Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 23 Dec 2010
By 
Andrew Finch "alwaysnow" (Daegu, Buk-ku Korea, Republic of) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
Having been away from the UK for some time and only hearing the news as filtered through 'world' news media, its wonderful to see it all through the Private Eye lens, parodying, satirizing, pastiching, and implicitly ridiculing. This is a great way to look at the UK news without crying. Private Eye brings all aspects of UK news (and some world news) under the microscope, re-presenting it from different perspectives and highlighting the absurdities of so much of the content and the media through which the content is offered.

This is not simple slapstick or partisan humour, but intelligent, biting satire, which gets to the core of the issues. I didn't know about the Private Eye Annual before this year, but I'm really happy that I've found it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 5 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
I suspect that if I were a reader of Private Eye, I would have seen much of this (or very similar) before. As it is not the case, I found this witty and enjoyable. Possibly not the best value for money, but then that's not really the point of annuals. Very funny with cutting humuour, perhaps a bit "samey" as you turn the pages. One to dip into rather than read through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
Another best of - but the stuff is worth rereading if you are a PE subscriber, and always a good laugh even if you are not. The cartoons as ever on form and the rest is a satirical look back at a year worth forgetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
Excellent book, really enjoyed reading it. Best bit was that I didn't have to wait long for it, arrived via first class, superb delivery on time, book was clean, tight and in very good shape, almost new. The seller (BookSpecialists) did an excellent job. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as ever, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
A good annual to read and laugh all year round a good gift for someone to enjoy but is for adults only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - no Christmas should be without this., 12 Jan 2011
By 
G. J. Kirby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
An annual treat that never fails to amuse. The older contributions from when 'New Labour' was in still power but on the downwards slide are nostalgic. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Private Eye Annual, 8 Jan 2011
By 
M. E. Hammond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) (Hardcover)
As usual this is a very funny annual - but perhaps not quite the best we have enjoyed over the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals)
Private Eye Annual 2010 (Annuals) by Ian Hislop (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews