Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Human Story, 22 Feb 2007
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
At last, a human account of life in an institution of supreme importance, yet one slowly slippng out of sight; the English factory. And that anyone should think that life in a factory is necessarily dull demonstrates how neglected the subject has been.

It is vital that Hughie Hancox wrote this book to record for future generations what has been lost. Far more than nuts and bolts, the humanity shines through. And it is written in a refreshingly unpretentious style that is the exclusive preserve of the finest writers.

A solitary author watches the world go about its business whilst waiting to be interviewed and then he commences a career which brings him into contact with Steve Mcqueen, world speed records, the White Helmets ( of which he was one ) and finally demolition. But what really makes this book and puts it way above any other motorcycle book, is that the passage of time is marked by characters; some great characters. From those who take a young man under their wing through to the camaraderie and humour. There was a time before " human resources " when people loved their work. And here it is.

Triumph, under the leadership of the great but mercurial Edward Turner was an idiosyncratic place ( or that's how it would seem today ). " There's the right way , the wrong way and the Triumph way ". But it was a vitally important place and contributed to a motorcycle industry that right up until the late sixties was the nation's fourth largest foreign currency earner.

There's also technical information about the lengths the factory staff went to in ensuring that their product was worthy of being known as The Best Motorcycle In The World.

The passing decades lead to a sea change in attitude in the factory and Hughie honestly recounts the hair raising trade union problems. Sad but the story would not be complete without it.

Some people think that they can write about motorcycles by turning out the same , often inaccurate " anorak information " , year in year out. How I wish their publishers had not returned their calls but simply phoned Hughie instead. After all he was actually there, and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 5 May 2009
By 
Thomas Kerr (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
A fascinating insight into the changes in the workplace cuture of Triumph Motorcycles.

Well written, amusing and sad.

Interesting to read with Whatever happened to the British Motorcycle Industry? By Bert Hopwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book on Motorbikes., 7 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
I bought this book 'Tales of Triumph Motorcycles and the Meriden Factory' for my son-in-law's birthday. He was 'over the moon' so I reckon it was a good choice. He knows his bikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed, 5 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
This is a really well written book giving lots of facts on how the factory worked and how the Triumph bikes evolved, along with the authors witty comments and how Triumph fitted into his own life made this book a really good read. Not to be missed if you are a Triumph fanatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive book for the Golden Age of Triumph, 20 Jan 2011
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
Only someone who actually worked at Meriden could write this book, and thankfully fate chose Hughie Hancox. His easy writing style, and mixture of character memories, humourous anecdotes mixed with his own experiences and the ability to mix all of these with a factual history of the development of Triumph Motorcycles through the 1950's and 1960's and heading towwards their end at Meriden leads you to believe he is an accomplished professional author, which behind the facade of his technical expertise and engineering background, he also achieves with ease. Once I started the book, I found it hard to put down. It's an insight into a golden era not only for Triumph but for the country, a time that we will never see the likes of again. Thank you Hughie for taking the time to write an amazing book for future generations to read and appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 22 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Hughie really brings to life the characters that he worked with. I can't recommend it highly enough for anyone with either an interest in old Triumphs, or an interest in the British motorcycle industry. I didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Meriden story, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
Short informative chapters with plenty of humour. Hughie Hancox writes well both on the everyday work experiences, technicalities of the motorcycles, his workmates and bosses, things that happened, repairing customers bikes, testing new bikes, the good camaraderie on the shop floor. An entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read., 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, I particularly like the stories of the shop floor humour in the Triumph factory. Makes a real insight into the demise of the Triumph company and the disaster when BSA took over the management of Triumph.

The book does end fairly abruptly though, would like to read more about the lead up to the closure in 1973.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a pressie, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory (Paperback)
Bought as a present for my husband - not given to him yet but i am hoping he will like it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read ,reminds me of my days as an apprentice in the motor industry., 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. G. E. Giles (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book i recommend as it represents many high volume factory experiences and the problems that come with it.Excellent !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory
Tales of Triumph Motorcycles & the Meriden Factory by Hughie Hancox (Paperback - 15 Aug 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews