Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to ear "weeds"
Everything I've read from Martin Crawford has been fascinating, throwing a light on what normally passes unnoticed. There's a wealth of information here presented in a very easily assimilated way in a very attractive book .... the result has seen me happily visit the garden and pick dandelion leaves for a salad and even eat the flowers. You see the plants around you in a...
Published on 2 Jun 2012 by Roger

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but could be better
First - The binding... It's hopeless. Although Amazon replaced the book efficiently the replacement copy had exactly the same problem, with the same pages falling out even though I was extra gentle with the book. The binding looses this book one star.

The book is very good in that it motivates and encourages to try perennial veg. Its well laid out and easy to...
Published 23 months ago by Suzy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to ear "weeds", 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
Everything I've read from Martin Crawford has been fascinating, throwing a light on what normally passes unnoticed. There's a wealth of information here presented in a very easily assimilated way in a very attractive book .... the result has seen me happily visit the garden and pick dandelion leaves for a salad and even eat the flowers. You see the plants around you in a different light - just the job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A host of exotic new crops to experiment with, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
There are lots of good reasons to grow perennials, as this inspiring book demonstrates. You don't have to till or dig, which is good for gardener's backs, healthier for the soil and keeps CO2 in the ground. They allow you to extend your growing seasons and harvest food all year round. And since perennial plants tends to have deeper and more extensive root systems, the food is often richer in minerals and nutrients too.

How to grow perennial vegetables is a simple guide to this wonderland of `low maintenance, low impact vegetable gardening'. It begins with a guide to growing them, with notes on co-planting, mulches and planting patterns. There are useful lists of plants that fix nitrogen, or that are good in the shade. That's the first quarter of the book.

The rest of it is an A-Z of perennial vegetables, and it's an exotic collection indeed. There are hedgerow plants and wild foods like ramsons or rosebay willowherb, common crops from other parts of the world that we don't traditionally eat here but could, like mashua or oca. There are perennial versions of other vegetables, such as leeks, garlic or cabbage. There are plants that may already grow in your garden that you didn't know were edible, like iceplant or hostas. There are some proper freaks too, like the water caltrop, which grows tubers that look like horned bats.

As usual with such books, it is written with the zeal of an enthusiast and your definition of edible may not be the same as the author's. I was surprised to read that strawberry leaves can be eaten in salads for example, and promptly put the book down to go and try them. Suffice to say that I'd need to be pretty desperate before I eat strawberry leaves again. My only other complaint is that while there's no shortage of roots and bulbs and `proper' vegetables, the book is slightly unbalanced towards leaves and spinach-type plants. Don't let either of those negatives put you off however. I'd be surprised if any gardener could browse this book without scribbling down a few things to try.

Is there a binding issue? Yes, but I've based my review on the content alone. That's because I've worked in publishing and I've had this happen to me. It's hugely frustrating, not least because these reviews will stay online long after you've taken your printer to task, organised a second print run and fixed the problem! If you get one that falls apart, I'm sure Green Books will replace it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fell to pieces, 11 July 2012
By 
Rover (ST.ASAPH, Denbighshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
The content of this volume is excellent, let down by the poor binding. The sort of book one wishes to read and refer to often but it just won't stand up to it. My copy fell to pieces after 30 weeks but was replaced by the publishers almost instantly on complaining so this one will be treated with far more gentleness! 3/10 for binding but 10/10 for service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars prennial veg, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
All members of household thought it very good and had read/skipped though it after only two days. It has been consulted many times since. Only reason for not giving it 5 stars is the some of the pages have become loose as it is not very well constucted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unusual but useful, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
This book on perennial vegetables is very useful. It helps in exploring forgotten or ignored possibilities. The book contains both an interesting philosophy on an alternative gardening style, and a practical list of plants. It is of course even more useful in conjunction with Crawford's other recent book, that on Creating a Forest Garden. We should compliment Martin for his overall endeavor and the clarity of exposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
All of Martin Crawfords books are amazing! There is a little section on how to integrate perennial vegetables into your current garden or food forest and a great glossary on loads of different perennial veggies.

Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but could be better, 23 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
First - The binding... It's hopeless. Although Amazon replaced the book efficiently the replacement copy had exactly the same problem, with the same pages falling out even though I was extra gentle with the book. The binding looses this book one star.

The book is very good in that it motivates and encourages to try perennial veg. Its well laid out and easy to follow giving information on how to use the unfamiliar vegetables as well as how to grow them. I already grew things like day lillies but was not harvesting them because I didn't know which part of the plant to use or what to do with it! So I found this book particularily helpful.

I found it quite frustrating that some entries gave very good information about cultivation, but others left out details that would be helpful such as spacing of plants... and harvesting details -eg for replant perenials what percentage do you leave in and what percentage do you harvest?

Also for the Alliums and Brassicas - the advice is not to keep them permanently in one place because of the potential build up of disease. More on rotation and companion planting and spacing to minimise the risk of disease would be helpful.

I liked Martin Crawford's other book on forest gardening much better. It was better quality and better information. That said I have found this book to be extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opener, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Dermot O'Grady (Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
Like most people who grow vegetables I have a collection of books on the subject. Some are better than others but all cover pretty much the same ground. And these days I rarely read them.

This book is very different. I've had my eyes opened to a whole world of edible plants that if your like me, probably new little or nothing about. I really think it's the next step in home grown food.

The more you think about it, the more it makes sense in every way. Greater diversity and less digging in your vegetable garden means fewer pest and disease problems, healthier plants, healthier soil, more nutritious food, new flavours and best of all less work.

There are two basic parts to the book. the first section is an overview and general maintenance. The second part is an extensive A to Z of perennials vegetables. Each listing has an overview and then details on cultivation, harvesting, culinary uses etc.

If you like this book i'd also highly recommend another book by Martin Crawford "Creating a Forest Garden".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pages falling out, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
Martin Crawford's book is an excellent guide for anyone interested in permaculture, forest gardening or just people with an interest in growing some more unusual types of veg. I am sure I will consult the book on a regular basis. Being excellent concerning the content, the more disappointing is the poor binding. I ordered a copy and on opening it for the first time, the first bundle of pages fell out. I sent the copy back and ordered another one, because I thought it might have been a one-off. The next copy lasted for about a week, despite being treated with utmost care, before the same happened. I have now sello-taped the pages which have fallen out because I really want to keep and use the book. However, to get full marks, a book needs to be fit for purpose - inside and out, hence the four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing quality of the actual book, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening (Paperback)
As per other reviews, the quality of the book is crap, pages falling out within a very short time. The content however is great. A very interesting book which will be used a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Grow Perennial Vegetables: Low-maintenance, Low-impact Vegetable Gardening
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews