Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Band Directory, not a Guide to the Underground Scene
I think the sub-title is a little misleading "the international guide to the last underground scene". Its not a guide to the underground scene at all, it is simply a Band Directory, and Mick Mercer says as much in his introduction.

The book has a comprehensive listing of bands from all over the world. You may notice omissions, but there always are in any piece...
Published 19 months ago by Soulstorm2112

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary
I'm sad to say that this book was a complete disapointment for me because i realy love Mick Mercer's books. This one has almost no photos and the ones included are very low quality. This is more a list/dictionary of the existing and no longer existing goth and alternative bands.
Has no utility for me.
I was expecting to see great portfolios with exclusive...
Published on 30 July 2010 by Ricardo Coelho


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dictionary, 30 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music to Die For (Paperback)
I'm sad to say that this book was a complete disapointment for me because i realy love Mick Mercer's books. This one has almost no photos and the ones included are very low quality. This is more a list/dictionary of the existing and no longer existing goth and alternative bands.
Has no utility for me.
I was expecting to see great portfolios with exclusive photos and band history, but this is not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Band Directory, not a Guide to the Underground Scene, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music to Die For (Paperback)
I think the sub-title is a little misleading "the international guide to the last underground scene". Its not a guide to the underground scene at all, it is simply a Band Directory, and Mick Mercer says as much in his introduction.

The book has a comprehensive listing of bands from all over the world. You may notice omissions, but there always are in any piece of work of this magnitude. The book is a little over 600 pages, not the 700 listed in the product spec.

The format of band listings is as follows:
Band Name
Music Genre
Geographical Location
Band Line-Up
Basic Discography
Internet Address
Some entries also have brief biographies or interesting comment.

I think the cover/sales description should make more of the inclusion of a basic discography for each band, its a valuable resource.

If the music rather than the "scene" is your passion then this is a great book to have in your possession. If you are looking for comment on the culture, the "scene" then this isn't what you are looking for. I love it. Its a valuable reference work and will provides hours of interest for a music collector such as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A world wide index of dark music, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Palfrey "~ SMP" (Winterton, N. Lincs U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music to Die For (Paperback)
Mr Mercer has been involved in the gothic music scene since it formed as an off-shoot of the post-punk scene in the UK and as it became a monsterous entity in its own right - so there probably is no better journalistic authority on the past and present goth scene than he.
In this book Mercer continues the format of his previous release '21st Century Goth' rather than 'Hex Files: The Goth Bible' or 'Gothic Rock: Everything You wanted to know but were to gormless to ask', keeping to the A-Z index format rather than delving into serious biographical detail.
In a sense of using it to look up rare interviews it will dissapoint, but for those with an obsessive lust for biographical and discography information on a range of bands that cover major gothic / industrial / metal acts to those who only have a myspace page and demo it is an invaluable resource. On top of that there are also resources for musicians listed as well.
On the whole it is a very usefull book for journalists, obsessive fans, and record collectors and one that I hope will be revised and expanded as the years go on to reflect the changing face of the international gothic music scene.

(Also see Mercer's previous books and the Rockdetector 'A-Z of' series)

~Sean M. Palfrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overly done, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Music to Die For (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to this book. I'm in the states, but I could only get the book on the UK site for reliability. The American third party sellers just ignored my emails. Anyway, I like the pictures of all the bands, but there should be more. I think there are way too many bands represented. I think it would have served better as a book if it had information about certain "extreme" bands and what they were trying to express about music, fashion and politics. Instead it is a huge list of bands that I don't have the time or interest to look up. Buy it for the pictures, but don't expect anything personal or revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History, 1 Nov 2010
This review is from: Music to Die For (Paperback)
Cool book to look back on, great piece of history.
Not to mention we're in the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music to Die For
Music to Die For by Mick Mercer (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
£17.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews