Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic free cycle trails?
Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain

I liked this book its easy to understand and gives a good clear veiw of the terain that you are planning on cycling, it also shows whether it is hard standing or whether it is grass and also says where the route is down or up hill. Where you have to cross a busy main road is listed and it also gives...
Published on 16 Aug 2008 by October

versus
96 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Much better books out there
Not useful enough! Virtually impossible to find the start of the routes. No maps. No sensible pointers on how to start the trails. Probably ok if you have a good map of the area, but if you have that you probably don't need this book at all.
Published on 16 May 2005 by W. M. S. Foster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traffic free cycle trails?, 16 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain

I liked this book its easy to understand and gives a good clear veiw of the terain that you are planning on cycling, it also shows whether it is hard standing or whether it is grass and also says where the route is down or up hill. Where you have to cross a busy main road is listed and it also gives a clear referance to other booklets for futher information. Overall a good standing buy.

What the book lacks is maps but the book makes up for this in other ways like the illistrations of where to start and what to look out for along the route, in some ways the book also proves that you are on a cycle path by showing pictures of people cycling the route.

For someone like me who has just recovered from a heart attack and not rode a bike for twenty years it shows how much the enviroment has improved where as twenty years ago cycle tracks and paths were only being talked about.

The book showed many cycle tracks where I live that I was unaware of as I live in Gloucester, I highly recomend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and well organised guide!, 23 July 2009
By 
P. J. Ware (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
This book does exactly what it says in the title as it shows you over 400 traffic free cycle routes all over the country. The routes are well described and have good description of distance, terrain, ability level, etc. There are no maps to show the routes but they are described well enough to not really need any but do give the exact OS map for the region if you need one (do you need a map for a cycle route?). There are lots of colour photos that will entice you to explore the book (and the routes!) even more.

The book is split into areas so it is easy to look up a particular place of interest. There is information about parking, nearby trails, useful publications (map ref.) and nearby refreshments.

It's not a light book (in weight) but it's light enough to keep in your panniers for reference.

I would highly recommend this book if you are like us (not stinking rich) and want a uk based holiday for the summer using bicycles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehenisive guide to UK cycle routes, 5 Dec 2007
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
We cycle a lot as a a family but I never realised Britain had so many easy, car-free trails. This book has some great ideas about where to go close to where we live (many of which we knew) but was really useful on holiday in Devon where we didn't have a clue about local trails. The new edition mentions lots of websites where you can often download maps. It has given us loads of ideas for summer rides with the kids and we take it with us whenever we go on holiday in the UK. I really don't see how the book could contain maps for 400 routes as the previous reviewer suggests. This is just the kind of book we need to encourage more family riding.Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guide., 1 April 2008
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
I have found this guide very useful for planning family rides. It is particularly good when visiting an area for the first time, because there is no easy way to find these routes if you don't know the area. It's obviously a good idea to take a proper map on any ride in case the route isn't obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 109 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Much better books out there, 16 May 2005
By 
W. M. S. Foster "Will" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Not useful enough! Virtually impossible to find the start of the routes. No maps. No sensible pointers on how to start the trails. Probably ok if you have a good map of the area, but if you have that you probably don't need this book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 17 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Excellent cycling book...a must for families or any body who wants to enjoy peaceful off road cycling. Routes are well described and researched. We have used several of these trails and its so useful to refer to when planning trips or holidays. We find this book inspiring and know we can trust it. We now consider ourselves to be a cycling family...and feel much healthier etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for family rides, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
I cycle a lot on road with friends, but wanted to open up the options for cylcing with my family without traffic, and this fits the bill perfectly. Lots of suggestions, a few of which I knew, loads and loads that I didn't.

I've only used a few rides from this book so far but it seems clear and well presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeling fitter already..., 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Excellent little book with loads of cycle tracks, some which we knew already and others we didnt. We shall be taking this book on all our caravan breaks in the UK so we dont have to spend the first day finding out where the cycle tracks are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought some time ago and still using it, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
We bought this a while ago and are still using it. We don't cycle often but are a family who love touring. Our children are young and only just off stabilisers so traffic-free trails are more fun all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, does exactly what it says, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain (Paperback)
Exactly as it says. Good guide of traffic free cycle rides. A little heavy for carrying on the ride .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traffic-free Cycle Trails: More Than 400 Routes Around Britain
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews