Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb tome! Nostalgia brought up to date.
I fully agree with the previous reviewers' comments. There is a plethora of books about the late 70's punk scene, in particular The Sex Pistols, and though this period maybe considered a more 'important' time, the early 80s brought a huge amount of diversification within the punk genre and, for me at least, was a more exciting period (though I guess being a little too...
Published on 28 Oct 2004 by Euromancometh

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but could have been better
While this does cover a lot of bands during the punk era and bands that otherwise may not ever be know but deserve to be so (Demob, Red Alert for example) a big let down is the questions are just too how shall I say this.... fluffy.

It is not just this book but almost every book I have read of its kind (our band could be your life is an other prime example of...
Published on 31 July 2008 by Gogol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb tome! Nostalgia brought up to date., 28 Oct 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 (Paperback)
I fully agree with the previous reviewers' comments. There is a plethora of books about the late 70's punk scene, in particular The Sex Pistols, and though this period maybe considered a more 'important' time, the early 80s brought a huge amount of diversification within the punk genre and, for me at least, was a more exciting period (though I guess being a little too young for the 70s may have something to do with it). In this book Ian Glasper does a superb job in covering what was probably the biggest punk offshoot: 'hardcore' (and we're not talking hardhouse/techno/whatever stuff here).

Covering about 100 bands by the region of the UK in which they emerged, each band is given a solid 3-8 pages including their history, essential discography, rare photos and funny stories to keep us all entertained. Too many to mention here but just to name some of the well-known outfits (not all ready mentioned) : Blitz, One Way System, Anti-Nowhere League, Abrasive Wheels, English Dogs, Peter & the Test Tube Babies, Chaos UK, Partisans, Outcasts; and some of the lesser known bands: the Destructors, Mayhem, Major Accident, Resistance 77, Violators, Demob, Red Alert etc. etc.

Though the author does say that other early 80s punk offshoots are not covered in this edition, he does include some that provide a kind of crossover: 4-Skins (Oi/skinhead); Disorder (anarchist); Angelic Upstarts (2nd wave?); UK Decay (goth); and the Newtown Neurotics (often referred to as soul-punk, though, bar the Redskins, I can't think of any other bands with this tag!).

There is also a chapter highlighting several leading record companies that are 'keeping the flag flying', their discographies, the Holidays in the Sun concerts, and other book releases.

It would be great to think that Ian Glasper plans a book for each of the early 80s punk offshoots. He mentions that the anarchists will be coming, but here's hoping for more 2nd wave (Ruts etc), Oi and even goth and grebo? Maybe there would not be a big enough market for this but I would like to think that not just 'those that were around at the time' are going to pick up this current title, but also anyone remotely interested in this hugely diverse music genre, and that includes fans of bands like Green Day whose lead singer has proclaimed that they are 'far more punk than the Sex Pistols ever were'. Loved the last video guys; how much did that cost?

I have been waiting for a book like this to come along for ages, so here's to you, Mr Glasper. And if you've managed to pick yourself up a copy then go and get the equally good DVD of the same name. Some real gems here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 (Paperback)
Anyone who regularly peruses Terrorizer will know that Ian Glasper loves his punk, and knows a lot more than the average punter aboot said genre. This publication finally gives him the freedom to give a definitive account of the UK 2nd wave.
Although some bands have a very similar story to tell ie. Inspired to form band by Pistols/ Ramones - form band that can hardly play - learn to play better - appear on Riot City/ No Future compilation - release proper lp - go through 100s of line up changes - split - reform to play HITS with at most 1 original member, each profile is still engaging and informative. Almost every major figure of the time makes a contribution (where's Wattie?) to help provide a clear picture of the scene in terms of who helped who, who hated who, who sold out, who went on too long, who split up too soon, who wasn't really much cop, who was more punk than anyone else and who didn't want to be more punk than anyone else as those being more punk than anyone else were actually just playing up to stereotypes of what being punk should be etc etc etc...
Many bands who may have been lost to the annals of history also get their due, for example I would never have discovered The Violators had I not been intrigued by their profile here, nor would I have sought out the No Future & Small Wonder singles collections.
This release will also be great news for the good folk at Anagram & Captain Oi!, seeing as 90% of the artists within have appeared on one or t`other label at some point!
A fine job all round - read, learn and enjoy. Hopefully the volume 2 on anarcho punk Ian alludes to in the intro will be equally as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but could have been better, 31 July 2008
By 
Gogol (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 (Paperback)
While this does cover a lot of bands during the punk era and bands that otherwise may not ever be know but deserve to be so (Demob, Red Alert for example) a big let down is the questions are just too how shall I say this.... fluffy.

It is not just this book but almost every book I have read of its kind (our band could be your life is an other prime example of this, I wont even bother with Blush's American Hardcore because its not worth the paper its printed on. Dance of Days being the only exception) The books are just too full of "When did you start?....what was your first gig?....How did it go?......Best/worst experience?" They just arent the kind of questions I want to hear. You have bands in here like the 4 Skins, I wanted to know more about the Southall Riots (one of the biggest inicents in modern British history) but there is almost nothing.

It is not even like its a "Looking back on old times" I remember a lot of these bands and after 20 odd years was realy expecting to read a little more detail than this. You would probably find a better interview if you dug up an old fanzine from back then off ebay or something.

Sorry there are just too many of these books going around these days and few of them have anything worth reading. If you do buy this you will probably get through it in half a day, a day at best.

One for a train ride somewhere but not much else. You want a more positive review? Try asking better questions to the bands you interview then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great archive, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found it to be a good historical document for a great period in punk uk,great to see such people able to tell part of the stories of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm in it!!!!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One for the officiandos, but having played in a Band that's in the book, it was interesting to see the detail about other Bands of "our" time.

(Some of the factd about us were a little incorrect!)

Still got some bands to read up on, but it's the kind of book you can dip in and out of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punk nostalgia for the mohican brigade., 16 Aug 2009
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 (Paperback)
This is a great book for all manner of reasons. For those of us who loved this period (there are more of us than care to admit to it - in public at least) this book is a reminder of when leather jackets, studs, chains and bondage pants ruled the streets. Much denigrated at the time, the third generation punk bands have an authenticity that the '77 mob lack. This is real aggression, frustration at Maggies Britain and a soundtrack to the dead cities all around. My personal faves at the time were The Fits and it was great to read of Blackpool's finest once again. My only gripe is the lack of reference to how these bands influenced their German cousins - as German punk was HUGE during this period. If you like books on punk then check out One Love Two Colours: The Unlikely Marriage of a Punk Rocker and His African Queen by Margaret Oshindele. This is a book that shows how a non-punk can marry one and put up with his strange taste in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic for those that were there., 16 Oct 2004
This review is from: Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 (Paperback)
With tens of books covering the punk period from 76-78 it was refreshing to find a book covering the years 80-84.This is the time that was considered the 3rd wave of punk(or the 2nd wave if you want to leave out Angelic upstarts,Ruts,Uk Subs and early Cockney Rejects),this was my time.The array of bands that shone like a beacon from 1980 and through this 4 year period were angry,agressive,loud and exciting and more often than not,ignored.This book changes all that,it not only covers the main runners like discharge,exploited,gbh and vice squad but also covers dead wretched,the fits,uproar,chaotic dischord etc,you know the bands.Great write ups on what they did then and what they're doing now,great unseen pics and there most important releases.sure,there are bands missed out but further books by Ian Glasper promises to cover the "crass" type bands
and hopefully,get a series of publications covering this exciting period in punk.If you've read this far then you gotta buy the book,go on punk,make my day.and if ians reading this i may have some photos you can use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much about time., 29 April 2008
By 
M. Boost "Boostie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 (Paperback)
The '77 thing has been done to death. And most histories of Punk finish with "new wave" just before at the end of the decade. So its pretty much about time the early eighties punk scene was explored and this book does the job brilliantly.

Covering region by region it goes through the major palyers on the early eighties punk scene. The Adicts, Exploited, Discharge, 4-Skins, ANWL etc. Ian Casper loves his stuff, writes well and willing to be critical of some bands occasional lapses or shoddy output.

Interviews, discography and pretty much up to date too. You can find out what a lot of these the mohicaned, leather studded rabble rousers are up to today...still treading the boards it seems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984
Burning Britain: The History of UK Punk 1980-1984 by Ian Glasper (Paperback - 1 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: 8.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews