Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eternal guide book of the Eternal City
I live and work in Rome and Georgina Masson's guide is the best I have read - no other guide book on Rome matches it. Written by someone who knows the city well and has lived here for a number of years, the book sets out, in chapters, a number of walks around Rome and has small, simple to use maps. The walks are not exhausting and each area is explained in considerable...
Published on 20 Mar 2001

versus
12 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for the average tourist
I was extremely disappointed in this book. Although undoubtedly a great literary work, it is necessary to appreciate the difficulty that an average tourist (like myself) would have in using the book. With massive amounts of inordinately detailed text on every entry, with no sub-headings or pointers for the wandering visitor, this book would be much more appropriate as an...
Published on 29 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eternal guide book of the Eternal City, 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I live and work in Rome and Georgina Masson's guide is the best I have read - no other guide book on Rome matches it. Written by someone who knows the city well and has lived here for a number of years, the book sets out, in chapters, a number of walks around Rome and has small, simple to use maps. The walks are not exhausting and each area is explained in considerable detail. The text is enlightened, excellently researched, entertaining and infomative. In addition, there is a comprehensive index from which you can find the appropriate piece of text for the site you are in. If you are a discerning traveller rather than an ignorant tourist you should be carrying a copy of this book on your next visit to the eternal city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and in depth knowledge, 11 Jan 2002
As someone who relies heavily on travel guides.I can say that this, for me is the best I have ever read. If you are interested in the history of the city and want to know more that the locals, this is the book for you. The books format is to divide the city up into two weeks worth of walks through the different parts of the city. It is not the usual guide book and you will need to buy both this and a DK eyewitness guide or something similar if you want the full benifit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know Rome - without being Roman, 6 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This book was my guide when I first lived in Rome and no amount of specialised information on individual topics since has surpassed its breadth, depth and feel for the city. Arranged in logical, area-based chapters rather than chronological or by particular sites, it really is a warm, essential and highly sophisticated guide to an extremely complex city.
Cannot recommend it too highly, and nor could the Signora who first recommended it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide to Rome in any language, 1 May 1999
By A Customer
This guide is truly brilliant: informative and well-written. So well is it written, that it reads like a novel.
Packed full of background anecdotes.
I can't recommend it highly enough.
Let me just add that it was recommended to me by an Italian, a guide at the Vatican, and his opinion was that it is the best guide to the city in any language.
I agree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
I first used this book nearly thirty years ago, and it is still unsurpassed for the level of information it contains on whichever cultural or historical aspect of Rome the traveller is interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for tourist, 20 Jun 2007
By 
Lamberti Sara "Piccina77" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an indispensable, unique, brilliant book. I have lived in Rome three years, and I guarantee that Georgina Masson captures the hidden powerful essence of the Eternal city like no one else: she succeeds in putting on paper the soul of Rome, which cannot but delight people who have been living in the City for long like me.Still, for this very reason, I would not recommend the book to tourists. This is not a Kleenex-book, this is not a book to spot out the best restaurant, to find out at what time the latest art exhibition opens,or to make the best of a 7-day-tour in Italy. This book is written for the ones who have time, who want to taste, not just to bite and go. This is why I like the book:this is The book for the ones who are in tune with the soul of Rome, which, in a nutshell, is filled with "Pazienza" (patience). Enjoy the book, I wish you all a happy strolling in Rome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior guide to Rome and its history, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Companion Guide to Rome (Companion Guides) (Paperback)
This is a superb guide to Rome's sights! If you're looking for detailed historical background to the sights of Rome, then this is the guide for you. It contains lots of interesting information and is written with wit and flair. It doesn't contain the usual tourist information of maps, opening times, etc so it is best used in conjunction with an ordinary tourist guide.

Rome is a great city to simply wander around. What this book does is allow you to look up the history and background of any sight you come across in your wanderings. We also used it instead of an audioguide/tourist guide round the Palatine and Forum. The write up was packed full of information and little details to make the place come alive.

This book will allow you to get the best out of your visit to Rome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Guidebook for Architecture, Art and Cultural History, 30 May 2008
I used this book for a four day visit to Rome. It is excellent. It does not have photos, the plans are small and it is quite dense. However, its virtues far outweigh any deficiencies. It fits snugly into one's pocket and has a wealth of interesting and useful information. One can turn any street corner in Rome and see something one wants to know about; and nine times out of ten, this guide book has it there with all the relevant facts and anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Companion Guide to Rome., 25 May 2014
By 
Carenza (Portland, Dorset) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrived promptly and in mint condition. It had been a much loved part of my collection lent and not returned, I feared I had lost it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Companion Guide to Rome (Companion Guides) (Paperback)
After extensive research, I opted for 'The Companion Guide to Rome' and what an excallent choice it has proven to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Companion Guide to Rome (Companion Guides)
The Companion Guide to Rome (Companion Guides) by Georgina Masson (Paperback - 18 Sep 2014)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews