Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continued on p.94
Excellent book and cut above the usual cartoon anthology. For a start this is printed on a decent bit of paper because colour is used throughout the pages: for photos, cartoons and panels with several biogs of artists and a sampling of their work. Each decade gets a chapter with relevant jokes and also those regular strips that appeared over the years like Grocer Heath...
Published 13 months ago by Robin Benson

versus
1 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Private Eye Cartoons
I have bought this is as a present so can't comment on the content but I am sure it will be well received
Published 14 months ago by kid1


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
The book was bought as a Christmas present for an avid Private Eye reader and he loved it hope they do something as good next year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Mar 2014
By 
N. Kemp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
A marvellous collection of Eye cartoons and mini biographies of the cartoonists reponsible. Brought back quite a few memories and also highlights how little things have changed over 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cartoons, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
Private Eye cartoons are the best and illuminating. An excellent and very funny history of the last 50 years. Everyone should have a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Private Eye A Cartoon History, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
Given as Christmas present and Birthday present as requested and well appreciated by the men who I gave them to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good laugh!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
I've kept all my Private Eyes since I started reading them in the 80s, but as I have no plan to get them all out anytime soon this book is perfect. I laughed all the way through. Classic names of British cartoonery throughout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cartoons as satirical tools., 1 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. J. Hodson (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
A fine and funny visual time line of fifty years of satire in cartoon form. Especially relating to our Political Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FIRST CLASS, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Dp Holliday (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
Although I've been a subscriber to Private Eye for a lot of years it was refreshing to go back in time and realise just how good their cartoonists were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant a must have for any Private Eye fan, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
Bought for me by my wife as a Christmas present I thoroughly enjoyed this book, Cartoons from Private Eye's 50 years certainly both entertained and brought back memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and comprehensive book, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband for a Christmas stocking filler.
He absolutely loved it, which I knew he would anyway because he is an avid fan of private eye magazine.
I consider it a bargain at the price, as it keeps him happy on a daily basis ( he reads a little each day).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye a Cartoon History (Hardcover)
A simply fantastic collection of brilliant cartoons and history from Private Eye. A must buy for fans. My hubby has been chortling ever since he got it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private Eye a Cartoon History
Private Eye a Cartoon History by Nick Newman (Hardcover - 23 Sep 2013)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews