Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good planning guide
I left it a little late to get this book. It's major benefit, I think, is planning how to split the route up, where to stay and where to stop to take on more calories during the day. Because of transport there and back, we stayed at Keswick, Allenheads and Sunderland. When I got the book, my heart sank as the profiles showed the second day to be a monster and I may...
Published on 25 Jun 2011 by Humfree

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I did not use this at all.
I took this book and Sea to Sea Cycle Route Map : NCN C2C 4th edition to 2-day Workington-to-Sunderland trip. The route map was so good that I didn't use this guide book at all. You could find this book useful if you travel very slowly and looking around every village.
Published on 5 July 2012 by tm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good planning guide, 25 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
I left it a little late to get this book. It's major benefit, I think, is planning how to split the route up, where to stay and where to stop to take on more calories during the day. Because of transport there and back, we stayed at Keswick, Allenheads and Sunderland. When I got the book, my heart sank as the profiles showed the second day to be a monster and I may have re-planned had I had the book in advance (though it actually worked out OK). Though there are telephone numbers in the book, if you have O2, you'll find in the heart of the ride, you won't have any signal. Vodaphone seemed OK. I used it on-route to get an idea where good places to have some lunch would be. The ring binder style and size made it easy to carry & I would recommend it. Just get it earlier than I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars okay, 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
Just finished the C2C and this guide was the best. Much better than the 'official' one which is a complete waste of time. BUT... you will still need to plan your routes carefully as there just isn't enough detail here. And ignore the elevation details...it's worse...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C2C GUIDE, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
I'm in full agreement with the vast majority of reviews I've read for this handy-sized book...I like it very much.
Full of useful information, divided into sensible chunks or sections,it is a thoughtful and thoroughly useful guide to help cyclists (and others) safely negotiate their way across a sometimes bleak but always lovely part of northern England.
The sections all contain similar headings - Route Info, Route Notes + a transect,photographs & maps, plus useful notes (obviously written by someone who knows what he's talking about), recommended places to stay (hotels to campsites), plus visitor attractions, bike shops & visitor information.
Advertising has been kept to a minimum and scarcely intrudes.This is an affordable, colourful, attractive and well written guide...I'm looking forward to putting it to use next month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little Gem!, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike, has been one of my better decisions, right from the turn of its very first page you get an immediate sense that the writer is a keen cyclist, written from a cyclist point of view, this simple and intuitive little gem of a book is crammed full of tips, hints and advice that would erase any burdens that anyone would have about embarking on their first coast to coast ride. A real must for anyone taking on this great challenge. Highly recommended, but buying the book is the easiest part, using it, is a lot more fun, take it on this year! Hope to see you on the trail, and all the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for C2C, 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
Excellent for en route information, route profiles and preparation for the C2C ride. Ideally this would be used as a supplement to the Sustrans C2C map. You realise how useful it is when you have to do without it when left in an excellent cafe recommended by the guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for the C2C, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
Needed a guide book for the C2C bike ride and this little book is full of great helpful information. Certainly worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coast to coast, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
A marvellous little reference book for our group of cyclists to plan our coast to coast. Very informative, so very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with very useful info and guides., 29 Jan 2013
By 
Mike P. "mick-the-lad" (Billingham, Cleveland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
this book is packed with everything you need for the C2C Challenge including where to stay and the nearest cycle shops in case of an emergency. I would highly recommend this Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
I bought this great little book before doing the C2c and found it very informative both in preperation for, and on the trip. So if you are intending to do the C2C (and I highly recommend) you should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable resource for C2C, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network) (Paperback)
This was invaluable when my son and I cycled the Coast to Coast this summer. Small and compact, it continues all kinds of useful info as well as route instructions and diagrams. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate C2C Guide: Sea to Sea by Bike (Sustrans National Cycle Network)
Used & New from: £7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews