Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got us cycling!!
I bought this as a stocking filler for my husband last year and since have got two more for other mums. We wanted to start cycling as a family and this is great to show us what there is in an area we are visiting. Yes, you do then need to look at the web or an OS map to get the detail you need (especially if you have young children to feed and water en route) but it...
Published on 7 Dec 2011 by JR Parsons

versus
46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better as a concept than as the finished map
I was really interested in this and ordered it before seeing a copy in real life. I must admit I am disappointed as the ONLY roads marked on it are the suggested 'cycle suitable' routes. These are very few in comparision to the national network of normal roads and lanes. This is problematic as if you need to cut across country, go to an area or village not on a...
Published on 6 Jun 2010 by Jaysview


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better as a concept than as the finished map, 6 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
I was really interested in this and ordered it before seeing a copy in real life. I must admit I am disappointed as the ONLY roads marked on it are the suggested 'cycle suitable' routes. These are very few in comparision to the national network of normal roads and lanes. This is problematic as if you need to cut across country, go to an area or village not on a 'designated route' or if you need to change or connect routes from one recommended route to another. Any of these issues makes this map pretty useless, as no alternative roads are marked in, none of the general road network or country lanes. This is a crippling impractical feature, about as much use as a car atlas would be if it showed only motorways and no other routes at all.

I tried using this map in conjunction with a standard Ordnance Survey map, but the scales are different and the lack of info makes it quite hard to match in the 'cycle routes' with the general road network on a 2nd map, plus of course, you now have 2 maps to handle.

On the whole, I think its a great idea, but could have been executed in a way more aligned with real life route issues, instead of somewhat idealised cycle routes that have such hugely limited destination and route options.

I hope they re-think some of this and do a 2nd edition with the national road network included, and a load of towns and villages being included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite useful, 6 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
I'd been waiting and wanting something like this for ages and it is useful for the first stages of planning a bike tour. It's nicely produced and the information is easily accessed. It's a double-sided map but the UK is so big that there are limits to the information that can be given, for example at least one major cycle-way that I know in my area isn't shown. But I have learned from this map of other cycle-ways elsewhere that I'll be trying out. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too little detail, 29 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
Basically this is a large scale map of the UK with nowhere near enough detail to plan a decent ride anywhere. You'd be better off buying the good mountain biking guide or one of Nick Cotton's books specific to the area you intend to visit. Kevin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not useful, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
I thought that this map was too high level and therefore of little use to me. I am looking for something which enables detailed cycle rides to be planned in unfamiliar places and this document did not enable that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere..., 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
...if you want to know where to cycle. The scale on this map is far too big to show any detail at all. In fact it is just about useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got us cycling!!, 7 Dec 2011
By 
JR Parsons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
I bought this as a stocking filler for my husband last year and since have got two more for other mums. We wanted to start cycling as a family and this is great to show us what there is in an area we are visiting. Yes, you do then need to look at the web or an OS map to get the detail you need (especially if you have young children to feed and water en route) but it certainly opened the way to some wonderful days with our kids, nephews and nieces this year out in the fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UK cycle route planner, 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
I found that the map had too much information on it for the size of the map making it very difficult to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cycle route planner, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
Very good mapping of cycle routes it has helped a lot as i am just beggining to explore new routes. Easy to take with you on road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Key document, 3 July 2009
By 
C. W. Beaton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes by Richard Peace. This map has become a key document in my stage-by-stage journey by bicycle round the coast of Britain. Charlie, Bristol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good map, 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. Godfrey Hardwick (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes (Map)
Very useful for planning a trip in conjunction with more detailed local maps. very speedy service from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate UK Cycle Route Planner - Map: 16, 500 Plus Miles of Signed Leisure Routes
Used & New from: 277.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews