Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `How had this become her life? It wasn't even a life. She felt like a ghost.'
Abby Henshaw is on her way to visit a friend after a doctor's appointment with her eight-month-old baby daughter, Beth. The journey she makes will change her life forever. Suffering a horrendous assault and abandoned at the roadside in a remote spot in the country, Abby faces not only the after effects of the brutal attack, but also comes to a terrifying realisation about...
Published 18 months ago by L. H. Healy

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
Sensitively written story about every parent's worse nightmare. By the end I felt that the plot was too convoluted, and the coincidences too convenient to be credible, that it lost some of its power, but nevertheless the book is a good read and will certainly justify seeing more of Rebecca Muddiman's work.
Published 18 months ago by Castledene Raider


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `How had this become her life? It wasn't even a life. She felt like a ghost.', 25 Jun 2013
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
Abby Henshaw is on her way to visit a friend after a doctor's appointment with her eight-month-old baby daughter, Beth. The journey she makes will change her life forever. Suffering a horrendous assault and abandoned at the roadside in a remote spot in the country, Abby faces not only the after effects of the brutal attack, but also comes to a terrifying realisation about Beth - she is gone, stolen. DI Michael Gardner investigates the case and as he looks into Abby's life and those closest to her, he starts to uncover huge secrets amongst them, and he also finds himself forming a bond with Abby and unable to let the case go even when any leads seem to have gone cold.

Rebecca Muddiman successfully portrays how Abby's life is utterly destroyed by Beth's disappearance, and how she is tormented by the secrets she kept and the decisions she made. She is reduced to scouring public places in the vain hope of ever seeing Beth again, and when there is new hope she depicts the struggle Abby has to convince those around her to believe her and not let this lead slip away.

This powerful debut is a compelling, page-turner of a crime novel from a talented new author. The story slowly builds in tension, I was a bit keen for it move slightly quicker at times in the middle, but when the revelations come towards the end, I felt they were powerful and shocking. The chapters are very short and keep the story ticking along at a good pace. The plot is always central to this novel - the reader questions what the outcome will be throughout - but the novel is also very much character driven, as we get a strong insight into Abby's drastically altered life and into DI Gardner's rather empty life and his mindset as he continues to doggedly pursue this case for Abby, despite it having been shelved and seemingly without any hopes of resolution, whilst under pressure to solve his other cases.

I was really keen to discover the ending to this story and learn if what I had suspected was true; there are clues for us but the whole truth when it comes is more shocking than I had thought. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
Sensitively written story about every parent's worse nightmare. By the end I felt that the plot was too convoluted, and the coincidences too convenient to be credible, that it lost some of its power, but nevertheless the book is a good read and will certainly justify seeing more of Rebecca Muddiman's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good thriller, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
This story started well and then felt a bit laboured. The leap to 5 years later helped the structure and overall storyline. I found that I had ambivalent feelings towards the main character as I would go between empathy and irritation at some of her decision making but at least she seemed like a real life character with strengths and flaws.
Jackie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I've read better, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Paperback)
This book was okay, I guessed most of the outcome by a third of the way through except one final twist at the end. I read it in two days more so to find out if I was right. But I seem to be in a minority compared to the other reviews.
Room or before I go to sleep are far better books in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
Disappointingly predictable and a bit of a chore to finish. The writing is not bad; this just feels very much a first-time effort, hampered by a lack of detail and pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightmares of the worst kind, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
Rebecca Muddiman has created a world of credible characters finding themselves in intolerable circumstances. This is a fast-paced novel which grabs the readers for a helter-skelter ride of emotional responses. A few red herrings and finely-tuned revelations, make this a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the hype!, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad book but found it somewhat predictable. Started well but lost its way and only came into its own around the 70% mark. Got it for free so can't complain. Predictable ending. Even my pal Ped guessed the ending and he's only half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, 16 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
From the moment you start , it's just a page turner. You can't wait to know what happens. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mother's worst nightmare, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
This wasn't a true story, but it could have been. Well written & a story all women will enjoy. From beginning to the end it kept you in suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writer, couldn't put it down, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stolen (Kindle Edition)
Stolen is a brilliant book, gripping right to the end with lots of twists. This is every mothers worst nightmare. I read this book in two days and can't wait for her write another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stolen
Stolen by Rebecca Muddiman (Paperback - 19 April 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews