Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I like the fact that there are directions from the 3 ports so you can get off the ferry, get on your bike and begin your holiday. Also the author gives a plug to the little known (in the UK anyway) Freinden op the Fiets (Friends of the Bicycle), an excellent organisation which has provided us with B+Bs on our recent 2 cycling holiday in the Netherlands.
The book has...
Published 16 months ago by Jane

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cycling in the Netherlands or Cycling in Holland?
I got this book yesterday and have to say I'm very disappointed in it. It's not what I though it would be. There is some good general information about cycling in the netherlands, about preparation and about accommodation. However it deals almost entirely with Noord Holland and Zuid Holland. The other routes mentioned ( 1 in Zeeland, 1 in Utrecht and Gelderland, 1 in...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Barry Coyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 14 Mar 2013
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
I like the fact that there are directions from the 3 ports so you can get off the ferry, get on your bike and begin your holiday. Also the author gives a plug to the little known (in the UK anyway) Freinden op the Fiets (Friends of the Bicycle), an excellent organisation which has provided us with B+Bs on our recent 2 cycling holiday in the Netherlands.
The book has certainly inspired me to go cycling in the Netherlands again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cycling in the Netherlands or Cycling in Holland?, 2 May 2012
By 
Barry Coyle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
I got this book yesterday and have to say I'm very disappointed in it. It's not what I though it would be. There is some good general information about cycling in the netherlands, about preparation and about accommodation. However it deals almost entirely with Noord Holland and Zuid Holland. The other routes mentioned ( 1 in Zeeland, 1 in Utrecht and Gelderland, 1 in Flevoland ) do not justify the title of Cycling in the Netherlands. I'm sure if you want to concentrate on Holland this is a good book but does not deal with the Netherlands in the way the title suggests. There is not a single word about Friesland, Groningen, the islands, Limburg, Drenthe, Overijssel or Nord Brabant. These are the quietest provinces in the Netherlands and would be serene for cycling. And there is very little about Utrecht, Zeeland, Flevoland, Gelderland and the many national parks in the Netherlands. I'll just have to splash out again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We had a great holiday, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
We have just returned from 6 days cycling in the Netherlands, following the main circular route in this book (350km from Hoek van Holland up the coast to Haarlem, round to Amsterdam via some nature reserves, south along canals to Utrecht and then west via Gouda and Delft back to the ferry). Each day we cycled about half the day and went sight-seeing the other half. This book does not contain much sight-seeing information - we took another book for that. We found it fairly easy to follow the route, and only got slightly lost once, but in the towns we did have to stop and study the maps quite often. The route was beautiful most of the way - beside the coast, along canals, rivers and dykes and much of it was traffic free. Without this book I do not think we would have found such quiet cycle lanes. The general information at the beginning was very helpful too, especially on Dutch traffic rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trip to be undertaken, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
This book was for my husband who plans our cycling routes , he sat and read it from page to page and found it very useful and informative. we have had similar books before we know what to expect , base on this book though we are undertaking one of the routes plus a bit more this year! Good value too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for general information but does not use the great 'green' waymarked Fiets routes, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
Found this useful for general information about cycling in Holland (which was helpful), but fared better using a detailed local map, which detailed the green marked cycle paths - which are numbered at each junction and give you the distance between, These are much easier to use for both planning and cycling purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
Fantastic! All the information I needed and more. Well presented and neat size for packing. Perfect. Very happy customer. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for a special friend, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
Excellent book. Bought for friends who have emigrated and are planning to cycle in the Netherlands.

Very good - thick and ring bound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Netherlands Cycling Guide, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
Our cycle ride is still in the planning stages, but I think it will be exactly what we will need for a successful ride in The Netherlands, Taking us from the port to the cities, with accommodation, routes and distances included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
Great guide, offering easy-to-follow maps and instructions which we were able to use on a recent 5 day tour of the Netherlands. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of info, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise (Paperback)
Like how it explains some of the curious customs in the Netherlands. It's a great country & we love visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cycling in the Netherlands: The Very Best Routes in a Cyclist's Paradise
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews