Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Obsession - probably my Desert Island Discs book, 31 Dec 2012
By 
F Pearson "FP" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
As far as I am aware, this is the third incarnation of the book. The first edition I bought went as far as 1989, and the second edition 2002. I'm so glad it's been updated for the 50th anniversary. Each and every one of the Stones' 1,500+ studio and live recordings is listed, along with details (some copious, others brief) about when and where they were recorded, who was there, what they did and, where known, interesting asides and snippets of background information. There are lots of cross-references so you know where each track ended up (ie UK single, US single, album track, DVD, bootleg). Irritatingly for Martin Elliott, it must have gone to press about a nanosecond before they decided to record the two new tracks for Grrr. I have to admit I'm less interested in the live stuff than the studio stuff, but I love the fact that someone out there is even more obsessed than I am about the Stones' output and has chronicled it so lovingly. You can dip into it almost anywhere and immediately get drawn into a particular era of their history. I can't wait for the 2022 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
All that a stones fan want can find here. 100% stones recording including non official albums tracks. I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More to the point then most bios., 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
This is a book on facts. No criticism and no personal trips - just the recordings. And more then 1500 of them! Mixed in good proportions with recording and touring info, this book details all recorded input of The Stones (and many bootlegs as well). Indispensable for record collectors, very useful for an average fan. For now, this is The Rolling Stones's Recordings Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The music is the engine of the Stones, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
The thing about the Stones is that it is always about the music, the quality of the songs, the sounds and the playing. The fact that you never tire of listening to their recordings is testament to this. So this book is arguably the most important one about the Stones unless of course the Glimmer Twins get together and do their own version.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest R & R band in world..ever!..Riff On!, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
What a record..what a career..meticulous detail...no wonder Keef's been awake for three life times!.Let's see what happens in next 50 years!Well presented....for ardent fan and quiz maniac...not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present to someone else, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
The donee, to whom this was sent directly & who chose it himself, is very pleased with it & said it provided more than he'd expected. It was a replacement for an earlier edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Compilationj, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
This compilation of the Stones records is the best that I have seen and it chronicles every record that the Stones have recorded and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top!, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
I needed this. I had a former edition made by an iyalian, but this is absolutely top class. I have been a fan for 50 years and still is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 (Paperback)
Great item fast shipping! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012
The Rolling Stones Complete Recording Sessions 1962-2012 by Martin Elliott (Paperback - 9 Aug 2012)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews