Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy compendium, yet slightly disappointing
A difficult volume to review. Personal satisfaction warrants about two and a half stars. But objectively it is well worth four. Lots of folk might find aspects to cavil at. Purchased with no illusions, however, it should prove an excellent buy.

My objective rationale: after significant web-browsing and searching numerous bike shops, I've yet to discover...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by SJGT

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too many short rides
Although very comprehensive in its coverage, I suspect the majority of cyclists will find the numerous short rides a bit of a waste of time. The book is very short on maps - in fact none of any of the routes which probably means for a number of people going out and purchasing a map to cover the route!! What might have been useful would be some indication how longer routes...
Published on 13 April 2012 by peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too many short rides, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Although very comprehensive in its coverage, I suspect the majority of cyclists will find the numerous short rides a bit of a waste of time. The book is very short on maps - in fact none of any of the routes which probably means for a number of people going out and purchasing a map to cover the route!! What might have been useful would be some indication how longer routes could be devised linking up various short traffic-free routes and quiet lanes, in particular to create circular routes - much more interesting than "there and back" routes.
However as with Nick Cotton books he has done a thorough job and the book certainly covers a lot of rides for those looking for an easy quiet sunday afternoon ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy compendium, yet slightly disappointing, 25 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
A difficult volume to review. Personal satisfaction warrants about two and a half stars. But objectively it is well worth four. Lots of folk might find aspects to cavil at. Purchased with no illusions, however, it should prove an excellent buy.

My objective rationale: after significant web-browsing and searching numerous bike shops, I've yet to discover anything better - or even as good; some concerns are not the book's fault; and it really is fantastic value for money.

Packed with concise information and a surprising number of vignette photos that capture the spirit of various rides. It is well-structured and easy to read/consult. The rides cover mainland UK as well as could be expected in a single tome. Anglesey, Arran, Mull and the IOW too, but not Northern Ireland.

Most rides are genuinely traffic-free. There are nice potted histories or locale descriptions, TIC contacts, brief route directions, and refreshment stops. Plus the occasional useful warning - busy main roads to cross, or challenging climbs (like NCN2: 550ft ascending the cliffs at Folkestone).

What could possibly disappoint?

I did wish for more details, book size notwithstanding. This was especially true for the Forestry Commission holdings; though, in fairness, many are not trails per se but general track networks open to off-road cyclists.

Maps. There aren't any. Plenty of map references, other cycling publications, and web-sites are given throughout. Some readers may prefer a stand-alone guide. Having said which, waymarked trails and linear canal towpaths should hardly be an orienteering challenge! And these account for a lot of the book.

Lastly, a personal thing. A little research could perhaps have extended several rides to something more meaty. But traffic-free seems to be the sacred cow. Fair enough, and it's hardly the author's fault if UK Powers-that-Be make such paltry provision for cyclists!

Some random examples:- Kennet & Avon Canal (9 miles each way), Ashridge Estate (5 mile circuit), Clumber Park (various routes between 5 & 10 miles), Rendlesham Forest (6 or 10 miles), Carnforth to Lancaster (11 miles each way), Whitby Railway Path (20 miles each way), Usk Reservoir (6 mile circuit). Is this a reasonable representation of what you're hoping to cycle? Would you augment it with your own research?

Ergo, in summary: a fine compact compendium; not necessarily everyone's cup-of-tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good source book, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
This book is an excellent guide to Traffic Free trails over the UK. It gives their location and basic information and then you may need to go online and find further details about the trail or enquire when you arrive at the trail for things like local maps etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad as a rough guide, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Quite a nice quality book with plenty of cycle routes included with some pictures. It's quite a heavy book so not one you would really want to be lugging around with you in a backpack all day and as the cycles routes don't have any map's included only written directions you would need to pre plan your journeys making notes unless you happen to own or the relevant OS maps that the book keeps refering to.

So if like me you travel the country and just need a general guide sometimes to point you in the right direction then this book is ok. But if your after more detailed local routes I suggest you buy a dedicated map route guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
B Evans (Wolverhampton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
I have not yet used it while out cycling -it's probably a bit weighty for that - but I am enjoying working through it to plan trips.
It is well thought out and informative. Best used in conjunction with decent maps (I would have liked more sketch maps but to the author's credit grid refs are included). Contains some tempting photographs. All in all, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good countrywide guide, 15 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
A very good book but missing some simple additional information. In my local area there is a good railway path covered but no mention of it been part of the National Cycle Network. Would recommend the book as good for families and older people wanting shorter rides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good source of Traffic Free Trails, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Very pleased. Well laid out and great to have all the traffic free trails captured in one book. There are no detailed maps for each individual trail but the directions are clear and concise and it references which maps can be obtained if more detail is required. Having done the Phoenix trail before I had the book I found the information on the internet a bit unclear as to how to get on to the route bearing in mind I was looking for a completely traffic free experience. This book would have made the process far more simpler had I had it at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for ideas, 19 April 2015
By 
ALJ (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
I wanted a book that would give me some ideas of where we, as a family with two small children, can cycle. This book is very helpful especially knowing where to book a hotel / campsite that is close to a cycle route. Yes, there are no detailed maps otherwise the book would've been twice as thick - however, it does say in the book of where to get one or download it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As others have said this book is a bit heavy ..., 2 Oct. 2014
By 
M. E. Stones (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
As others have said this book is a bit heavy for carrying out and about but is an invaluable source of information. If I need to carry any of the information I just take a photo of the relevant page/s so I can refer to it on my mobile phone. I suppose I could photocopy relevant pages although I haven't actually tried that yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric bike tracks, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Have just brought two electric bikes and looking for traffic tracks to cycle. Also routes recommended are not high mileage so perfect for our requirements .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Traffic-free Cycling Routes Around Britain
£12.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews