Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Is Like Oxygen, 13 May 2010
By 
G. Reed "gazzathegaz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blockbuster! (Paperback)
After waiting for near 40 years for a biography of the Sweet, two come along in close succession. However, after the disaster of a book that was 'The Man Who Sang Blockbuster' (which dealt mostly with the life of Sweet's lead singer, Brian Connolly), comes 'Block Buster!'
Having read some of Dave Thomson's earlier books, I wasn't optimistic about getting a great read, but I was pleasantly suprised to find that the book was hard to put down. It's quite a dry read, but not bad for that, and is packed with well reseached quotes from interviews with the band conducted by the author, and from elsewhere. It's also packed with statistics and detail, with a good number of photos of the band, and of the picture sleeves for the band's vinyl singles. I'd never seen many of them.
There's a comprehensive list of the band's product from around the world, a gig guide, and an acknowledgement of sources, which suggests that a fair bit of research had been done, which wasn't the feeling I got from the earler book 'The Man Who sang...'
I still feel there's a bigger book to be written on the band, especially the members of the band, both before, during and after their heyday, but this one will suffice for now. It presents the group's recording years in a seemingly even handed way, and is very enjoyable.
A minor niggle with the book is that, while it was good to see illustrations, sleeves and photos, the reproduction of them isn't always as sharp as it could be. But, this shouldn't diminish any enjoyment of a long awaited biography of one of the great 70's bands. It's made me look forward to Dave's next book on the Glam rock years, due late 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written but some gaps, 20 Jan 2011
By 
R. Slee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blockbuster! (Paperback)
This is the best and most detailed book about Sweet - but you can count the other books on the fingers of one hand. Sweet are perhaps the most under-rated British rock band of the 70s, and this books does a good job of explaining why. Dave Thompson exposes the fragilities and the flaws in the characters of the four members - basically they weren't too bright and they were very arrogant. Between 1975 and 1980 they were my heroes - and this book reminds you that you should never meet your heroes. The detail of the early separate careers of the band members is extensive, as is the origins of the band's relationship with Chinn and Chapman. Likewise the glory year are well documented - Top of the Pops, the tours and success in europe. In fact the first 200 pages are packed with detail, quotes and opinion (did Mick Tucker really believe that the Sweet Fanny Adams LP was ruined by bad production and that Desolation Boulevard was spoilt by a bad mix? Also it's facinating to read how Sweet so quickly cast off the Give Us a Wink sound).

However, from 1976 onwards the detail gets thin and there are many gaps - just 50 pages to cover 34 years - shame because 76-81 is where their story gets really interesting, and that's where most fans will have knowledge gaps. And what about the 80s/90s and 00s? Ok the releases were few and far between and the band(s) not so great but there is a story there - no mention at all about the 2002 Sweetlife album - by far the best Sweet release since their glory days!

Not for the casual reader - but great for fans of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Sweet Bio, 26 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blockbuster! (Paperback)
Whilst little of the information will be new to Sweet experts it is still a good read. Could have been a bit more indepth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was "into this band in the early 70,s even though i was only born in '67. This book tells of a pioneering band trying to make their way in the industry and all the pit falls that can entail. I learned a lot i didnt know about the band such as how pioneering they where and i found the information on other acts of the time very interesting too (i spent ages on Youtube looking up videos)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Best Sweet Biography Available, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blockbuster! (Paperback)
This book represents probably the most comprehensive and unbiased biography about Sweet that has been published to date.Steve Priest's book 'Are You Ready Steve?' is a book that is understandably much in demand by Sweet fans but, of course , sometimes an outside observer such as Thompson will perhaps produce a more balanced account concerning all four of the band members. There are more than 274 pages in total but one thing that I do miss, however, is an index.

I found the writing style of Dave Thompson to be engaging and of a good standard grammatically .Sweet fans will appreciate the many B/W photographs that appear throughout the book's pages ( most of which I hadn't seen previously ).As a fan I could hardly put this book down ! I was eager to find out all the information concerning the lives of Brian ,Andy ,Mick and Steve and also about the complex band politics that ensued throughout their roller-coaster career.I did end up learning many things that I hadn't known prior to reading this biography .

One place where Thompson lets himself down slightly is his section about the song 'Little Willy'.He makes much of propagating the idea that the song is full of innuendo but he unfortunately makes the mistake of basing this theory on a falsehood due to the fact that he got the actual words used in the song wrong initially ! This is a relatively minor fault when weighed against the remainder of this otherwise welcome addition to pop/rock music literature .

Being a particular fan of the late Brian Connolly , I feel that there is another interesting biography that needs to be written that has also been well researched .This book does ,however, deliver plenty for Sweet fans to get their teeth into .I am confident that the majority of Sweet's fans will greatly enjoy what this book has to offer ..." Buster Buster ,Blockbuster . Buster Buster , Blockbuster . Buster Buster ,Blockbuster.........."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live for today, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must for all sweet fans. I loved every page of this book and like the band's albums I was gutted when it ended. Great pics too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great value for money, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blockbuster! (Paperback)
I wanted this book and purchased an used item of very good condition. Seems to me, the price was under 7, while new ones cost over 70.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A band that should of or could of been a lot bigger but made too many mistakes along the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your a sweet fan this is a must. Could not put the book down. The story of the sweet is as great as their music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blockbuster!
Blockbuster! by Dave Thompson (Paperback - 19 April 2010)
Used & New from: 24.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews