Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, eclectic, honest and funny
This could have been a rather pompous, fairly dull, chronological record of the life and times of Private Eye. It isn't. It is a warts and all A-Z of all the major happenings in the life of the Mag over its fifty years. I've read the magazine for the best part of 30 years now - admittedly intermittently during the 1990's - but as a subscriber for a number of years. This...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by NorfolkBooks

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear
Having read the Eye for years, I was dissapointed in the dis-jointed way it reads, some mistakes, and overall I wouldn't buy it for myself, my copy was bought for a relative. Will be interested to find out his comments once he's read it.
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by JT


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars PRIVATE EYE THE FIRST 50 YEARS, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. N. C. Bacon (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
A comprehensive historical account of the development of this wonderful satirical journal. Many pithy pieces from earlier writers and mischievous cartoonists, some sadly missed. Insightful and great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If You Want to Tell It Like It Is, Better Make It A Joke, 21 Dec 2011
By 
K. Petersen "Ken" (Hemsby,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
Private Eye is a wonderful publication that so often proves the old adage, "You just couldn't make it up". The true bits are so often more ridiculous than the jokes. This book is, in equal part, a history of the Eye and a review of the more famous (infamous?) stories that have appeared over 50 years.

There is, perhaps, nothing more delightful than a group of public school boys (and yes, they are almost exclusively boys) who reject the elitism that is expected of there breed. Ingrams and Hislop have, for 50 years pricked the bubble of assured arrogance that surrounds so many of these "chaps". I have always admired the way that, hidden amongst the jokes is some of the most cutting edge reportage available to the reader. Eye regularly exposes scandals to which the hard nosed reporters of the press have turned a blind eye, for fear of upsetting an advertiser.

This book does explain the nascent germ of many of the characters found in the Eye over the years and has a descent biography of all the main players: above all, it retains the anarchic humour for which the magazine is rightly famed. If you claim an interest in humour, or politics, and you have not purchased this book, then your claim is erroneous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Private Eye: the First 50 Years, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
Comprehensive and informative. Well structured. But it's too large for easy reading: best wait for the paper back (if they are to produce one).Ironic to compare its bold clear format with its source material - mean printing on mean paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy!, 12 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a present for a fifty year old. After good reviews in papers and magazines, it looked an ideal choice and so it proved to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
does what it says and is a good piece of kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
purchased for a gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Private Eye the first 50 years an A-Z, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
Bought this for my Hubby who is a big Private Eye fan. Was well received. I am sure this will keep him quiet for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
Having read the Eye for years, I was dissapointed in the dis-jointed way it reads, some mistakes, and overall I wouldn't buy it for myself, my copy was bought for a relative. Will be interested to find out his comments once he's read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Private Eye The First 50 Years, 1 Feb 2012
By 
C. A. Rayfield "The Jube" (Gravenhunger Moss) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
I've been reading the eye for years and am a fan. This book might be OK for someone who hasn't read the eye and doesn't mind paying 3 times the true price, but I have to say that this is a fairly cheapskate, money-making re-hash. and a bit of a dodgy deal. Supply was outsourced from P Eye and there was no cover price in place. A deliberate under supply has lead to readers being ripped off because the few suppliers increased the prices hugely. An artificial price and contents of re-runs mean that, as a book and even for fans, it's rather a rip off. I've contributed to the Eye's appeals in the past and I'd rather give money to them voluntarily than have them try to screw it out of me. What a disappointment! Wait for the el cheapo spin offs: The World of Rotten Boroughs from P Eye, Scandals of the 1960's (and 70's, and 80's, cont.p94), Funny Old World Through The Decades, The Best Of P Eye Cartoons, P Eye and The City, P Eye and The Royals 1960-2010, and so on and so on. And if it's all done at max prices then so much the better. They've been covering dodgy gravy trains for years so perhaps they thought they should get on one. Poor, "piss poor" as the Eye might say. The First Fifty Years? (surely the Last Fifty Years? ed.) P Eye is the new Punch but it got to the final decline in less than a third of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z (Hardcover)
i bought this book expecting it to be the best of the last 50 years. What a disappointment. There is very little of real interest. Lots of turgid detail about the editorial staff which should be consigned to page 94 - or cut as most of the boring letters to PI are. I wanted to see the best of the rev blair, dear bill, and so on; the cream of the funny articles; the best cartoons, etc etc not this tiresome drivel. In addition the quality of the items reproduced is very poor indeed. I have given it away. V sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z
Private Eye the First 50 Years: An A-Z by Adam Macqueen (Hardcover - 12 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: £31.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews