Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycle in the Sunshine!
This really is the Ultimate cycling guide to southern France. Full of detailed colour route maps and colour photos, it is absolutely ideal for planning and riding a cycle route in the sunshine. The book has 160 pages packed with sensible information about routes, towns and places to visit, together with train access, gradings and website links. Planning a route or just...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by Mr. M. Carden

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for general ideas but a bit unreliable
I recently tried to link three of the long-distance routes in this book together to cycle from Bordeaux to Arles. The first section was great, but the book's assessment of the state of the surfaces was really unreliable! We were supposed to be going along the canal du midi, most of which the book designated 'good quality off-road path' - we got 30 miles outside of...
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Shona


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for general ideas but a bit unreliable, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
I recently tried to link three of the long-distance routes in this book together to cycle from Bordeaux to Arles. The first section was great, but the book's assessment of the state of the surfaces was really unreliable! We were supposed to be going along the canal du midi, most of which the book designated 'good quality off-road path' - we got 30 miles outside of toulouse and found the surface deteriorated vastly. For at least 20 miles the path was narrow, rutted, and covered in tree roots, tree stumps, and rocks. My bike is a hybrid and it was ok, althoguh I think for this to have been actively enjoyable you'd need a mountain bike, but my boyfriend has a proper road touring bike and the path was quite impassable for much of the way. We also wasted about an hour just past Sete trying to find a canal path on the Narbonne-Sete canal which was pretty much entirely overgrown and inpassable, and then went back onto that canal path at a later point, on the basis that the book said it was good quality, to find that it was covered in thick salty sea-mud. At this point we gave up on the book entirely and found alternative road routes with the michelin maps.
The book has some good ideas for general itineraries, but if you're on a road bike don't believe what it says about the canal paths being good quality!! And it is not really detailed enough to be your main planning tool on the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycle in the Sunshine!, 20 Mar 2008
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
This really is the Ultimate cycling guide to southern France. Full of detailed colour route maps and colour photos, it is absolutely ideal for planning and riding a cycle route in the sunshine. The book has 160 pages packed with sensible information about routes, towns and places to visit, together with train access, gradings and website links. Planning a route or just day-dreaming? Either way, this is the Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good on route planning, 23 Feb 2009
By 
M. Thompson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
This book is excellent for deciding on routes and on general advice such as how to book your bike on a train plus items to see in the area. The new feature of this book is that it majors on 'road tired' bikes and routes, with just the occasional nod to off-road details. Has no details on camp sites and very little on accommodation. Reads well and excites the taste buds for touring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Appetite whetter and starting point, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
This has given very good food for thought for a cycle tour of the Carmargue but I have felt that a lot of additional research has been needed to actually plan the route using this book. For a start there is no key to explain what the different route markings mean!! The description of the route is very general. Also, I had to eliminate other tours in the book since once I started planning using the internet, it seemed from others' comments that parts of the route were potentially unrealistic for anything less than a mountain bike. It compares much less favourably to the detailed northern France book which I have also bought which I think could be used to map out and navigate a holiday along the route and which comes with maps and a key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
very informative, good route description, inspirational for future tours . However we have already undertaken one cycling holiday because of the book which was cyclng across france on the canals Lateral and Midi. We started at Bordeaux then picked up Canal lateral and followed that onto Canal Mid all the way to Narbonne then to Montpelier to fly home 403 mile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Southern France, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
I bought the book while planning a trip to france for the summer with a view to cycling the Midi, Garonne,Loire & Rhone.
I found this book virtually useless.
To say the towpaths on the Midi are of good quality is a bad joke, rutted, tree roots, and cobbles,it makes me think the compiler hasnt done the route himself.
It is easier just to buy the maps when you get to france.
We also found the Dutch have excellent books covering all the routes, including the Rhone,that cannot be found in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Sep 2011
By 
F. Readhead (cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
A great book for the money and essential for those contemplating this cycle route - go for it. I ma now planning in an informed manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
I bought it as a Christmas gift as a companion volume for Cycling Northern France and i9t has been gratefully received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From the Med to Anglesey, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
This is a good book. We were planning a cycling trip from the Med back to Anglesey and this book was key to our decision making. He describes the routes well, noting interesting little places. The best thing is the use of Michelin mapping, which allows you to transcribe routes onto your own maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cycling reference book for the area, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean (Spiral-bound)
I borrowed this book from the library to see what it was like before I bought it...it's simply the best guide to cycling in Southern France I've seen for a while. I'm sure it will be supplemented by local maps when we get there but I'm very pleased with my purchase. The maps are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean
Cycling Southern France - Loire to Mediterranean by Richard Peace (Spiral-bound - 1 Mar 2008)
£12.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews