Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal present or general read
If you love or hate Christmas, believe or disbelieve passionately, or simply value short, pithy poems, this book will surely be a treasure for you. It's funny, irreverent and godly all at once. Can be given to the aged aunt or the stroppy brat in the sure knowledge that it will make both chuckle and feel it was written for them. I have bought 3 copies (and no, I don't...
Published on 4 Jan 2003 by Bookworm1973

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection.
An interesting collection, some whimsical, others with a deep spiritual meaning. The collection would certainly be of interest in those looking for unusual readings for Christmas.
Published 18 months ago by Brock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Touches the heart of Christmas, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Poems (Paperback)
excellent condition and wonderful poetic style - combination of the everyday and the sublime with an emotional sense of irony to clinch the "deal"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas poetry which is both breathtaking and fun, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Elizabeth S. Wells (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Poems (Paperback)
I love this edition of U A Fanthorpe's poems, because I am a real fan of her poetry anyway. The quirky drawing add a dimension I did not expect, and are delightful. This is well worth buying, either, if you are not sure of poetry, or if you already love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little book of wonder and thoughtfulness, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This is a book of delights. The poems are both thought provoking and funny. Poems for people who think that they are afraid of poetry. Recommended (highly). Read for yourself - you will find the poems far more enlightening than anything that can be said in a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Poems - U A Fanthorpe, 4 July 2012
By 
N. Harvey (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This is a slim volume of highly entertaining poems, which we saw while visitng an open garden and immediately wanted to acquire. As an example, the cat's poem refers to "Anti-cat evangelists" (Matthew & Luke) because they fail to mention the presence of a cat in the stable where Jesus was born. Ingenious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Poems - UA Fanthorpe, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. C. Greenwood "Con Brio" (Anglesey, N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Poems (Paperback)
A delightful book. U.A. Fanthorpe made her own Christmas cards for friends, illustrated by sketch by a friend (Nick Wadley) and including a short poem. The poems are personal, sometimes quirky and fun, but always interesting.

Particularly recommended to those who are searching for something different as a contribution to a Christmas do, whether at church, chapel, meeting house (U.A. Fanthorpe was a Quaker)or just with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars your service, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: Christmas Poems (Paperback)
I should like to be more positive but having ordered 2 books by UA Fanthorpe at the end of December 2011 and not having received them yet leaves me feeling rather cross and totally let down by your service. I would rather have gone to my local independent shop - at least they would have kept me informed of my order - but not you! Are you too big to care for customers??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Poems
Christmas Poems by U. A. Fanthorpe (Paperback - 28 Sep 2002)
7.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews