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
This book has proved its worth with so many children - it is pitched at the chess player who has mastered the basics (it is not a beginner's book) understands the need for strategy, but is a little lost in how to move that forward. This book gives them a number of scenarios / pictures they can learn and be confident in moving to checkmate. There are many opportunities for the light bulb to switch on - especially enjoyed is smothered mate - the idea of a checkmate with just a knight seems to give the child more respect for that piece and opens their eyes to the fact that checkmate is not all about throwing in lots of queens and rooks! Subtlety can work well - and most young chess players enjoy the feeling of deviousness in sneaking up with a knight and catching the king unawares... I have bought several copies as presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Richard Foley (Munich, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
An interesting presentation of various checkmates, using typical positions to explain the 'how to' without getting bogged down in too much detail. An excellent read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice title, good content, shame about presentation on pages, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Harvey S-P "." (Thames Valley, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
The title was very appealing to myself and my junior school son who couldn't wait to figure out how to beat me having had successes against his school friends. Whilst I used to be a strong club player decades ago and hadn't played for over 20 years I found it very
easy to follow and soon picked up moves again. My son soon picked up on it and we learnt together but he didn't find it that easy to
follow as there's just so much black and white and small print. SO the DS went away and a chess set beside the book is really needed
to get the best out of each section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visual Patterns and How People Think, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
Humans have an innate capacity to spot visual patterns, eg peoples' faces, trees and a clock face. Try covering up a traditional watch with your other hand, ask an adult to to look at the back of your hand and move it quickly away and back over the watch, giving him or her the merest glimpse of the watch, then ask the person what time it said. 9 out of 10 will get it right. The point is that this sort of mental activity is automatic, extremely quick and unthinking (see "Thinking, fast and slow" by D Kahneman for a very readable account of a lifetime of study in this field.). These instant reactions can also be wrong, but they can be practised and trained. Strong chess players spot patterns very quickly then get their thinking caps on and calculate whether their first impression is workable. "How to beat your Dad at chess" is one of few books to consciously harness this approach. It classifies mates by pattern and accompanies each with lively, readable text to confirm the "get your thinking cap on" part.

Don't be put off by the title, this excellent book is neither condescending nor patronising.

Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Popular, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
This has been really popular with my kids and keeps getting dipped back into. It was a last minute buy but I thought I would review as it really seems to have caught their imagination. Can't think why...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And not just dad's!, 17 April 2009
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
A really good basic introduction for anyone wanting to learn some basic mating strategies. Learn these and develop a wining streak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A waffle-free instructive handbook!, 20 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my son when he was aged 7. When we play, he now recognises the check-mating patterns having found them initially in this book!

I can recommend this book to any kid / adult starting out in chess ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to beat your dad at chess, 24 May 2013
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
Great book. I read it cover to cover before giving it to my son for his 7th birthday! The charts are very useful, he was able to understand them easily, even though he cant actually read all the words yet! It helps to try out the moves many times for practice purposes. Finally he beat me at a game of chess without me letting him win! I recommend this book for mathmatically minded kids who like following instructions & have patience. This suits my 7 yr old exactly! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for intermediate or advanced kids - not beginners, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) (Hardcover)
My son, who was 6 when I bought this book, loved it.

It is divided into nice digestible chunks, so the book can easily be dipped in and out of; each chunk can be read in 15 mins or so.

Its primary function is teaching pattern recognition and assumes the reader has a solid knowledge of the rules and understands board notation.

A nice book, which dads are likely to learn from at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess)
How to Beat Your Dad at Chess (Gambit chess) by Murray Chandler (Hardcover - 2 Jan 1998)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews